How productive were/are you at work during pregnancy?

I have my good and bad days.. I am getting things done but no motivation at all.. I have made a lot of mistakes, I am very forgetful, I get tired and cranky if someone asks too many questions, and most of the time just want to go home!

I used to be very motivated, on top of everything, knew exactly what was going on and what had to be done.. now I just hope and pray things get done without putting 100% into it!It’s like I try make things easy for myself as much as possible instead of taking risks and investing a lot in my work!

How did you/ or do you feel?

Re: How productive were/are you at work during pregnancy?

Congrats GTG!

I did very well with both my pregnancies. I was working fulltime, driving far to and back from work, cooking, etc.... in the first. The second was a bit tougher as I had another child to take care of. However, overall, I was blessed with good health. No major complaints.

Things do change as you are dealing with a lot of bodily changes, hormones and it isn't easy for sure. Just do things that make you happy and stay away from people who further annoy you.

I worked till the morning of my c-section for my 1st pregnancy. I was on over drive with work, housework and all the baby preparations. I had nausea and constant worries so it helped me to keep busy.

My 2nd pregnancy I slept 4 hours in the afternoon. I was working but not nearly as proactive. I took an early disability and just hung out for the last few months.

First trimester is hard GTG. It's drains you. Your body is adapting to all the hormonal change in body. Hang in there and it will get better iA as you hit 2nd trimester.

I didn't really have a choice. I was the supervisor and had to stay on top of my game. I had a sort of inner peace which made dealing with work frustrations easier, partly because I felt okay ignoring what I couldn't control. But I had little tolerance for drama or unnecessary stuff. That kind of crap made the decision to take time off and stay home after the baby was born that much easier.

Of course, once I hit 7.5 months I was put on bed rest, so then it all got chaotic. After she was born I was "remotely" teaching one class (because they only had two weeks left). I was grading in those first couple of weeks! I can't even believe it!

WOW...Mashallah...you guys are strong.

Also, I wore two different shoes one day to work. Pregnancy brings about those sorts of moments. :blush:

During my pregnancy I used be 10 hours at work and after returning home till 10 pm house work. I used to rest for like half an hour after reaching home. My hod and my colleagues were extra caring with me through out and I must say through out they always tried their level best to put minimum stress on me (not the work load) but the mental stress. Some tasks which involved physical activity were taken away from me.

I was certainly not in best of my physical health as my liver function was getting worse by each day and my haemoglobin was dropping like anything. Like someone mentioned that 1st trimester is the hardest. I did not really completed by 3rd trimester but I remember that as soon as the 2nd trimester started my nausea and sickness started getting better. Tiredness and fatigue was there throughout off course your body is making a life inside you and using up your energy , blood , calcium etc & the hormones offcourse.

Don't be hard on yourself you will feel tired , sleepy & sick that is a part of pregnancy and each pregnancy is different. Take rest , drink lots of water , eat healthy food and tension nahi leni hai :)

my pregnancy had me ALWAYS exhausted and fatigued, I had to leave work around 5 months into it and I'm pretty glad I did and rested

woww mashaAllah you girls managed it well!

I have support at work but I am just not feeling well.. I am mostly tired and sleepy! InshaAllah I will get through it!

GTG first trimester is going to be very tough. Everything is new specially if this is your frist pregnancy. I had a very tough time too. I was sick all the time. Nausea was just killing. But unlike other girls I wasn't working. I stayed very active around the house though. I had tons of relatives that visited me during this time. My husband would sometimes do night shifts so I was all alone.

You can start preparations, it'll be a good distraction from sickness and depression. Let the first trimester pass and you'll feel much better and much active.

Listen to your body. Women are built differently and each baby has different needs. Try not to overburden or overstrain yourself.

Congratulations! GTG..

i've been pretty good mA. even when i had the worst of my barfing/nausea, i was still able to get through the work day somehow- not to say i did it happily or cheerfully, but i work with a majority of women who were all very understanding and that helped HUGELY. i am having more tired days now that i'm firmly in my 3rd trimi mA. backaches will strike suddenly and sometimes pregnancy brain wreaks havoc and makes it very hard for me to focus on tasks at hand but i have a really good team that i work with and thank God for them because they make sure i stay on track and get my work done. these days, i've got about 5 weeks till mat leave starts and i can safely say i am counting down the weeks even though it also scares the bejesus out of me because it means thats how close i am to potentially giving birth (ack!! another topic entirely).

generally i find the busier you keep, the faster the day goes and the less time you have to focus on yourself. this, of course, all goes out the window on the nights when i can't sleep because i'm running to the bathroom and/or in pain :/

hang in there GTG! first trimi is always the worst.

Thanks miss adorable :-)

Sahar... if I listened to my body, seriously I will be going in hibernation for next few months :-(

sgc.. that's awesome.. I remember reading somewhere you had a severe morning sickness so I can't even imagine how you kept up with everything.. I had it horrible including a trip to the hospital due to dehydration but zofran has helped a lot so I can at least somewhat function at work now.. I have my boss and colleagues (all nursing background) keep telling me that I will feel much better in second tri but I am like seeing is believing.. I can't wait to reach that magic mark where everything looks and feels beautiful or at least, normal!!

^ its coming! hang in there!!! :)

Hi all mothers to be... ~~ congratulatons~~
May ALLAH gives you the strength and Good health to you and your ssshhhweety pie baby :)

I have found it very difficult to cope with full time work ever since I got preganant. On top of the pregnancy the situation at work hasnt been pleasant with a boss who is really unproffesional and putting me in difficult situations. So I have been on sick leave most of my pregnancy. I guess I have only been to work for a month of the past 6 months - and that hasnt been full time but spread between the end of first trimest and begining of second trimester.

I was told that the second trimester would be easier but I got very sick and got wrong medication which made me even more sick and drained for over 6-7 weeks. Now by the end of the second trimester I started feeling better but ended up in the hospital for a few days due to risk of premature birth and will be on sick leave until baby is expected in june.

So I havent been able to go to work at all besides the few weeks mentioned above. I havent felt sick or had nausea but just been so extremly tired and absent minded during my whole pregnancy that I feel like my brain cells have melted away.....I havent been able to deliver any productive results neither at work or other stuff I have tried to do.....

But I was really exhuasted from before my pregnancy as well due to hectice schedule so might be that it had an effect....not sure