Okay so in a week I am going to Pakistan to visit the few relatives we have left there. I am going by myself. My husband wanted to give me $300 (27254 Rupees) to spend there on everything. I wanted to get a few saada outfits to wear when visiting my aunts house here in America or for going to the masjid and 2-3 party outfits of which one will be good enough to wear to a wedding. Is this enough? I don’t think so. My husband says he may give me $200 more and make it $500. I also have to buy a few friends gifts. Nothing fancy, just a shawl or earrings and bangles. Plus I am also buying gifts from here to give to my relatives there (about 10 gifts)So, I was thinking of getting lawn outfits. I was wondering if there are outfits for $40-$80? I know a friend of mine had a nice outfit on that was a little light but also could be worn to a light dawat and she said it was $70 only but she bought it from some shop in her hometown. Also I am a bit embarrassed because I have a cousin who is very rich and she wanted to take me shopping but I can’t afford what she can and don’t know how to tell her so I decided to tell her I am shopping in another area with someone but she still wants to take me to some places. The other cousin in KHI where I will be staying are middle class, well a little below that and they cant afford much so if they go out somewhere I may have to pay. My Mom was telling me she went out with them when she was there, just with the kids (they r actually in their teens) and had to pay for them. She felt bad about letting them pay b/c they can’t afford to do so much. Thats why I don’t think $300 is enough if I am going out for tafri and stuff. any advice for those who live there or have recently visited and done shopping let me know the prices. By the way I am only visiting Karachi and Islamabad. Thanks.
Re: How much will I need in Pakistan?
Also for gifts, there are 2 new babies there in our family. Would they mind if I just gave a card and cash? $10 too little? I can't afford to give more in cash as I am already buying 10 other people gifts(chocolates,toys and perfumes)
First of all forget all the relatives, you gota save some extra quarters for when you come back and have to put in the airport to take the damn trolley out! I spent everything in Pakistan when i was there literally came to NYC with empty pockets. Then at the freakin' air port i realized that i didn't have any money to put in the damn trolley dispenser so i could carry my luggage outside. Can you believe that?! So first make sure you have like 2 dollars hidden somewhere so if you do run out of money and come back empty handed you can still drag your luggage :D.
It all depends on how long you'll be staying, really. The longer you stay the more chances of going out, buying younger relatives little treats and whatnot along with the things you want to buy for yourself and others. I think you should go with at least $750....
I recently went out of state for just 4 1/2 days and ended up spending close to $1100 because everything is just so darn expensive and trust me it's very easy to lose count of how much you've already spent!
my suggestion : dont be too much into gifting , its a waste of resource .. much rather focus on spending some quality time with them so they get to know you and you get to know them .... In my experience, I have seen all my life , parents and friends and family going back home with tonns of gifts and hardly anyone is ever satisfied with those gifts ... or they start expecting more and more ...
So keep it simple for yourself ..
As for the dresses you want to shop for ... really depends on your budget , the prices are very varied ... on average though I would say you keep aside 10K average for each dress ... some may cost 6K while some 12K .. but your budget will remain stable if you keep the 10K mark in mind for each dress ... thats what i did when i went to islamabad ...
About the kiddies and gifting them ... dont hand them dollars .. see if you can get some Pakistani Currency and gift the bacha's some money ... depending on your closeness with the family , it can be anywhere from 1000 rs to 5000 rs ...
Honestly, 300$ is nothing these days in Paikistan. A freaking Lawn Outfit costs around 4000rs in Pakistan which is 50$. Commute expense, food, a little shopping, and gifting relatives can add up to a lot. And the fact that you are going from abroad, relatives expect way more. I would personally say take atleast 1000$ with you. Try not to spend it all but take it with you just in case.
Oh lil_ash! If only u knew my money woes. Its just that with the unexpected expenses we have had and increasing cost in America (on nearly everything) we are going broke. But I booked this trip in advance and got a good deal. The awesome thing is I got bunch of chocolate on sale a few weeks ago to give as gifts and some bath and body stuff also on sale. I also bought a few toys for the kiddos but thats about it. I still have more to buy but am only getting stuff for the young ones, and for my grandmas sister who still lives there but that's about it. I also have a mangni to attend of my cousins so I bought a gift for the groom but yet have to get something for the bride. (maybe jewelery) I don't mind spending money on people but when it comes to myself I always get short changed. I have decided to take $600 with me and no more. I am mostly going there to meet people. Shopping is just an afterthought but what girl would give it up? I also want to give my boss and his assistant a gift and the bosses brother (who is part owner) and 2 coworkers I like. I could give 16 female coworkers gifts but I decided to choose the most important coworkers who I have built a relationship with and like. If the others mind, so be it. Its not like they give me gifts for anything. They are just matlabi. The others like me a lot and have done stuff for me which is why I want to get them something.
I gave my wife $1500 to spend in Pakistan. She spent only half of it though in shopping.
I will just have to have control when it comes to shopping for myself. As for shopping for my coworkers, I think I'll get them small cheap but nice things..hope that makes sense. Not cheap as in the item will be but hopefully the price will be like small earrings or a few bracelets or a small ring. I plan on buying mostly saada outfits and one or 2 fancy ones and a few gifts and thats all. No jewelery for me or anything unless I can find cheap fake ones otherwise none. My husband is lucky that I love saving more than shopping but I should finally treat myself as I have not in a loong time.
ok if your hubby gives you 500 dollars altogether than thats more than enough (if spend wisely). 200 dollars shayad itne kaafi na hoon coz u wanna buy gifts and do shopping...but again depends on how you are spending.
as for gifts and shopping...though i cant say much since they are your relatives so u will know better but my personal advice.
1) the gifts you wanna buy from usa.....buy loads of chocolates from cheap stores and some nice looking gifts bag (whatever size u want).....open up all the main pkging of the chocs so that you have loads of mixed chocs....now put them in the gifts bag. u now have a cheap yet good gift for your relatives in pakistan. i am saying this from my personal experience....as i did this when i came to pak and my reatives were really happy to see such a gift (chocs thi aur woh bhi variety ke saath :D ).
2) those cousins..well i'll say you need to have the upper hand on the money....i mean if that rich cousin is taking you then just be honest that its not in your price range. go with her but just dont buy anything when its not in your budget...i am sure she wont force you.....same applies to those where u might have to pay for them.
finally 5-10 dollars are more than enough for a new born...add a card too as you said.....'will they mind?'...well that depends on person to person....some people are quite lame and stupid that they count on what they other person gave to them or to their child...while some are just happy with whatever you give. but tum apna ek budget rakho and dont feel abd embarrassed about it that i gave only 10dollars to the kid and the family must be feeling bad.
good luck and have fun in pakistan.
Honestly, 300$ is nothing these days in Paikistan. A freaking Lawn Outfit costs around 4000rs in Pakistan which is 50$. Commute expense, food, a little shopping, and gifting relatives can add up to a lot. And the fact that you are going from abroad, relatives expect way more. I would personally say take atleast 1000$ with you. Try not to spend it all but take it with you just in case.
So true. I took $2500 with me. as we stayed with my inlaws so no food or other expense but after 6 weeks we were broke. my sil usually take $4000 and still is broke.
i try hard to keep track of every $ i spent still money is never enough and i only bought one suit worth 5000rs.
^$2500. wow. My hubby begged me not to get him anything but I might. As for giving gifts over there I am only giving to closest relatives and only the young kids. As for taking money with me, I am only taking $600 finalized and if thats not enough then I will just not buy anything else. First I will make sure to get the inexpensive gifts for my coworkers/boss and then a few outfits for me and eat out once and thats about it. Sabse maza hotha he just hanging out with relatives and talking. Inshallah all will be well. I just don't know the worth of anything there sothought I'd ask for help. Thanks for all the advice everyone.
Well its a good thing you have shopped for the gifts already. If gift part is done then I thing you are set. If you have a decided a budget and your keen on it then that is all that matters. Last time my sister went to pakistan she had not decided her budget, she went with 2000$ and exceeded her expenses to 5000$. But once you know your exepenses and know what exactly to spend, there should be no problem. I hope you enjoy your trip!:k:
Faana, you can do it. It just means lot of self control. Avoid too much gift exchange. Whatever you have got for gifts is enough. Make your budget for the clothes and stick with that budget. Keep in mind the cost of taxi and entertainment. If you go out with relatives or their children, stick with food and food places that low cost entertainment but at the same time fun, Stay away from MacD's, etc. They are waste of money in Pakistan. Rest, spend time with family and have fun.
This may sound like a cliche - but gifts are from the heart. Give what you feel like and can afford. Keep it simple. Main point is to go and enjoy your time with family/friends. They also probably want to see you more than get your gifts.
Y not buy outfits or toys for the newborns from there instead of giving $10?
Here in Pak everything is so expensive now so make sure u stick to your budget and not buy anything on impulse. Goodluck:)
oh Southie. I am sure some of the closest people would love to see me after all these years but trust me some people look at gifts and how much they are worth but I am sure those closest to me won't care. As for the nweborns I am getting some inexpensive toys Sahr. Something developmental/learning kind of toy that they can use well into their first bdays. Thanks for all the mushwerey. I think I feel better now. I will only buy wat I plan on and try to control myself. But any suggestions on what to get my American female colleagues? I was thinking of Pakistani style inexpensive earrings. As for the two male bosses I am still not sure but I hope all together not to spend more than $25 on gifts and yes, I know thats very little but there only 5 people to give to..lol..around $5 a person I just realized. I am considering not even gifting to my boss but just his assistant who is so nice to me and two other female coworkers.
check zainab market, they have traditional stuff at good price.
good advice from Lusi about Zainab market for traditional items that can be brought back as gifts for your co-workers.
one thing that I did when I was there was insist on eating in the house with relatives rather than taking them out......just have food brought in (take-out) as this works out much less expensive than actually going somewhere to eat.
Honestly speaking 300$ can not go too far if you want to do what you have stated you want to do!
Now you can always work around it and cut corners if that's absolutely a limit. Here are some gift ideas for you
For buying gifts from USA (for relatives in Pak), buy makeup sets, unpack the set and gift multiple aunties from one set. AVON products are inexpensive and are well appreciated/received in Pakistan.
Kids in Pakistan will be more happy to have Rs500 cash in their hand (around 5$) than to have $10 toy from USA. So best gifts for kids would be cash in Pakistani rupees
For buying gifts from Pakistan (for people in US), Zainab market is the best place. You can bargain a price and buy bulk of traditional items from glass-work ball point pens to small wood crafts. Depending on what are you buying, you can buy 10-15 gifts in around 50$-75$
and finally, at the end of the day, you are taking on this trip for your own good, to take a break, so if you can't buy gifts for everyone on the list in your budget, IT IS OK. Go and enjoy as much as you can with people there. Missed gifts can be compensated on some later trip but missed fun/time cant.