how to iron...?

THE WEDDING DRESS…

i’ve heard the beads and stones come out easily by ironing, plz give some good tips to iron the wedding dress.
How long before the Wedding one should iron..? should it be just before leaving for the salon..

Hiya

My lengha was very very heavy and full of work....therefore i didnt iron it....all i did was hang it separate from the top in a hanger and let it hang for a good week before the wedding...that way the weight tkes out the creases..

unless ur lengha is pretty obvious that it needs ironing, i would personally avoid it...or you could get the people who you bought it from to give it to you ironed and leave it hanging then..thats what I did...

Beads will fall out, so dont worry about that 2 much..unless u have 2 many falling...

I got my lengha abt 2 months b4 my wedding..so a month b4 my wedding i checked if any stones were missing and if i needed adjustments to it...if so i went back to the shop

Re: how to iron...?

You get it steam-ironed

yup also do yourself a favor and buy a steamer conair has a really good one and it's useful whenever you need to iron any desi clothing.

^ does the conair one for western men's shirts and slacks as well? which model is it?

shona, simply hanging it or ironing it is a good idea but if you do want to iron it, please do it from the back side.

you turn it inside out, hang it on hanger and steam iron it.

It important to turn it inside out because some beadwork, sequins is delicate and should not be exposed to steam and will start to get dark.

Bed Bath & Beyond - Conair® Deluxe Fabric Steamer with Rotating Hanger

it works wonders on men’s dress shirts and pants we used it at a friend’s wedding while all of us girls were getting ready and it was so much quicker than the traditional iron and board. saved us time, didn’t burn any clothing and what not.

Re: how to iron…?

^ i had that one but didn’t like it too much. It’s great for curtains and bedding but for wedding outfits that could be raw silk and other delicate materials.

I got the hand held one and like that one much because it’s not limited to the up and down movement.

Conair.com - Garment & Home Care > Fabric Steamers > Model Gs16r

Turn it inside out before ironing, preferably steam iron, not only could the work get dark but also the sequins can melt.

oh tu phir koi sahi solution hee nahi hai...hmm

In Pakistan, I have seen them ironing fancy clothes turned inside out and on a pillow.
that saves the sequin and other beaded work from getting ruined. obviously the temp should be carefully adjusted.

depending on the fabric of your bridal dress, you might not even need to iron it. Mine was on jamawar, kinda crinkled, and it didn't need any ironing.

I'd get it steam ironed, that what we've done for all wedding outfits. You could turn it inside out and do it, but it isn't so easy as it's so heavy

Yup exactly! i was thinking the same, its so heavy that ironing not possible atleast for me... well lets see how it goes,,
thx for the help guys..

Very lucky indeed! Will take note to advise cousins, friends to get crinkled material for wedding dress! Not kidding here at all! Lol!

Thanks for sharing! :)

I know even i was like wow, crinkled material sounds so good, no need to iron n all...

This is not advise for a wedding outfit, but:

If you're in a pinch and your desi outfit is wrinkly (i.e. travelling and its all wrinkled from being in your luggage) and you don't have a steamer handy, turn the outfit inside out, hang it up
seperately using non-wire hangers in the bathroom.

Take a nice long, hot shower and the steam from your shower will release the wrinkles!!

that barely works for men's dress shirts you'd have to leave it in there for like a week of showers lol

Ive heard that hairspray would help that the stones, glitter do not fall....i dunno if its real...

what!!!! hairspray on the stones n stuff.. won't it change the colour and make them look dark n dull..

Hahaha - it usually works for me!! But then, I take SUPER HOT showers and am in there for AGES!! ;)