How much to pack for the neighbours ..

Some days a dish comes out really tasty and I get much inclined to pack some of it for our neighbours.

The confusion that strikes me at that time is how many servings to pack for them? they are 5 members in the family. If I pack five servings , I wont be left behind with any for my family .. So occasionally I just pack two servings and send them that ..

Last week a friend said, its better not to send anything rather then send so little of it ..
What do you guys say? would you prefer to still share it with them or is it actually better not to share at all since I dont have enough servings for them?

I share with them mostly the curries . When I send a cake or dessert , I ensure it has full servings for them .. but they are in love with Asian curries and so I dont hold back on sharing it with them even if its not enough for their entire family …

What say?

Re: How much to pack for the neighbours ..

What happens at our place is IF we decide prior to cooking something that this will be to sent to someones place then we make a complete serving for the whole family.. for example when sending curries that aren't cooked that frequently (haleem, nihari, paye etc)

But if we just made something for the family and it turned out to be really yummy and we want to send it over to someone than 2-3 servings do. This usually happens when there is some kind of chicken or special daal dish.

So I think what you do is perfectly alright. The friend is just presenting her 'own' thoughts and I'm hoping she follows that. Doesn't mean you should stop doing what you are comfortable with. Because you can't just send people everything you've cooked and just sit back and get your tummy full with compliments (that is if you get any). =D

are bhai, toHfa kii koii limit shimit nahiiN hotii...jitnaa de sakeN utnaa de deN...u are NOT providing meal for them...taste ke liye do chaar pieces bhej diyaa kareN...agar pahle se bhejne kaa plan ho to usii Hisaab se ziyaada banaa liyaa kareN to ghar ke har fard ke liye bhejeN. :)

if i can recall whenever our neigbour friends back in pakistan would cook something good....they would definitely share it with us...it was not necessarily a big share(sometimes got big share too but not always depends on the dish) because their own family is quite big so the point of sharing food is that you have cooked something nice and worth sharing so you share it with your neighbour who you think will like the dish too...but not necessarily fill his/her stomach with it....it a nice thing on your part that you are sharing your food with neigbours because you think they will like the dish ...its not that you have taken the responsibility of feeding them with your food for their lunch or dinner...i think its quite rude that your friend said the serving was little.....she could have said this if she was invited to your place over a party and you had served her little ...

If you've informed the neighbours previously that you'd be sending food then you should send servings according to family size, maybe even a little more. If something turns out good just send any amount you can because they would already have prepared food according to schedule and whatever you send can be a nice surprise accompanying dish. Today mom made karhi pakora and sent in a small bowl to the neighbours.

ps. now i am missing my neigbour aunty's biryani , bihari kebab and fried fish

yes , when its planned earlier on to send stuff to them , I make enough servings keeping them in mind .. they are an English family ,in love with our curries , so even if its just daal or biryani they enjoy it .. I feel, sending them stuff even if its little makes them happy and they are always thankful for the thought and reciprocate as well ..

My husband also feels a little awkward sending them lesser servings but I feel that its better to send something then nothing , specially when a dish does come out to be really tasty on certain days ..

In our old neighbourhood we had lovely neighbours who would often send us food, in a tray covered with a nice cloth! It would range from stuff like chicken roast to a small dish of dessert like sawaiyaan sometimes fruit like good mangoes etc! As kids that would make us sooo excited! Gosh I miss that now :(

The neighbours are really nice people , a good few times they sent us chicken pies and other stuff , but we couldnt eat them coz meat wasnt halal .. I think one of our other neighbours told them that we are unable to eat the food .. since then they always send us desserts and cakes only :cb:

We have desi neighbors they usually send us a couple of servings of their dinner or lunch. Other neighbors (non-desi) ones also give desserts but they give like a whole pie.

There was a family that lived next to us when we were little.

They were a married couple - had no kids. We were a family of 6…four of us and mom and dad. :cb:

Aunti was an amaaaaaaazing cook though (traditional hyderbadi cooking), loved to share and we loved her food. What I remember is that she’d send enough to taste…and that was more than fine with us. My mom and she would exchange a little every day they cooked…it was so cute.

Send what you can CB, the fact that you think of your neighbors is so sweet. I am sure they appreciate it.

if it wasnt planned then 2-3 servings are good.

How much to pack for the neighbours ..

Give whatever you can. This is the best part having neighbors close by or in an apartment building. We would share recipes with neighbors. They loved what I made and vice versa. There is no hard and fast rule about this unless you are tfood for the sick or if a fily has suffered a death...then you should send a significant portion to feed the entire family plus extra.

Reha’s post reminded me of a couple that lived in the same building as we did…a few floors above, I think it was…his name was Ahmed and her’s was Zohra. May Allah bless them both with jannat. They never did have any kids.

Zohra aunty used to cook the most amazing khatti daal…she would send down a bowl and I would fight everyone for the last drop. (Ammi was typically annoyed with me cuz she felt that she could cook the same daal just as well and why was I dying for daal that had “pooray pooray haray dhania kay darakht” in it! Bechari Zohra aunty wasn’t always “all there” :wink: and she would forget to chop stuff before adding it.)

Anyway…to answer the original post…I think its okay to send over whatever you can and let the neighbours fight over who gets to eat it. :cb:

Pooray dhania kay darakht :omg: .. totally gave me a cracking funny image in the mind .. Zohra aunty zindabad :lifey: