How picky are you...

I have conditioned myself to be not so picky, the other day I was hungry at work and saw a Pizza in the fridge, my associates told me it was old and I still ate it, some times things fall on the floor and I still eat it. Yesterday I stirred my chai with a garlic laden chummach and the chai tasted really garlicy, I asked my wife to taste it and she was disgusted, she asked me to dump it and make new one and I didn’t. How picky r u.

Re: How picky are you...

I'm very picky when it's a matter of the food being halal. After that, I'm not very picky. If I were to go by your example, I would eat most things even if they're a bit old and but not expired. Apart from that I won't mix certain things.

I am not picky... but I want taste in food.

Not picky at all. I could eat anything. I once survived on Ramen noodles for full two weeks because I was too lazy to get or make anything else. lol

They are so bad for you, it should be illegal to call it food..lol. Why hubby don't feed you. I feed mine.

He was out of town and we actually had a fight over this. I ended up in hospital after two weeks of fun with Ramen noodles. They really mean it when they say it's bad for you.

Haha..how can guys expect their wives to fend for themselves, Healthy is my religion, I try to cook very nutritious food. Yesterday she seemed hurt that I needed to ask her if she would like some breakfast and didnt make it without asking her.

Not trying to be religious here, but there is a hadees that says (paraphrasing) that tow things (organs) will cause a person to do wrong things, one that is between two legs and the other that is between two cheeks (tongue). Common believe is that the ‘tongue’ mention is referring to the backbiting, lies and insults that people utter. I believe that it’s referring to our taste buds. Think of all the things that we do to satisfy not our hunger, but our taste buds. Once passed the throat, other than the nutritional differences, it does not matter if I had a bowl of oatmeal or a steak. Both will take care of my hunger equally.

Having said that, I am training myself not to be slave of my taste buds. This slavery of taste buds is what causes most of the evils in this world. Not that I not enjoy tastier food, but I can eat anything with lots of gratitude (of course halal and not rotten).

Actually this whole “slavery of taste buds” dawned on me when I accidently used a cup full of undiluted Dettol to rinse my mouth. That damn thing literally burnt my tongue. For almost a week, I could not taste anything. That is when I realized that how much useless effort (time, money and energy) we put behind the taste of our food (earning money to buy, obtaining the ingredients, preparation). Many times that effort leads us into illegal, immoral ways of earning money. All that to satisfy our taste buds! It’s a waste of human life if we just spend it chasing our tongue

Long long time ago there was a wise man called Socrates and he said, "Bad men live to eat and good man eat to live. " The whole humility thing I feel is the secret to a great life. I exposed my children to sleeping in the bush, going to nastiest bathrooms and just eat whatever gives nutrients. My ex would just throw tomatoes and cucumber with cheese in bread and be done with dinner.

Yup you said it much nicely in one sentence than what took me three paragraphs to say

It was Socrates my friend and like many good men was put to death for preaching sanity. I use many of his quotations to guide me. Like the one, " All you need in life is one person to love and one to love you back." And here we complicate things so much.

i refuse to eat sub-standard food. food is important.

What is the definition of sub standard food

mostly processed foods, fast foods, food thats gone bad, food that was someone's experiment etc.

I agree. No unhealthy or rotten/expired food

I draw the line at Hillary vs Sanders.

Expiry dates are just a number, at work we had expired cream and when I poured in my chai the girls jumped in panic and I told them to relax as I havent been sick in years, what doesnt kill you makes you stronger. This stuff builds immunity. My wife sometimes gets invited to pooja and brings yummy pooja food and I really enjoy it. Many tell me I shouldnt eat it but I think that would be disrespectful.

Then you have 8 yrs of agony ahead of you. I dont bother with stuff beyond my control.

Ok, expiry date is not just a number. I will be careful playing that game

@Southie, chapter 2 hacked your account

Re: How picky are you…

I haven’t had an upset stomach for so far as I can remember. Although I just remembered that possibility of fecal matter mixing with food would nauseate me. We made friends with these people who were cousins married to each other. My children told me that whenever they stayed at their house there was never soap or toilet paper in their bathrooms just a good ol lotta. One day I saw the lady mix chat with her hands then she insisted bhai khain..I couldn’t