how to secure a wlan network

so i want to set up a wlan router but I dont want the entire mohalla to have access to it, I see it as unsecured and can connect to it using my work computer without any sort of authentication. How do I go about making it a secure password protected access thingamabob?

merci

Re: how to secure a wlan network

Fraudz,

I am sure u would have 802.11g (54Mbps) cards on ur machine with G router. So easiest way would be, activate WPA on the router. Setup some key in Urdu or punjabi with atleast one digit (e.g 7pagalputar1).

Disable DHCP & use static IP addresses. If really paranoid like me, then enable MAC Filtering.

^ in addition to all above tips by Najim bhai, set the router to disable broadcasting the SID after all the needed computers are setup for wireless

aur agar phir bhi muhalley waley munh maarein tou change ur mohalla.

FYI, there are some punjabi/urdu dictionary files floating around out there. :smokin:

Though I myself never setup any password as a word, my passwords are always like ...

2@d^db%L1 (Just an example)

but I usually dont tell laymen to set passwords like these because if they forget ... then ya "they forget".

hazraat

shukria for your info, I have a more basic question, how do I go about doing this. I dont even know where to start.

can you please give me a step by step guide i.e. click on this to find this icon, go in properties, click on this change that sort of thing.

or do I have to reinstall the whole thing?

najim laos, my broadband provider says they have DCHP not static so I cant really go for a static IP right?

i would strongly suggest to turn on MAC address filtering.

Fraudz,

If u please tell me the make & model of your Router I'll try to provide you step by step info.

WGR 614 v 6

http://kbserver.netgear.com/pdf/wgr614v6_ref_man_20Apr05.pdf

^^ fyi - try this if the step by step instruction don’t sound clear.

yaaar genius

zara parrh kar aik dummies guide type khulasa likh day so teknalagy say jahil ppl like moi can sort the thing quickly.

barri meherbaani ho hi aap ki

Why don’t u just send ur router to one of us (or send credit card info and we’ll buy it) and we’ll configure it and send it back to you, with a detailed diagram (maybe even a video) of which wire (ofcourse it will all be color coded) goes in which hole.:phati:

Topi i didnt know you carried a portable credit card machine :phati:

My PDA does it all. All you need is the Edge ;)

i thought u were gonna swipe the card in his buttcrack :P

I don't think he's a plumber, only their buttcracks are unsecured :p

^ got a great experience in the area it seems

plumbers!!! stay away from tofi

Genius, i think he’d have got the (hard copy of the) manual with the router, and possibly the quick installation pages too. Unless he got it 2nd hand.

Fraudia, 1st try getting help from some of your friend, that could be faster. If you really don’t have anyone, plz let us know. I will look into the manual and see if i could simplify it for you.

Open your browser (Internet explorer) at the address bar type
Type
www.routerlogin.net (or type ip address 192.168.1.1)
And press Enter
When prompted enter factory default user name and password both in lower case letters (or enter the password you chose during initial setup)
User name :admin
Password: password

If entered correctly you will be able to see router manager screen. To change internet setting click basic settings on the left menu bar.

Does your internet connection require A login:
Select this option based on the type of account you have with you ISP. If you have PPPoE account with your ISP select yes, otherwise select no.

Internet service provider:
Select other

This is usually the name you use in your email address for example [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected] then put Fraudia in the box. If you ISP require to enter full address then type full address i.e. [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]

Password:
Type in the password you use to login to your ISP.

Internet IP address:
Select get dynamically from ISP

Account name:
Type your user name i.e. fraudia

Domain Name:
You may leave this box blank, unless required by your ISP.

Domain Name server (DNS)
Select get automatically from your ISP.

Router MAC address:
Select default mac address.

Press/Click APPLY

click test to connect to the netgear web site. If you connect successfully your settings work.

WIRELESS SETTINGS
To change the internet settings click wireless settings on the left menu bar. Setup screen appears, select WPA-PSK security.

Wireless network:
Name (SSID):
Enter a name upto 32 characters, the name (SSID) must be assigned to all wireless devices on the network, the default SSID is netgear it is strongly recommended that you change your network SSID from netgear to something else.

Region
United States

Channel

Mode
Select g&b

Security options
WPA-PSK (Wi-Fi protected access-pre shared key)
Enter a word or group of printable characters from 8-63 characters.

Press/Click APPLY
LOGOUT, press logout on your left menu bar

== I hope you find this useful

aray Rush mian, sab kuch aaj hi bata do ge to kal kya karo ge? machhar marring?