How much gold?..

So we all know how crazy desis (especially elders) are about gold. I wanna know how much gold you got for ur wedding from your inlaws as well as your parents (in tolas)? Were there a “standard” of how much u were gonna get? Did u want all that? Where is it now? Do you even use it?

My far-cousin is getting married soon and of course in tht sense my mum and me ended up talking abt gold and stuff. And my mum was telling me that she is going to give me around 50-60 tolas :smack: I have to say, I’m no gold freak and my mum is like “its a tradition, what will people say?” .. And then she told me that my bhabhi got 60 tolas from her parents side (which she wore at the wedding day) and 90 tolas from us (which she wore on her nikkah and walima). :sahar02:

Personally I think my bhabhi was loaded with gold both days and I dont wish to be so loaded. I wanna be on the more elegant side .. So tell me girls, did u have such issues abt log kya kahenge when u refused to wear this much?

Ps. How do i post a pic?

Re: How much gold?..

i gt abt 50 tola from my parents...but i didnt wear everythng on my wedding...jst a simple matching set with my lehnga and my chorian..thats it..i kept the rest for other functions/parties..
from inlaws i gt abt 9 tola...which was a set for valima

u dnt have to wear everythng on shaadi...if u dnt like this "loaded" luk..than jst tke a set out for the actual day

^Yes tht sound as a nice idea. But in my khandan they tend to make huge set so everyone can see the gold yikes ..

Hmm how come u got less from ur inlaws? I thought it was a "norm" to get more from inlaws .. well thts how it is in our area at least ..

I have no idea how much gold my in-laws are going to give me - not in tola's anyway, it's not something that has been discussed by either me and my fiance or my family and his.

Whatever they give as long as it is given with the right intention - it's all good. To be fair I rarely wear gold - especially Asian gold. I don't like this tradition of giving stuff just so that it can be seen and commented upon by the varadari/khandan (family) - think it's quite vulgar actually. But I understand that the bride has normally little or no say in the matter.

U know i still don’t know the tola/gram/ounce thingy! :smack: so i dont know exactly how much i got.. whatever hte in laws gave, i wore it all on the valima day but the wedding day stuff (from my parents), i wore a bit on the day, and wore the other stuff later on.

well i kno that my shaadi ke set is 25 tole from my inlaws and my parents are probably giving me 2 sets a gold braclet and 2 kare

i dont know how much my in laws gonna give me.. but i got from my parents.. im getting around 50tolas.. n offcourse im not gonna wear everything ..

exactly the same. i really hope they (in-laws)don't give me too much, they know i rarely wear gold and light jewellery anyway so i'm hoping they will take that into consideration rather than let the the thought of 'what will other people think?' override that.
since the in-laws will be getting me something regardless i have been telling my mum that i don't want anything from my parents (what am i going to do with 2 sets?) but my khala and mum are insisting. it really won't have to be a particular weight though and as far as i'm concerned the lighter the better.

I am a desi and I am not crazy about gold. :)

so random - i came across this picture just today

(i cut the people)

LOlz... that is dawood ibrahim's daughter and jawed minadad's DIL....lol

I got about 75 tolas. I wore some during the wedding and some in the days after. Now I just wear a gold bracelet and 2 choorian from a set of 6, other than that most of it just sits in the bank locker unless there is some special occasion. I am not a gold freak so its not of much use but gold is a good investment for the future so I didn't mind getting so much.

LOL and i thought i got a lot :hehe:

From my parents side, i think i got like 35 tolas plus gold gifts from other family members. This included 8 choorian, 2 karas, 2 sets. Gifts included a smaller set, rings, earrings, bracelet etc.

From inlaws, i got around 20-25 tolas and thats more than the norm in their family i think.

I wear most of my things including the sets. I made sure the sets from both sides werent too gaudy and i can wear them to parties and stuff. I also wear choorian at home sometimes or wear the sets when i feel like dressing up.

lol i have no idea who he is so i did a search and uhmm yea..... but there are another bunch of pictures with some other girl and people are saying that's his daughter?

anyway, why would you do that? it's like someone just put on everything they own coz the house is gonna burn down.

Lol that other gril is abrar ul haq's wife. People kept confusing her with dawood's daughter... god knows why...lol

Uff meri tauba!!

I’m not so sure either, I was wondering if any of u gals can confirm it maybe; Is one tola = 11 grams? I dont know who told me this or where I read it, but I’ve it in my mind? Anyone?

^that's correct. 1 tola is approx 11.6 grams.

Same here!! I thought I got a lot too. Though my in laws got me maybe 12 tolas I think