How much do you earn?

Last week at college me and my friends were talking to this “Security” man, we were asking him questions like how’s your job. /do you enjoy it? Etc. While we were talking to him one of my friends suddenly ask him “How much do you earn?” I was like :smack: Do you really had to this stupid question?

Than the security guard replied and said no it’s okay I don’t mind telling, i earn about £25-30 p/hour…

Today when i was travelling on the bus going home, these two Asian uncles came and sat next to me and started talking in urdu. I was listening to music on that time but my battery died (:smack:) so i said to myself forget music let’s hear their convo…:hehe:. The headphones were still in my ear but ofcourse there was no music so i could hear them…

While talking one of them tells the other uncle (in urdu) “Guess what? I got a new job, starting from next week”

2nd uncle: :eek: Really? How much you gona earn?..(This was the 1st & last question he asked)

1st Uncle: Job start huwe nahi hai and u are already worried about my pay?

You could just tell that this 1st Asian uncle got offended by this question and the reply he gave was harsh…

So on one hand we have these ppl who don’t mind telling about how much they earn and than on the other hand we have people like this uncle who don’t like answering such questions

Personally speaking i would say it’s such a bad habbit to ask someone how much they earn and i have noticed it’s mostly Asian People who worry about other’s pay specially uncles & aunties (no offence to anyone) just teling the truth :@:. I mean it’s not your business and it’s one of the question i would’nt ask…

So guyz “How much do you earn?” :smiley:

Share your views…

Re: How much do you earn?

common huma n decency would be not to ask. but if people insist, there is but only one way to put them in their place - simply say how would you feel if someone were to pry on your means of earning and its amount. the nosy person who hopefully is half decent, will get the idea not to ever ask this question, again.

^^That's what i am saying, such questions shouldnt be asked in first place but than again there are people out there who seem to have a lot of interest in other's people pay.....

To be honest I haven't heard many people ask me that Quesstion but i can see what ur saying.

I think sometimes you can safely assume that a person earsn well b/c some professions do pay well, like doctor, lawyer, accountant etc.

PS, in the US, we call desis South Asians, Asians here are the ones from china, japan, korea, vietnam, thai etc. In the UK, i've noticed alot of ppl refer to south asians as just asians..so what do u call the chinese/japanese etc?

Never ask two questions
Woman’s age and man’s wage :wage:
Anyways there are some desi or not may be some annoying people who might ask you this question and you have to be straight about that please its personal stuff so don’t ask this question.
For me if someone asks me how much does your husband earn then I bluntly say why don’t you ask him or “sis mein to khud un se yeh sawaal nahi poochaa aap khud hi pooch lein”:smiley: inreality we only see bank accounts so its not a lie.:chai:

don’t ask don’t tell . :silly:

Don’t ask is fine…what to do when not to tell…I give a round about figure because i dont want to tell the real amount, does that make me a bad person:bummer:, i feel so bad.
But what else can I do:(

In urdu we have this idiom for this purpose very frequently used by people"Allah ka shukar hay guzara ho jata hay." You do not offend anybody with such a response and hopefully they will leave you alone.

There is a saying in my mother tongue, you should never ask a girl’s age and guy’s salary, they never says the truth

I personally feel offended, because in desi culture it is used to compare and judge you. I WILL NOT give an answer to that.
Although thats a v.well thought of line "guzara ho jata hai..." LOL i will use that next time.

Thank you Mirch Unc, will definitely use it insha-Allah.
But what about when the conversation is in English or Kannada..then what??:konfused:

When did Banglore become a Province of Canada ? :confused:
In English translate it like this " By the grace of Allah/God I can manage to live happily with my salary."

Kannada is a language

lol@Mirch

:omg:..Perfect UZ

I dont make nearly enuff to buy myself all the nice stuff I want... LOL

I dont think there is anything wrong with that question, people are curious about different careers and what kind of saleries they offer. If a person doesnt wanna answer all the have to say is i cannot disclose that information or i dont feel comfortable discussing that. No need to get all defensive.... right?

i agree.
There is no need to get all defensive. He/She is not gonna steal ur money or get your job. Rizk dene wali Allah ki zaat hai, jiss ki kismat jo hai wo mil jata hai.
When ppl ask me i tell them exact figure and if they are interested i even tell them what to do, like process to go through to get the job.
We should not be so judjemental abt the reason of someone asking that question. Neeyat saaf honi chahiyay, anjam acha hy hota hai.

i remember having this question put to me when we went for a potential rishta, it was her father’s 1st and only question to me. To which i replied more than you and walked out. :grumpy:

:hayaa: I did not know. :o