…Just read a news story on DAWN regarding a nine year old student who used to get physically abused at the school she attended.
This is a slightly related question to the above news story (although i hardly believe, and hope, any of us experienced as severe as the above student). i am simply curious to learn how many Guppies experienced corporal punishment (so-called discipline) at the schools they attended during childhood, and what were the specific punishments meted out? Some of our teachers were skilled at devising unique forms of punishment but the most common ones were simply to stand on your chairs with your arms outstretched for an hour. As i used to be talkative until about grade six or so, we used to get slapped, but sometimes if a few of the teachers were feeling more creative, they would make us do the ‘chicken’. Anyone know what i am referring to - you had to squat on the ground, holding your ears with your fingers, head bowed and staring at the ground? The most cruel ones, i think, were to have a pencil balanced between the knuckles of one hand and then the teacher would use a wooden ruler to hit your knuckles, or just plain hit the palm of your hands with a wooden (or metal depending upon the availability) ruler… i can’t think of any others at the moment - do other Guppies have some other forms of corporal punishment they experienced at their childhood schools?
I remember my biology teacher in the 9th and 10th grade, would just plainly start hitting the students, like punching them in the face and on the body ... so much so that if in the meanwhile, the victim fell down on the floor, he would kick them in the ribs. He was such an angry man.
Hard to believe, eh?
Whenever I am reminded of those times, I cant imagine why none of us spoke up against it? Its hard to believe even for me that we went through all that crap so quietly.
The things that offended him were not any academic reasons. We got the wind in those days that he was riding high on his new found glory of righteousness and religion. Thus, he was against all the "fahashi" found among young teenagers and out to root it out ... and the usual blah blah.
He spread the word around the campus that he had "Secret Proctors" roaming among us. So, we used to suspect each other of being a spy or something. LOL. It seems almost equivalent to modern day terrorism. But he was a cruel beast nonetheless. Its quite an amusing story.
this is such a disturbing post Nadia..brings back old memories that i dont want to remember :( haha..well Nadia meri ziyada pitayee to nahi hui thi but i remember once my teacher got really mad and one by one he was hitting every student in the class....when my turn came he asked for my name..and i said i am sheraz..he goes hain yeh kaisa naam hai?? I went on telling him about my name..oh sir it means beautiful in Faarsi..acha pehlay kabhi suna nahi..and he just started to talk and I got happy k shayad ab pitayee na ho but uss khabees nay chora nahi..khataak khataak and his stick broke haha
one that i really hated was when they put a pencil between the fingers and then squeeze the fingers..ouch that hurt