How to cut onions without crying.

Now promise you wont laugh and I’ll tell you…

Ok its swimming goggles. Because they dont let any air in you wont feel the onions in your eyes. I bought them a few months ago and cutting onions isnt such a task any more.
I just hope none of the neighbours see me through the kitchen window, that would be too embarrassing!! :blush:

Just do it more often and u'll get immune. I stopped crying ages ago!

After peeliing the ‘chillka’ off the onions, leave the onions in a bowl full of water.

This is better than wearing those goggles :halo: :stuck_out_tongue:

nandulala ji

we had this cook and he had this nirala totka

while cutting onions he used to stick one small piece of onion abt the size of two matchsticks behind one of his ears and once i asked him k y do u do that he said if u do this it stops ur eyes from burning if u cut onions

i tried it but it dint work for me waisae lekin u can give it a try too

waisay yaar swimming goggle pehn k kitchen mein onions katna? :smiley: oh gosh hadd kar di aap ne :d:k: kya scene hota ho ga :hehe: laggi rahein :d:k:

buy fried onions in packets.

babay better to get pre-sliced or pre-diced onions, they are fresher and work better than those pre fried types.

well i consider the frying onion part to cause the smells in small apartments.. just use pre fried proghlem solved.

Baba G, you're too cute. :-p

Irem, the cook stuck pieces of onions around his ears and actually cooked them? And you guys ate? :-O

nandulala, I'd love to know too. I've tried soaking them in water (with salt) but it doesn't seem to work. I end up crying anyway.

Strange! I don't get tears in my eyes while cutting them...but do get tears while frying them...lol

here is what works for me, dont cut the root part of the onion when u take off the chilka et al, when u are about to chop..cut that end last, and go tear-free

*Originally posted by Baba G: *
well i consider the frying onion part to cause the smells in small apartments.. just use pre fried proghlem solved.

babay..dunn teh apt smell of curry later anyways :) i mean in the end there is onion in the salan, the frying smell goes away faster than a salan curry smell.

Originally posted by CareBear: *
Irem, the cook stuck pieces of onions around his ears and actually *cooked
them? And you guys ate? :-O

lol CB hmmm i never checked actually what he did with it afterwards eep :D

waisae he just used to put one small piece of onion behind his ear and then cut many onions afterwards...i think wo phenk deta ho ga wo small piece jab saray baki onions cut jatay hon ge...

I read that sticking a metal teaspoon under your top lip whilst chopping onions prevents crying. Can't see how it would work though.

goggles :eek:

I’m kinda immune to them now, they don’t make me cry anymore. What did work for me was to peel the onions, slice them in half and submerge them in water in a bowl and then cut them.

do either of the following:

• When peeling and cutting onions, light a candle or two in your work area. This helps to cut the fumes emitted from the freshly-cut onion that causes all those tears to well up in one's eyes.

• If you put the onions in a freezer just before cutting them, it decreases the vapour pressure of the volatile components, and hence fewer of the tear causing molecules get into the air.

• Alternatively, cutting onions under water allows the volatile components to dissolve in the water, so again they are removed and are unable to reach your eyes.

peel the onions, and remove the roots and top portion, wash em under running water- then cut them, as fast as you can (i dice one onion in abt 30 seconds)...... it works for me.....