how old...

do i hv to be to get a job? i mean i m 14 yrs old and i desperately need money but the tim hortons ppl say i have to be 15 and the price chopper ppl say i hv to b 16 does n e one know a place where u can start working at 14??

interesting how i got ppl answering :P

Araam sai parhaai pai daihaan do. Kamaai baad mai shuru kar lai na.

*Originally posted by Umer: *
Araam sai parhaai pai daihaan do. Kamaai baad mai shuru kar lai na.

I agree :)

Beta - once you start working you might regret lol so enjoy the time you have for now :)

In most western countries, employing people of your age is very problematic due to child labour laws.

Certainly here in the UK, just about the only job available for kids is newspaper deliveries! I'm not sure about Canada though.

And nia is correct. Trust me, once you start working you will miss the days when you weren't....

no yaar o dont mean to leave my studies and then work. y'know like in my winter vacation, then after schoool, weekends, sumer holidays .. cause i hv been here for 2 yrs and u know no body gets there line job easily so now my dad who was in habib bank as an auditor is now at a security company and mty mom who was a head libraraian of the Beaconhouse schools is now a labour here. and apparantly i need money to buy clothes cause i have been wearing the same clothes for 1 and half yrs(without complain :) ). and i dont like asking my mom for money becuase i know it isnt easy for her with the mortgage and all... dats y i need money!! and yea i was going to sell newspapers or shovel pplz driveway but my parents are strictly against door to door buisness :( so now they are tellin me to go to some shops or sumthin if i really want to wwork...
and dont worry i hv to study i know :) dats the main reason i m here.:)

but fikar not yahan ki government ko bhi khoob loota hai ! har thoray din bad jakay free check up ;)

You can try the local shops or malls in your town. Also try to apply early and as many places as possible because younger ppl have a tougher time. I have to disagree with many people here, I think that if you can handle a job during winter break or summer vacation, you should definately do it :k: Not only do you understand the value of money, you learn new skills and have to learn how to manage your time better.

Just make sure that you leave enough time for friends and family. I started work at my fathers practice when I was 15, I had to work very hard and my dad paid me very low wages (maybe because he was paying for my things anyway). With the extra money, I used to buy the things my parents didn’t think were important like a tv for my room, video games, and spending money with friends. Don’t get me wrong, the work is always tough, but I’m sure you can handle it. Good Luck!

thanx :)

i fifnsishe making my resumee!! :d
i'll go to the malls soon :)

oh how cute … 14 and still so grown up in your thinking .. lots of young ppl can take a lesson from you .. nice keep it up :k:

thanx :)

Girl, good initiative! i started working when i was 15...did some cashiering at a local mall's jewelry kiosk...got paid "under the table." That was my first job. After that, I held some part-time jobs in college doing telemarketing during summer breaks. You definitely learn to appreciate the value of a strong work ethic and hard-earned money. Best of luck!

thanx moona :)

*Originally posted by perdes men desi: *

but fikar not yahan ki government ko bhi khoob loota hai ! har thoray din bad jakay free check up ;)

errr, government ko naheen, aur logon ko loota hai.

when u start working and see the taxes coming out of your paychecks, and then see gains tax, estate tax, real estate tax and all. You may start wondering where that money is going. some of it going to ppl who are "looting" the govt.

be responsible in how you utilize social services

Come on Frauds, give her a break, kid's only 14 for Heaven's Sakes!

pmd, I'm speechless that someone so young as you would want to work so hard. It's a very nice sentiment, to try and help your family out. Wish I could help u get a job, but unfortunately don't live in Canada. Trying at malls might helps, that's a good idea. How about your school cafeteria, or go thru the classifieds for a weekend or evening job walking pets, babysitting, or helping out small business owners with their things. You know what? You can even start a small home-based business mebbe, like craft-making, sewing things, typing letters or documents for people or businesses, etc..

Still, if the government says you can't work till 15 or 16, I suggest u follow wait till that time. If u want help writing up a resume, let me know. Good luck!!

Ana, I don't think Fraudz was implying it was the youngster who made those trips or possibly abused social services by herself. methinks it was a pretty general statement; I'm not a big fan of people who take unnecessary advantage of the system either.

pardes mein desi, admirable thoughts there. Tim Horton's is a good place to start but remember most food-related McJobs are fast-paced and require long hours. Like most of the ppl here, I'd suggest you wait until you are of legal age to join the workforce. There's a reason minimum ages are set.

In the meantime, you can always tag along to a friend's or elder relative's workplace (as long as it doesn't interfere with their line of work) and see what it's all about. An odd 20-30 min here or there should suffice. It should give you a lil' but useful peep into what kinda environment to expect once you're ready to start.

Good luck with the job hunt.

cute :slight_smile:

good luck sweetie :kiss: par remember parhai sub se important hae job bas chuttyon mein kerna :slight_smile:

Hmm...try babysitting, working at desi grocery stores, telemarketing (some companies don't care about age), malls.

If your in the Toronto area, go to Yonge and Eglington and apply for telemarketing jobs there.

good luck but dont compromise ur studies ever...u will realise it later but this is the time for all the extra efforts gone in those books!!:) :)

Babysitting is the best job for young so try that but never quit your studies.:k: