Now this is a school project, which I am sure many of you have tackled. My daughter brought this homework from her school and the competition is on March 29.
The egg needs to be packaged in such a way that when it is dropped from a height, it does not break.
How to do it? Any ideas?
Will stuffing an small box with lots of crumpled paper and putting the egg in the middle, work?
I remember doing this in grade 2, I'll give ya some ideas in a bit. Man you reminded me of good ol' childhood; mind you my partner and i won the competition.
Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.
Originally posted by CocoNut:
**I remember doing this in grade 2, I'll give ya some ideas in a bit. Man you reminded me of good ol' childhood; mind you my partner and i won the competition.
Pristine i guess if you did want to go with your original idea of crumpled paper in a small box, then the box can't be small can it?
it would have to be large.
I have never done this sort of project but if there are no restrictions on ideas then
get a bottle made out of plastic and fill it up with a liquid of a specific density such that the egg stays int he middle of the liquid. Then even if you do drop it from height the liquid should have enough of a cushioning effect to stop the egg breaking.
The liquid basically should be of high viscosity.
I am a chemical engineer so please excuse the weird idea but i think its a good one
Originally posted by secret_obsession: intresting.. why is she assigned this project, i mean what kids are going to learn from it???? any lesson or just a fun activity?
I think it is a fun activity connected with Easter eggs. Or so I think. Not sure, though.
pristine: what Qrius did was that she packed up the anda really well in thermopol, then in a retail mail postage box.. (one of them with a LIL bit hard cover) .. so once the box was dropped from the second level, it landed safely.. and yeah, put up a handerkchief or sumfin too as a parachute.. ;)
apni aan juda, apni shaan juda,
aisa waisa na samajh, hamm hain insaan juda..
Drop the chicken from some height before it lays the egg. That way, the egg won't break and who knows maybe the chicken would get nervous and pop one out. Unharmed ofcourse:)
Chaltahai, you don’t know chicken siht. If you drop the chicken from a height, what if it decides to fly away? Or lands on a tree until the rooster come home?
I think the reason is that you might be too controlling over these chickens. I mean really no need to choke the poor fellah if he's done nothing but give you golden eggs. So what if your goose is jealous.
Originally posted by hayaa: Or Pristy, you can always swallow it whole and jump off the ladder. Trust me the egg won't break.
I hate to thing what he will have to do to show them the whole egg again :).
Pristine you can search the web for answers but heres one that may give you a few ideas.
1) if using a box you can not fill with a solids like sand because in this case the force of impact goes directly to the egg and will break it.
2) If you can have a parachute for the egg box, make sure there is one.
3) using a liquid in a box or bottle would be good because in this case the liquid will absorb most of the impact force. Now if you have a large bottle of plastic that will not break on impact, you could put the egg in it and fill it with water and leave a little air gap at the top. The air is there so that it can compress on impact when the bottle falls. You are trying to basically recreate the shock absorber for an egg of sorts.
Also in order to prevent the egg from cracking when the bottle hits the ground because the egg hits the inner walls of the bottle cover the egg in some sort of foam or put the egg in a properly padded box before putting it into the bottle.
4) the carboard structure (Truss like) is extremely strong and so a box made with such a structure would be extra strong.
5) Another option might be to use a strong spring into which you can fit a well foam padded egg. The spring on impact will absorb all the force and the egg will just be in the center. For this to work, the spring has to be strong enough that the egg will not touch the ground and secondly whatever it is padded in should not be strong enough to break the shell.
Hope that helps and make sure you take lots of pictures.. we wanna see the end result :)
Jo tarkeeb maray paas hay naa Pristine “baaji,” ussay aazmao her mushkil bhagaao…
ya tau anda khaa kar khud chalaang lagaa do ya meri aik aur aazmoodah tarkeeb per amal karo… agar 1000 feet kee bulandi say bhee anda phenka tau 999 feet aur 11 inch aur 100cm tak kee guarantee tau meri hay anda nahin tootay gaa…
Taqrkeeb kay liyeh mubligh batteess rupaay aatth aanay sikka raij-ul-waqt inayat kijiyeh taakay sanad rahay aur ba waqt-e-zaroorat kaam aye:)
unregistered Senior Gadha
*— ALive from Dhobi Ghaatt:
BAAT KARNEE mujhe mushkil kabhi aisii to na thii
jaisii ab hai GupShup ki mehfil, kabhi waisii to na thii*
~Dehnchu Dehnchu~¤Representing Group of Gadha§ in Religion Forum¤
If you leave an egg in vinegar for a while, it won't break
.**
hayaa bibi .. did u try that???
well it would break... YES I did that in my school while performing osmosis practical... egg slipped out of my hand and gone :-D
so don't try this one :)
"Don’t be shallow by saying: if people do good, we will do good; and if they do wrong, we will do wrong; but accustom yourselves to do good if the people do good, and not to do wrong if they do wrong."