How to take backup of accounts setting in Outlook Express 2003

Does anyone know about this :confused:

Re: How to take backup of accounts setting in Outlook Express 2003

C:\Documents and Settings(your account name)\Local Settings\Application Data\Identities(some long alphanumeric ID)\Microsoft\Outlook Express\

copy all of this outlook express folder....
and later when u want to restore, go to import from OE6 stored foler and browse for the saved folder and u can get ur msgs back....

I've already stored email mesgs, folders etc. backup in .pst file but that doesn't save accounts settings (smtp/pop, username, passwords etc. of email accounts)

All that is stored in the registry in this location:
"HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Account Manager\Accounts\ACCOUNTNAME" (where account name is what you call your account).

In my registery that is showing ony 1 account’s detail :confused: but i’ve 20-25 email accounts of my different different sites in outlook express 2003 and I want to take backup of all those accounts in single file. Have you ever taken backup of email accounts in Outlook Express 2003 ???.. it was easy to take backup of accounts in previous versions but I didn’t find any option in Outlook 2003 :mad:

U sure ur using HKCU and not HKLM? Do you have multiple user accounts on that PC by any chance?
Check under the AccountName hive to see if maybe all the accounts are somehow listed under there (although that option seems unlikely).

Ya this is HKCU only and a single user PC. I think there should be any option in outlook express 2003 to export accounts details what i’m not getting. I regular export my folders, email mesgs, whole inbox and its subdirectories to .pst format for emergency backup, there is also an option in outlook to import Account Settings but I didn’t get any export option for account settings. :confused:

Did you try the Export option under Tools/Accounts dialogue box? It creates a .iaf file for each account.

I didn’t find any export option for .iaf file :confused: please let me know in detail step by step if u’ve found any.

I’ve just read something in Microsoft Help, please check here

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/278168/en-us?spid=2520&sid=1329

save the account settings by going into the import/export menu..
you will need to save each POP3 account asperately.

the file will be saved as an *.iaf file.

mins you it doesnt save the password, so you have to remember the password, so when you later on import the accounts back into a OE, it will ask you the password in order to download your email.

That’s what i’m saying it has clearly written here

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/278168/en-us?spid=2520&sid=1329

Export in .iaf file option was only in previous versions, therez only an import option in Outlook 2003 :mad:

Why do you say Outlook 2003 then? :grumpy:

I thought it was OE.

For Outlook 2003, just save the registry key as mentioned above.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows Messaging Subsystem\Profiles\Outlook

Please check the title that is outlook express 2003 only :smack:

I think i’ll have to send mail to Bill Gates about this problem, there should be option in 2003 like previous versions.

Well thanks to all of you who tried your best to solve this problem. I’ve saved outlook profiles registery, lets see if this jugaad works in emergency :hehe:

We didn’t really try our best, just said whatever came to our lips first. For best we get paid. :stuck_out_tongue:

let me know then how much you charge :p

If you have to ask how much then you probably can't afford us :p

ya baba ji tussi mujhe nanga bhi kar sakte ho, i can’t take risk :hehe: