sorry for opening another thread, googling isnt working at the mo,hope someone knows here.
i do not wish to take pampers nappies to pak as you can get them there, but what are the prices there..same as uk? what else can you get there? baby food? whats the best milk formula?
Prices are pretty much the same to be honest for good branded nappies like pampas... beware of fakes.
Best to buy from the big cities or towns where the genuine market is better, also if you have someone who knows how to haggle go for it... i know it sounds wierd but I always haggle and you can really drive into em to get a bargain.
Most dukandar delibaretly quotet the prices the same as UK hoping you will be naieve enough to fall into the trap.
You can easilly knock down a few hundred ruppees though... good luck.
Everything you can get from UK .. can get from Pak .. Kissi cheese ki kammi nahi hai pak mein .. bas sirf paisa bolta hai ..
prices will vary as most of the baby stuff is import ..so they ll be slightly expensive .. as to what you paid here in uk ..and secondly .. there is a saying .. moonh dekh ka chapeir maarna i.e. they slap you by looking at your face .. meaning ..that ppl in pak stores they know that anyone stepping in our store is from abroad and they want the genuine UK / US brands .. they must have money .. so prices go slightly even more up ..
but you can get everything .. from nappies to tin food ..all the baby products you can find here .. u will find there ..as ppl from uk esp the islamabad region .. have dual busineses in uk and in pak ..so idher bhi kamaatey hain aur udhar bhi ..
Huggies XL cost Rs 400 ( but it contains half the number of diaper as compared to pampers)
There are hundreds of other brands of diapers also available ...mainly Chinese brands...they are fine too !
I use ENFAPRO for my daughter she is above 12 months (masha allah) . I get a big tin for her (4-5 tins each month) and a single tin cost around Rs 1,350 to 1,390.
Other brands are Meiji , Nido , Millupa , Cow & Gates , Nan1 and there is local nestle brand too I don't remember the name.
The local Nestle cerelac cost around 110 Rs per box. The imported one cost around 300-400 Rs. Bottled food cost Rs 90 per bottle. I get Cow & Gates and HEINZ for my daughter and both cost RS 90/bottle.
You can get AVENT and TOMMEE TIPEE both here in Karachi. AVENT is more easily available than tomee. If you want to find tomee tippee then go to zubaida's or EBCO. For branded baby stuff zubaida's and babyshop are the best.
i was in pak for 2 mnths and i was so angry at not being able to find exactly the same quality of pampers or huggies there. huggies was from imported from some asian country.. pampers was local i guess and so damn expensive.. 400 something ruppess for 20 pampers only... i took 100 huggies diapers from dubai and they lasted for almost a month.. had to then buy pampers and such a bad quality.. the inside of pampers is as if theve put a paper like cotton inside. huggies(asian one) was soooooooooo mch better and atleast i cud see an inch or more of the cotton which ws way too thick than pampers. if possible take diapers from UK.
also my baby is colicky so i self-diagnosed nestle nan 2 hypoallergenic for her and i cudnt find the damn thing anywhere in defence!!!!!!! they had in some different brand but not in nestle. i tried all the top shops in defence. i buy the same tin 900gms from dubai for 70dhs.. over there one small tin of almost 400gms was 1000 rs plus!!!!! its crazy.. baby food jars are 90-95Rs... i was soooooooooo glad i took 10 food jars from dubai. here they cost 4-5dhs only... i say follow ur instinct and do wot is best for ur baby. my baby got the most terrible rashes when her huggies(dubai ones) finished... why take a risk?