how to best give dawah to non-muslims - esp those who get their (negative) views on islam from youtube and the media
they aint evil towards Islam and will ask me questions if unsure but they keep using youtube and other negative websites/sources for their info and appear ‘ignorant’ when i tell them that its not a reliable source - and all this is because knowledge has been made cheap
The best is by our actions. The way we interact in the real world. Does not matter how much they seem ignorant or deny the truth, they are looking for some peace in their lives. That's what I think IMO is the first step.
what cp said is right also to see what interest the or ask them what interest them then talk about that through Islamic point of view and tell them about it. Its normal for every human being to talk about a topic that interest them and they will gain more through it proceeding to other topic.
i remember this one time they described a clip of a cow being hung from its hind legs and being lifted up in the air by a machine before being slaughtered (painfully) where it went horribly wrong.. They have now assumed that this is how slaughtering happens in islam
I told them thats wrong but i know they listen only out of "courtesy" and dont really believe me :(
i remember this one time they described a clip of a cow being hung from its hind legs and being lifted up in the air by a machine before being slaughtered (painfully) where it went horribly wrong.. They have now assumed that this is how slaughtering happens in islam
I told them thats wrong but i know they listen only out of "courtesy" and dont really believe me :(
Your friends? If so, you can take them to a farm next eid-ul-adha and show them :D (show them the slaughter of the cow that is) heh
im sure there are farms owned by muslims where others can come in and do qurbani, unless it's against the law in that country. in Canada we have them..
First and foremost, we shouldn't get defensive if someone shares a negative comment about our religion. We should patiently try to communicate our viewpoint, give examples and quotes.
Secondly, it is best to set the right example. People get impressed with actions not words.
Recently, a local sikh family who was in close association with a muslim family converted to Islam. I asked the ladies what brought them to this decision. They said that the peace of mind, clarity of thought and depth of conviction were what attracted them to this family, that she saw how they served the community unconditionally, how they practiced what they preached and never imposed their views on anyone.
to be a muslim one has to say the shahada and believe in it. study the shahada to see whats required
charity work of muslims perhaps can make people more receptive to look deeper into Islam but i dont think thats what its really about
btw if you need a counter to halal zabah criticism - just say that we have been advised to not consume blood (it contains a form of urine) and all the blood must be pumped out the system. thats why the throat is slit whilst the animal is alive, and is able to pump its blood out its body. the zabah must be carried out with a prayer, to thank Allah (SWT) for the food, and no food should be wasted. this procedure can be used by all rich and poor people of the world. non halal slaughter houses also hang the animal upside to draign the blood albeit after death, this method is not as effective. animals made haram are those which eat their own waste. and finally if still no joy, ask them if they are veggies
try to distinguish between teachings of islam and actions of certain muslims
dont try to defend everything that muslims do, dont be too politically correct.... people usually appreciate honesty.
dont try to rant about evils of western world as step 1
try to point them towards sources that show the pluralistic examples of muslim civilizations
Make sure they understand the islam is NOT just a religion of arabs or middle eastern people but it has universal appeal
--- Tujhay pra-ee kiya paree hai,
---- [Oh Muslim Bhai] apni naber tu
You tube and other media may have some bias against Muslims, but generally the image of Muslims from the Middle East, Iran, and Middle-Eastern's lackey Pakistan is not that good.
And the only way to fix it is not to have any debates with your colleagues on the topic.
Be honest and accept the fact that Muslims today are in very pathetic situation.
Then if you can, try to fix the situation with Muslims instead of futilely trying to convince non-Muslims.
the facts are facts. Muslims do not have their own house in order. Instead of trying to be civilized, as a group, we are trying our level best to become cave dwelling, nomadic tribal people, just because Muslims of 1200 were living a primitive life style (not by choice though).
The Imam sahib says " This problem is with Muslims and Arabs". I’d just add that the problem is common between all the tribal / uncivilized societies regardless of their religion or ethnicity.
Africa is filled with non-Muslim societies who are suffering under the yoke of dictatorships.
Thus it is the tribal mindset that is responsible for the lack of development and as a result lack of freedom (political, social, and cultural).
And any religion/culture that supports / reinforces the tribal mindset is to be blamed because of its association.