How to deal with hypocritical family members??

Re: How to deal with hypocritical family members??

Almost all kids in the fam drink, none of my parents know. That’s just how it is. And I can’t afford it even with a full time job, I don’t know where you live but the UK is hella expensive. It’s not an exaggeration.

Guys I really do appreciate the concern, but I don’t need AA meetings lol. I do drink yes, but thats it. Here and there I do. That’s NOT the issue. But I do get that I think I have to just live with the issue until I CAN afford to move out (if I can convince my parents to let me go lol).

I wonder if anyone else has a similar problem?

This, yes basically.

This type of sht is pretty common with desi families. Since parents are so fixed on their morals there is practically no point in trying to talk to them and the family members (let’s be real here, mainly the boys in the family) that could get away with sht are going to do what they do and it is annoying when those family members want to act pious but…that’s life. Parents aren’t going to be pleased hearing what ~haram~ things the kids have been doing, but if all of y’all are doing it then there is no point in snitching. All of y’all are ~guilty~ and I’m positive most desi parents aren’t going to be pleased to hear “Yeah, I do this thing too but at least I don’t act religious!”

Ahhh… I lived in London for a chunk of my life… I am very familiar with how unbelievably pricey housing is… chin up OP! Just ignore him… let it roll off your back.

Oh Bibi, itna zyada mat socho. You’re overthinking it. You have an overall good home life and much to be grateful for. With all these blessings…you cannot even fathom the thought of giving up alcohol? You can rant about Desi parents and their Desi ways all you want but, really, even that is not the most pressing issue here.

You want to change the whole world. You wanna change your parents and their way of thinking. You wanna change your brother. But you don’t wanna change yourself. Change starts from within, girl. Apne aap ko badlo.

Once you develop the enough fear of Allah to stop drinking once and for all…your brother’s hypocrisies will bother you a tad bit less…and you’ll have greater leverage if you ever decide to tell him to sod/pi$$ off. That would be a more practical solution as compared to venting with other members about the awfulness of Desi parents and Desi life. It’s alcohol…it’s not water or oxygen that you can’t live without.

Share an apartment with other roomies. Freedom demands sacrifice, especially in the beginning.

Or you could stay home and get lectured on how drinking is bad, your brother is only saving you by bullying you, etc etc.

Babu jee nay kaha gaon chor do,
Sub nay kaha Paro ko chor do,
Paro nay kaha sharaab chor do,
Aaj tum nay kaha havaili chor do,
Aik din aeiga jab Woh kahey ga,
Duniya hi chor do.

Wah, kia dialog yad dila dia. I think I’ll have to watch the movie again.

^^^Shahrukh Khan and his overacting at its best :slight_smile:

Tell on him and let him tell on you. Throw a fit if others say he is not as wrong as you. Tell them haram is haram for both of you and not just for the girl.

You should pull out a bottle when you are having dinner with your family. If your dad is not happy with it then he will kick u out and u can get your own place.

I watched it again today and it was an alright movie. The dialogue you quoted was probably the best one in there.

Haha. I wouldn’t do this. I wouldn’t pull out a bottle unless I had a place setup already. Besides, your parents don’t have to know about everything you do on your own time. You are a grown up. Just do whatever you gotta do while still respecting the rules of the house. And that might mean sobering up enough before you get back home. I think that’s a decent compromise for rent free living.

If you’re an adult, you can do your own taxes and maybe get govt housing like they do in england if you can’t afford your own place lol. I still don’t think it’s impossible for somebody in their mid 20s to afford their own place. Of course you can’t live a life of luxury but even if you work a minimum wage job full time you can still make rent in a cheap neighborhood, you can even split a room and save more money. There’s really no excuse, and honestly most people in their mid 20s can get a better job than some high schooler cause by 26 you’ve probably gotten a graduate degree by now.

Haha :slight_smile: That will be an epic move! Will definitely give a high like never before.

Gham-e-duniya bhi gham-e-yaar main shaamil ker lo,
Nasha barhta hai sharabein jo sharabon main millain.

Mukarrar mukarrar.