How to stop mom from watching Indian Dramas

Re: How to stop mom from watching Indian Dramas

do what?

I luv Pakistani dramazzz..dey r da best...Pakistanies also come up with a new topic...not only dat saas n bahu fight all da time n da make-up n jewellery..OMG...!!!!

Pakistani drama's r da best n there aint ne doubt!!!

:hehe: the replies in this thread is hilarious!!

:rotfl:^

get her to join GS :phati:

or maybe you can sit with her whenever she's watching....

and talk to her the entire time it's on!

kiyo un ka dil nahi hai kiyaaa …:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:

instead of dua, you need to rent good Punjabi movies like Badmash Gujjar, moosa khan, vehshi jatt, aansoo billa, maula jatt- trust me after watching these classics, your mom would be glued to Shaan-Saima starrer more than those shaadi videos.. errr. Indian drama.

Badmash Gujjar...vehshi jatt.....are they names of movies ??? you serious ????
lol!

well the Saas-Bahu wala serials are craps no dout, but indian televesion doesnt only contist of the thing Ekta Kapoor and her tribe throw at us and call them "quality stuff".
there are lots of serials which have no contacts with any Saas-Bahu.
well, my mom too is addicted to them, i think she will die if she cant see them even for a night.

If our films are on one end of the spectrum then Indian dramas are on the other end. They occupy two extremes... causing irrepairable damage to our collective asthetic sense. The irony is that ppl who watch these dramas or films know fully well how far removed from reality their plots are and yet there is something about them that is so addictive.
How many Indian or Pakistani women are promiscous? how many of them are found decked up 24/7 wearing Rs 30,000+ sari/shalwar kameez on daily basis? Our women are not a conniving lot, conspiring all the time against the in-laws. Thats crap and downright humiliating!
On the other end, how many women are found dancing in the fields in Punjab in their lachas, in streets in front of hordes of men chanting Bulleh Shah's qafi.
"budha gujar", "jado nagri" are but a few names, will add more once I take a peek at Filmazia, a local channel that showcases all our pashto and punjabi talent.
While they zoom in and out countless times on strawberry cupcakes and tutifruity look alike damsels in Indian dramas, in Pakistani films, the camera man is one happy guy closing in, on well-endowed, strategic assests (out of proportion in most cases) on the screen. Thus, the dance moves of Saima, Sana or Reema or for that matter, the clothes that Mussrat Shaeen et all wear are enough to put anyone's urban sensibilities to shame.

There was gloom and doom in the air when a few years back the government decided to ban Star Plus in Pakistan.

p.s: at the end of the day, if it makes our women happy, then who are we to take this right away from them. sigh

Tell her that we might think that in our daily life whatever we don’t really mean, but casually and “repeatedly” say, think, hear or watch only for fun, might not have any effect on our life, but few incidents tell a different story.

A Saudi Prince’s son went out with his friends on a long drive. The music was on in a loud voice and they were singing and laughing while driving, when suddenly they got an accident. All of them died except the Saudi Prince’s son, who was in “ Nazaa” ( a state between life and death)

When people started reciting*“Kalima ”* in front of him so that he may also recite, they heard him repeating the wordings of his favourite song. He died without saying Kalima. When asked from a scholar, the reply was “When you see the angel of death you get so afraid that unintentionally you would repeat the wordings which you hear, read, think or say the most in your life.(as a habbit) So this man didn’t hear or recite "Kalima" most of the times in his life.

Similarly when people tried to convince a “tangey wala” in Peshawar to recite Kalima after a severe accident, he was repeating “Kisa khwani bazaar ke itney paisey…..etc” because this is what he had been repeatedly listening to, thinking or saying most of the times in his life.

There are numerous other examples of people counting money even on their last breath.

p.s.** A man who dies while reciting Kalima would go directly go to heaven (Hadith)**

^ Devil knows this that is why he takes away all the time which was meant for Zikr and thus, in our spare time, instead of doing zikr we are unintentionally murmuring our favourite song or thinking about favourite drama

^ this is scary. True we should think about death, internalize it, be prepared to embrace it but just because one died while having fun doesn't mean that he was any less good than others. Islam doesn't stop us from having fun, from enjoying our lives...

Btw whatz exactly the level of freedom a middle class woman enjoys in Pakistani culture ?

I agree that one should have fun in life but one should not get carried away with entertainments so much that it prevent him from other duties in life.

This life is only a "single" apportunity given to us in billion and billion of centuries to express our sincerity and the time we spend here is negligible as compared to the time before and after us. So, why not have fun with activities which are also benefitial to mankind in one way or the other.

Just my view, I might be wrong.

Allah knows Best!

hmmm, good question. Let me see how much freedom I enjoy as a middle class woman/girl.

btw, thats what I referred to above, at the end of my post that they ( as in women) must be left to their devices. They don't have many channels of entertainment as it is, so they need to vent their frustration as well as enjoy the idle time they have...if they get solace by watching the dramas, then let 'em have fun.

Freedom in what sense ?

Bahi as we are talking here from a middle class woman ‘s prospective , let me have the honor to tell you that the life they mostly spend in our culture is quite hard and laborious . The poor create wakes up early morning , makes breakfast for whole family ( which she is obliged by religion) , helps husband or kids to get going for office and school .

Then if she is working woman , she heads off for work herself , if not stayed at home , spend her day cleaning and cooking many dishes , Husband likes meetah with dinner , last night father in law asked for kebabs , so you know what I mean here .

Now come back to working woman scenario , all day she has to face stupid male colleagues and clients and majority among think that every working woman is out in market for just having fun or they are obliged to be their fun partners at work.

Let me add one more thing , If she traveling by public transport , I don’t have to tell ya the general behavior of our passengers and bus drivers / conductors. Every one passing by take it as a god given right to scan her through his eyes .

So after a hard day at job , she is back home now , oh hubby must be coming soon , so without wasting time , she jumps in kitchen and start working on things she left in morning .

Let me cut the story here , finally at the end of the day , when she reaches her bed , husband is already at sleep as he has to get up early in morning n he needs his 8 hours beauty sleep ! or he has to wake up in middle of night to claim his god given right .

Many middle class women go through this every day of their lives . So if by chance , they luckily get some time and watch telly for an hour or two , even watch these silly dramas , they seem to enjoy . .

Whtz the point making a big deal out it ?

^ no but that is a waste of their intellect, Alyish.
every woman can sit home and wear jewels or over dress casually and sit pretty.
but not be active and decisive in running her household.
i get your point of making them feel restful.
but that could be done in other ways that are good for their own sense of feeling useful than seeing indian monotonous operas and their themes.

Dushwari

What else do you propose Dushi for such women?

Minerva, that they must find on their own.

think about it: what is better?

having endless talk about who wrote what and what she did to please him or what he did and what the mother in law said, how the sister in law or brother in law intervened, how the husband responded or reacted, where the rakeeb came from and who died and how she suffered, then when he came back again in her life etc etc.

what kind of fiction is this? with all the glamour which is fed through this programming.

there can be noble stories of Muslim women and their family lives, which, if they were to create in their own households, good can come out of it, if it is observed from an unbiased point of view.

Best,

Dushwari

:snooty:I dont know what all you people have against those dramas. Some happen to have good msgs..granted the zooming and music are a headache. All the ekta serials are a totally fake but others arnt as bad. I happen to like them as they teach me hindi/urdu hehe. Oh and the ones on geo/ary arnt any better. Today i was watching one on geo called sookhay patthar:(…and it was pathetic.