if u know every household work like stitching to cooking and more dan that..but still ur MIL used to says u dat 'ur mom didnot teach u anything"
wat u will do?
calling all the MILs ....calling all the MILs who have a DIL named Sana living in Dubai.
What a crap. Whenever i read threads in Life1 on mil/dil/chil/pil .. etc..etc.. fights. .i was like what the heck.. the married life must be awful.
But now as i have my own experience i can say 99% of women babbling.. crying .. is pure BS or on the second thought you species have some serious ego & mental problems.
MY wife didn't even counter of bit of all the non-sense written by you women, she is more happy at my house then her parents house.
^Your post seems to imply that EVERY SINGLE desi woman out there has horrible in-laws and is being tortured by them....when that's not the case. There are women who have a decent relationship with their in-laws...and the respect is mutual. Similarly......you can't assume that just because YOUR wife has no issues with your parents..........that such would be the case for every woman out there.
maa u mean mother?plzz dont refer the horrible saas wid this noble relation..maa tu door ki baat wo masi n chachi n phoopi bhi nahi ban sakti bcuz she is SAAS..enough.attitude speaks..body language,facial impressions,the way wen a sas stare at u..wen she pretends n dont know dat a bahoo has lil mind dat she can understand u(LOL) ye sab saas ki qualities hain...but i do agree dat all 5 fingers r not at same size..achi women bhi hoti hain..but aisi methi knives ka kia solution hay?lol
What a crap. Whenever i read threads in Life1 on mil/dil/chil/pil .. etc..etc.. fights. .i was like what the heck.. the married life must be awful.
But now as i have my own experience i can say 99% of women babbling.. crying .. is pure BS or on the second thought you species have some serious ego & mental problems.
MY wife didn't even counter of bit of all the non-sense written by you women, she is more happy at my house then her parents house.
dont call the women's emotions n heart feelings just non sense..wen u dont hv any idea...ur mother must b gud n ur wife too but not every where..here in this forum mostly we talk in light way but if u see around in real world or in pak u ll come to know dat how a big class of women is facing n bearing their horrible inlaws..wid husband..doest nt difference dat a bahoo or inlaws r educated,,still the situations r the worst.u know nothing except ur own home.
The DIL who do not respect or comeup with conditions to respect the parents of their hubbies should leave their hubbies or try to marry a test tube baby to start with...
No matter what, calling names of parent of your life partner tells how much you respect them... your parents are in-laws of someone, how would you feel if they call your parents with names you may not like???
You have joined a family, which was doing very well ( at least good enough to raise a man to which you are married) before you joined them and now, since you are there, you need to adopt to the taste they are use to it is not normal to go other way around.
If one has such perfection that she can't be taught anything, and she don't like to live with the In-laws, make it clear before agreeing to the deal...
Sana...
i would tell her my mom taught me according our standards,if u wish else u can hire a maid who will follow up as u wish as im wife of ur son not maid of ur home!
No matter what, calling names of parent of your life partner tells how much you respect them... your parents are in-laws of someone, how would you feel if they call your parents with names you may not like???
If my mother was insulting someone I wouldn't blame him/her for answering back.. Just cos she's my mum doesn't mean she should be blindly obeyed or never told when she's wrong (in as nice a way as possible obviously at the start but if that doesn't work nothing wrong with saying so more bluntly)..
why do you have to refer to her as a sweet knife(meethi churi) though, i mean right from the beginning you're making her out to be evil.
we aren't perfect people especially the younger generation and your MIL is more experienced so it's ok if she criticizes a bit. try to compliment her every chance you get to show her that you really admire how well she cooks and does everything else. try to improve your cooking b/c we all have flaws and need to improve ourselves in some way.
i'm just thinking, maybe you should try to see her as your husband's mother not as the evil MIL, the one that raised him and took care of him since he was a little baby, when you start seeing her from that perspective maybe it'll be easier to get close to her
although easier said than done so it was just a thought
^Your post seems to imply that EVERY SINGLE desi woman out there has horrible in-laws and is being tortured by them....when that's not the case. There are women who have a decent relationship with their in-laws...and the respect is mutual. Similarly......you can't assume that just because YOUR wife has no issues with your parents..........that such would be the case for every woman out there.
i am sticking to my point,
** But now as i have my own experience i can say 99% of women babbling.. crying .. is pure BS or on the second thought you species have some serious ego & mental problems.**
why do you have to refer to her as a sweet knife(meethi churi) though, i mean right from the beginning you're making her out to be evil.
I'm not taking sides here. But it's not necessarily so that the OP has labeled the MIL as a "meethi churi" from the get-go. Usually it takes several interactions with a person to form an opinion about their personality or character. In other words, this opinion may not have been formed "right from the beginning"....but maybe later on after several interactions with the MIL. Now....none of us have witnessed the interactions between the MIL and the OP. Perhaps the OP (the DIL) is more at fault....or it could be the MIL....or it could be both of them messing things up.
I agree with you that the younger generation CAN learn from the older. The OP can learn (if she's mature enough to have an open-mind and positive attitude) cooking/household strategies and tips from her MIL. The OP says she already knows how to do all household chores....but it wouldn't hurt to learn/consider a different way of doing things that could even be more time-efficient. HOWEVER......at the same time....there's a proper/decent way to teach or advise someone. And let's face it......most people don't take too well to comments like "You don't know how to do anything"......."You learned nothing"......."Your parents didn't teach you squat." Such comments sting....they're not pleasant.....and they can potentially shut the person's mind to learning. There is a more positive way to teach.
And I know that some members (especially the guys) will argue that you can't expect the older generation to change their ways.....and therefore the younger generation has to be more flexible. Okay, fine....SOMEBODY has to have more maturity and tolerance, I agree with that. BUT at the same time such mentality cannot be used to as an excuse for ill-behavior. The elders ALSO have a responsibility to be mindful of the words they say and their manner of speaking. The "reasoning" that they're too "set in their ways to change" is no excuse for that. Developing and improving one's character (becoming more patient, minding your tongue, controlling your temper)......is an ongoing life process that is NOT confined only to the DIL or younger generation.......it also includes the older generation too. It can also be argued that the older generation are expected to set a positive example for those that are younger than them (and this would also include things like attitude, manner of speaking, etc). From a religious perspective, while patience and tolerance and forgiveness are emphasized..........one's age and relation (in-laws/parents/siblings, etc) will not fly as excuses for disrespect.
I'm not saying that the fault lies with one person more than the other. Rather, I'm saying that establishing a respectful relationship involves efforts from BOTH parties.