How much do Average weddings cost in Pakistan?

How much did yours cost all together? How much should a couple expect to spend?

Re: How much do Average weddings cost in Pakistan?

somewhere between 10 and 20 lakhs!!!!

Well if i can make it in 5K , will be very happy !

no chance dude!

Why not?

erm i dont think they cost 10 to 20 lakh that is if u want to go crazy and just overspend on everything

the average is 6-7 lakh

an average wedding would cost around 6lakh if u r considering halls/food for barat and mehndi (plus decorations and dj's) , barat dress, more suits/dresses (kinda like jahez but clothes only) makeup and i guess matching shoes with the shalwar-kameezes; only.

now on top of all this u have to add the cost of flying to pk (if applicable) and all the gold u r getting either from ur parents or bought on ur own.

im sure there are other things that i just cant think of rite now...

STONECOLD- That sounds like a lot!! 10 sounds better but anything over is a fancy wedding.

Aliyish- When you say 5k, do you mean 5k in USD? Well, whatever currency it may be, it's still not enough. :p

mizzrani- 6 to 7 lakh is what I was thinking too.

soniya83- you are right! 6 lakh sounds good for a wedding, but taking my whole family to Pakistan is another $8,000 on top of 6 lakh for wedding arrangement. CRAP!!

Interesting question, i am getting married in Pak early next year and finding it very difficult to estimate how much i will need when i go there. I have been out of country for 11 years and have no idea how expensive it is.

I know it's a difficult question because it could cost anywhere from 5 lakhs to 5 Crore but how much do you guys think we need???
I think 15 lakhs should be enough but you never know.

.............what..........................100,000
itni mehngee biwi.....
na ba ba na

Yaar gf se tou sasti hi parti hai phir bhi ( I THINK).

lol@ mauli & mysterious guy

Mysterious_guy- 15 lakh! That's a fancy wedding. Does that include your family flying to pakistan? Just going to Pakistan can be very expensive -let alone the wedding.

I am not including air fares, i have saved enough for that already and hopefully that wouldn't be a problem and GOLD is out of the way as well (thanks to my ammi jaan's long term planning lol ).

So maybe i am over estimating the cost?? It's a pleasant surprise if 15 lakh is for a fancy wedding only. But i have heard that wedding dresses alone can cost a couple of Lakhs???

^ :smack: You can be easily talked into spending extra money by anyone! A couple lakhs for a wedding dress!! lol, nooooo…may be a 1.5 for both of you!!

My cousin got married couple of years ago and they flew frm london to Lahore, It costed them around 25,000 quids including 8 tickets
PS: It was not such a fancy and extra ordinary wedding either

Thanx for the info Dimagh :). As i said before, i have absolutely no idea what dresses we need, how much they usually cost etc etc. Maybe it’s a bit too early as my wedding is end of Feb 2008 but it’s really nice to know that 7-12 Lakhs is probably enough.

^ yeah, don't let anyone tell you more. Rationalize how much should something cost. It's so common in Pakistan these days to fool someone who is not familiar with their tactics to avoid bargaining. Take a female with you and don't say you are from abroad! lol...

15 lakh is MORE than enough...again depends on what kinda of arrangments/clothes etc etc u would like, but like other guppies offered similar suggestions; dont tell anyone how much money got and can spend cuz then they will try to rip u off by any means. and yeah a lehnga can cost u anything from 50,000Rs to who knows even 3-4lakh....but do u really want to spend that much for FEW HOURS???
i think even 1 lakh for a lehnga is too much...(but thats just my opinion)

Acha....i know what you mean, i think i will be taking more than one females with me so that's not a problem at all but thanks for the tips :-)

I totally agree with you, actually i think anything more than Rs 50,000 is a bit too much but sometimes you just gotta go with the flow but nothing more than Rs 75000 should be spent on lehnga.