How to cope with stress and strain

I feel so much under stress and strain at the moment that it might affect my health adversely and badly over the next few days. What to do?

The cause of the stress and strain is personal and much as I would like not to think about it, it is affecting me badly.

I am in my mid 50’s and have coped well with whatever life has thrown my way from work related to personal tragedies but find this one difficult to handle.

Re: How to cope with stress and strain

May Allah shower you with mercy and blessings and rid you of all the stress and strains of life. Ameen.
Under those circumstances I see my doctor and he gives me some prescription medications to cope.
In addition. I do zikr/dikhr and pray as much as I can to Allah to help me out. So much in life is not under our control so we have to seek Allah's help and mercy.

EB, here's a list of what you can do:

1. First try to figure out if the cause of your stress is something in your control. If it is, you take try to work around a solution, and if not, then you accept that and focus on yourself.
  2. Taking a stress reliever does help. Please see your doctor and ask for a prescription.
  3. Recite and listen to Surah Rehman.
  4. As much as you can distract yourself, when the stress is so much, you cannot escape it. The only thing you can do is make a conscious decision to get out of it. Problems never go away, we just learn how to handle them better.

And remember that Allah only gives us what we can handle. InshaAllah it will pass soon.

Short term stress. hmmm
make sure you take time to pray, If stress is to much pray like 5 times.
It break continuity of stress spans, very very important.
The whole wazu , and namaz and dua, bring brain to calm state.

Work out helps a lot too, try going out door even for walks.
May allah help you through difficult times.

Ehsan Bhai, try yoga or meditation.. u can meditate by doing "zikr" as well! I wudn't take any medications for it though.. i'd just have lots of comforting people around me..

I have been in the middle of a crisis lately.And as much as I try not to think about it and let it effect my daily life,its not that easy.
Recitation of Surah Yaseen and Surah Rehman has helped me in the last few days.I have always found comfort after Surah Yaseen.
Maybe that can help you.I believe that Allah does not test you beyond your limits so IA I will find peace.I hope and pray for all the best for you,IA.

Other than that talking to someone has helped me too.I dont mean professional help but I mean a good friend who was able to give some sincere advice.
If you think some medication can help you,go for it.I personally for my own problem will try not to depend on any medication,but then thats just me.

yes...:)..i do zikar and it really works :)

here is what is read..

Subhan ALLAH..Alhumdulilah..Lailailalah.. ALLAH hu Akabar..

isko ankhen band kar ke aur khamoshi mai thori dair beth ke perhe :)

aur raat ko sotey howe bhi perhte perhte sou jayen..sakoon se neend aye gi aur stress bhi kam hoga Insha ALLAH :)

ehsan bhae we will pray for u :)

I am quite the buckler under moments of stress and strain, so I have had to learn certain coping techniques.

What works for me is a regimented routine, schedule things in. It will make you feel more in control, even more pedestrian tasks, time table yourself. .

Make sure that you are eating good meals three times a day. Fruit and Veg def. I would cut back on the dairy and meat. Salads, grilled veg. Try not to have so much desi food. Some of the spices aren't so great when you are trying to think clearly. I would even recommend gingko tablets, vitamins/minerals and cod liver oil.

Exercise. Even if you aren't the gymming type go for a walk, half an hour and brisk. It will also give you a chance to think about what is going on.

talk.

If you feel that you don't have the time etc then written expression is a great form of catharsis. It doesn't even all have to be true. Just write, move on. You can delete burn rip. It just needs to be out in the world and off your shoulders. You are not Atlas.

and lastly...get good sleep, our subconscious (or mine at least) resolves half of the worlds woes if I give it the rest that it needs from awakened stimulus. And if you cant sleep:

Lavender
Camomile
Green tea (decaf)

Cleansing, focuses the mind and gives you the internal energy you need to ride out the storm

Best of luck.

:-)

Try to focus on the positive. Often times the stresses that we go through shape us into stronger and wiser and more refined individuals...although it's hard to see that will we're going through the trials.

I hope whatever turmoil it is that you are going through is soon alleviated. We make better decisions when are in a calmer state of mind. So, take a few minutes to relax. Take a warm shower, drink some tea, and put some light music on. Then take a sheet of paper out and brainstorm some options and solutions for your stressful problem. Make a list of possible ways to better your situation and list the pros and cons for each solution. It's like making a plan for yourself that will allow you to see things clearly.

Prayer provides relief. If Allah has brought you to a storm in your life, then He will bring you through it as well! So continue praying because it has immense power and also take action. One must take action while praying for help as well.

Here as some suggestions for alleviating stress. You can go to the doctor and ask for medication that can help reduce stress/depression but if you're afraid of side effects and addiction, you can try:

1) keeping a journal. Write your feelings. Empty your heart out. And then crumple the paper and throw it away.

2) Surround yourself with friends and family who will support you and be a positive influence.

3) Take a break. It helps to clear the mind and will enable you to think better. Go for a walk. Go to the movies. Read a book. Go shopping. Indulge in a hobby for a little while. Getting away from a negative environment for a while can be relaxing.

4) Playing some music. Some people find it relaxing.

5) Engage in charity/volunteer work. Psychologist suggest that helping others is effective in reducing depression.

6) Exercise. This will help you sleep better as well.

7) Make sure you're eating healthy. A poor diet can further aggravate stress.

8) You can try aroma therapy candles and oils. Lavender is known to have a calming effect.

My best wishes for you feeling better soon.

only if he comes here n read this thread :smilestar:

Yeah right :halo:

Doctors sometimes can prescribe some medication to eleviate high levels of stress, anxiety and sleeping disorders. If all else fails - consult a physician.

ehsan bhai, please recite the last 10 ayats of surah bakra everyday, it's going to really help you. inshallah i hope everything is better soon!

best way to cope with stress is to talk about it with ur loved ones. Probably your wife. This will help u see the situation in a different way. Keep yourself busy. Read namaz and recite the Holy Quran. Try not thinking too much about it. Try having a good night sleep. Take time off from work and spend time with ur family. May Allah help u deal with it the best possible way. aamin.

Thank you all for your sugeestions and duas. I am feeling much better and will Inshallah recover fully in the next few days. :)

:lifey:

GS did the trick once again ;)

yaar u is stressed and complaining. vhat nonsence yaar

go look at poor people who have not even clothes and yaar, u see them stressed? nai yaar they dont knw what stress is. they just accept their reality

be happy yaar. tomorrow u die and u wil say life waz too short.

Khubsoorat Collection, everyone gets stressed at some point. It's part of life and we need to know how to overcome it. Yes we learn from those who are not as fortunate as we are but we still have to cope with our problems ourselves eh?