How to deal with bossy people

How do you deal with “bossy” people in your team without being politically incorrect? Also, the person is older than the other folks concerned and has assumed a leadership role though she wasn’t given it. How do the other team members handle this? Also, their is no team leader at this point. Everything has to be handled within the team.

Re: How to deal with bossy people

be tactful...tell stories about how this guy was wrong when he was obviously wrong...then ask him/her what he thinks about it...if he doesn't agree then argue with him :) ... politely though!

The way I deal with bossy people (or the people who abuse their authority) is the bossier they get, the more humble I get. Especially if they are older to me, then I become extra respectful.

Does that make them realize they are being bossy?

Niksik bhabhi :)

Sometimes yes, sometimes no. Some people take somebody's politeness as their weakness, which is infact their own weakness. I, however, give love to people regardless of how their personalities are.

maine suna hai ...

Phool ki patti se kat sakta hai heeray ka jigar.

Those type of phoot must be growing in your garden. :barbie: This person ain’t no phool :hinna:

Kiya pata, jisko aap phool bhi nahi samajh rahin, woh poora Guldasta ho. :phati:

Sometimes our own perception is clouded by our negative feelings, and we judge and treat people based on that.

Very samjdaar I must say.

So you say that we should remain respectful and let them boss us? What if she takes advantage of that, like she has taken until now?

slapp them

if someone is at an authoritative position, and they take advantage of it to corner and intimidate people, then sooner or later they start seeing the results. People will start leaving their company, so to speak.

With great power comes great responsibility.
The way I'll deal with it is I'll smile and leave them be.

That has already started happening...people have started leaving their company. I hope this person realizes why.

Amen to that :jhanda:

You can do this other thing…

If he asks you to do something…ask him every little tiny winy detail about what to do, what he prefers, how to do it…Like if he asks you to write a report “what format do you prefer, what should be the spacing, how many pages, what should be the salutation…what font.”

I used to do that to annoy the ‘bossy’ people…it was fun :phati:

If they are not my direct supervisor and they have no real authority over me and my work and they still bossy me around, I listen to all they have to say. Ignore it and then do whatever I damn well please.

Bossy people are a turn off so I avoid them as much as possible...if they start to impose themselves on me...I make it clear that their attitude is not welcome.

there was an immensely bossy and arrogant guy in my cisco class lab team, he was a jerk but like any situation in the real world, it's important to work as a team and do anything to get along having only the completion of the project/lab in mind so i sucked it up. I respected his level of knowledge though so I tried my hardest not to get angry and avoided any kind of confrontational situation....

but if you look up the word arrogant bossy jerk in the dictionary, there's probably a huge picture of him in there

Most people aren't psychic, so playing political charades is a waste of time. Unless you approach him/her straightforwardly in a polite manner and tell em what's up the person won't have a clue and continue to be bossy.

I usually take this approach

But I like this idea, I might start doing that.

Edit: That ‘multi quote’ thing is a bit technical, I think I may have Pm’ed people :confused: