How many of you have boycotted indian movies?

I dont watch most Hindi movies cause it is such a waste of time.

I only watch them if it is a guaranteed to be paisa wasool.

Waise, this post is only about Bollywood movies or all Indian movies?

I NEVER EVER watch Indian movies.

I used to but I think I stoped in it 96-97 and since then maybe one or 2 movies and those were because I was in a situation where I couldn't leave the place.

But y'all still listen to and download the songs from these movies you supposedly are boycotting :p

*Originally posted by 5Abi: *
But y'all still listen to and download the songs from these movies you supposedly are boycotting :p

Good point..But all ppl don't do that I think..

*Originally posted by 5Abi: *

Hey 5ABI,

I think it is partially refered to my post where I suggested my 'like' to Indian music as I was a huge A.R.Rahman fan, I still am, and probably always will be. Though no where in my post do I concur that I still listen to his compositions. ;) You assumed - like you are assuming everyone listens to Indian music.

Anyways.....

I don't watch any of the traditional Bollywood song and dance movie. But I like the 'art films', the sadder and more thought provoking stories. Monsoon Wedding was kind a ok too.

I don't know why we gotta, as much as they hate us, they watch our dramas, they got our singers singing there, I don't see this hatred is taking us anywhere. If we keep living in past we will never step in future and worst we will never get to see present either. And proly resent later on. I don't mind watching movies, I am patriotic, I got paki blood but here nobody can say that their roots are not from india. By just boycotting the movies, what good are u doing to ur country, if you really wanna do something, go out there and kick the ass of corrupt govt, do something for ur country. I think its plain stupid, no offense to anyone here. This is my opinion. :)

*Originally posted by pagaldeewani: *
I don't know why we gotta, as much as they hate us, they watch our dramas, they got our singers singing there, I don't see this hatred is taking us anywhere. If we keep living in past we will never step in future and worst we will never get to see present either. And proly resent later on. I don't mind watching movies, I am patriotic, I got paki blood but here nobody can say that their roots are not from india. By just boycotting the movies, what good are u doing to ur country, if you really wanna do something, go out there and kick the ass of corrupt govt, do something for ur country. I think its plain stupid, no offense to anyone here. This is my opinion. :)

Hey Peterpan Diwani,

I do not mean to interject neither do I mean to disrespect you by getting aggravated by a mere opinion. Infact I respect your opinion because its not only articulate and concise but also makes one see another point of view. However, I do feel the need to defend my opinions in this matter.

Agreed ...

1) that all of us stem from India, one way or another

2) we should practice what we preach by not reciprocating hatered the undeserving ones

3) (not that it is relevent) one shouldn't be living in the past or digging old graves. After all one can't change the course of history.

4) that we need to look at our own faults before pointing at others

But....and this may sound stupid, petty, immature not to mention emotionally driven, yet tell me would you buy an Indian Papad for instance if it has 'Die Paki' lmao written on it? Entertainment or no entertainment, isn't it a product as well? If your answer is 'no' than I ask you why would you watch a show/movie that would do the same even if the cost is national pride? Not watching an Indian movie is by no means a service to my country - its a 'choice' to reserve my self respect. If ever needed, I can and will give my life for my country as did my grand father!

No, I am not crazy just a li'l 'unwell'. ;)

Re: How many of you have boycotted indian movies?

*Originally posted by mahnoor@lahore: *
how many of you have cut down to one or two or the ones who get really famous?

yeah i've definatley cut down, the last ones that i watched were kal ho na ho, pinjar because of the good reviews by our fellow guppies

*Originally posted by xcape: *

Hey Peterpan Diwani,

I do not mean to interject neither do I mean to disrespect you by getting aggravated by a mere opinion. Infact I respect your opinion because its not only articulate and concise but also makes one see another point of view. However, I do feel the need to defend my opinions in this matter.

Agreed ...

1) that all of us stem from India, one way or another

2) we should practice what we preach by not reciprocating hatered the undeserving ones

3) (not that it is relevent) one shouldn't be living in the past or digging old graves. After all one can't change the course of history.

4) that we need to look at our own faults before pointing at others

But....and this may sound stupid, petty, immature not to mention emotionally driven, yet tell me would you buy an Indian Papad for instance if it has 'Die Paki' lmao written on it? Entertainment or no entertainment, isn't it a product as well? If your answer is 'no' than I ask you why would you watch a show/movie that would do the same even if the cost is national pride? Not watching an Indian movie is by no means a service to my country - its a 'choice' to reserve my self respect. If ever needed, I can and will give my life for my country as did my grand father!

No, I am not crazy just a li'l 'unwell'. ;)

u know what giving up ur life is not everything, why do ppl get emotional n talk about giving up their life for country, it doesn't always represent bravery, its also a sign of cowardness. Do something which would not only benefit u but others too. Thats call serving ur country. I am sorry I wont reply to ur question as in order as it was asked for, however I will give u an example, we reside in pakistan, we have sects, we have balochi on one side, punjabi on other, sindhi, mahajir, pathan, and living in pak we all hate each other, we call em names, we kill each other cuz we speak diff language or we are from diff part of pakistan. We have no unity there, and you are talking about hating the other country. Look at ourselves. However, after coming abroad, we realized that we are far away from our country, we see a single paki our spirit get lighten up, we talk to em, we welcome them, no matter which part of pak they are from. Now as for indian, I don't see any diff in em, not everyone is alike u gotta u/s that. all I am saying is that, I have indian friends chinese, white, and also paki friends, I don't see any diff in em, they don't see any diff in me. By boycotting indian movies, what good are you doing to ur country, u r not representing anything at all. I don't watch those movies where they trash pakistan's name, however I do watch other movies for entertainment, I think thats why they get produce for. When you are talkin about history, you should think its history now, lets move on. I don't know if I am making any sense here. All I am saying that you don't have to take everything personally. Do not discriminate against anyone.

Let me ask you why do u watch hollywood movies? You should stop watching them too, what good did they do for us, don't they hate pakis, have u forgotten sep 11. When they blamed us for everything. We have been called terrorist, ppl were kicked out of america on based of that. They have more security when a pakistani national is entering their country. Shouldn't we do the samething to them?

I try to avoid watching them, not because of patriotic reasons so much, but because they're so devoid of intelligence. I could do so many other things with that time.

But, if one was to boycott Indian cinema, which would work only if it was done by most Pakistanis, then it would help if there was some alternative cinema to turn to, right?

I mean, you could go and watch American movies, but do those propagate good values, one of the reasons why people would boycott Indian films (because of their increasing vulgarityL)? Indians learn from American movies how to make their films more vulgar.

And you always want to have entertainment in your own tongue, so that you can relate to it better.

The pakistani film industry is not willing to move forward. They've had lots of chances. Its kind of sad. With a strong Pakistani film industry it would not be difficult at all to boycott Indian films. When Pakistani dramas were in their golden age, Indian dramas ko kaun pooch tha tha?

PCG.. utnay time mein Quran parh lein. Exercise karr lein. Food channel daikh lein. Aur kuch nahi tau catch up on your sleep. Zaroori hai filmein daikhna?

If you're talking about my excessivly long post, then I'm sorry. I try to study or do something else, lekin GS is so addictive.

If you're talking about time invested in watching films, actually, I think too much of anything is bad. (I should apply that to my recent sleeping habbits). Including watching films. I was merely talking about if a real boycott was to be staged, one obstacle would be detoxifying the population. You see, indian movies for many people are like opium. You just can't get off it once you're on it. And it is mind-altering. Prolonged exposure can lead to brain damage.

So, like with a drug, you'd have to detoxify people. That means give them an alternative that seemingly gives them the same high. A mature Pakistani film industry with the maturity level of the Iranian film industry would be perfect.

Lekin, we don't have that. Thus, I strongly believe our wonderful Pakistani brethren would choose to stay on the opium even if an outright ban was called upon it and if all the opium fields in Pakistan were destroyed. They'd somehow smuggle it from Thailand, instead.

And I know this is a terrible analogy, for where the hell can you get a mature alternative to opium?

Hey Pagal De-Wendy,

First of all let me apologize for a long winded post in advance. As for being concise I must retract. You seem to be divuling into projected details addressed in my previous post.

u know what giving up ur life is not everything, why do ppl get emotional n talk about giving up their life for country, it doesn't always represent bravery, its also a sign of cowardness.

I am sure all the people who gave their lives for their country, be it Pakistan or any other country feel the same about dying for their country. :D You are the first person who denotes 'Shahadaat' as a sign of cowardness! Touche!

Thats call serving ur country. I am sorry I wont reply to ur question as in order as it was asked for, however I will give u an example, we reside in pakistan, we have sects, ---- ............. blah blah someone shoot Charlie Brown.................. ----, we talk to em, we welcome them, no matter which part of pak they are from.

The following is recycled my last post.

"4) that we need to look at our own faults before pointing at others"

Now as for indian, I don't see any diff in em, not everyone is alike u gotta u/s that. all I am saying is that, I have indian friends chinese, white, and also paki friends, I don't see any diff in em, they don't see any diff in me.

This is also redundant and is a projection.

"2) we should practice what we preach by not reciprocating hatered for those undeserving ones"

By boycotting indian movies, what good are you doing to ur country, u r not representing anything at all.

Also addressed in my last post.

"Not watching an Indian movie is by no means a service to my country - its a 'choice' to reserve my self respect."

I don't watch those movies where they trash pakistan's name, however I do watch other movies for entertainment, I think thats why they get produce for. When you are talkin about history, you should think its history now, lets move on. I don't know if I am making any sense here. All I am saying that you don't have to take everything personally. Do not discriminate against anyone.

Let me ask you why do u watch hollywood movies? You should stop watching them too, what good did they do for us, don't they hate pakis, have u forgotten sep 11. When they blamed us for everything. We have been called terrorist, ppl were kicked out of america on based of that. They have more security when a pakistani national is entering their country. Shouldn't we do the samething to them?

Oll Korrect. So you watch Indian movies selectively i.e. the ones you know wouldn't be propagating against Islam or Pakistan? Yet you want me to stop watching English movies because I am being 'selective' by watching them and not Indian movies? :)

I really did not take anything personally but I felt as if everyone including you were attacking the person who started this post for having an opinion! I share the thought (maybe not in this distinct manner or exact words) and felt that someone needs to show the other side of the coin for our so-called liberal friends who are hyper sensitive about protecting individualistic values considering a very general feeling.

No hard feelings though. One shouldn't loose sight of fact by calling it emotionalism for being emotional validates having a soul! :p

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *

If you're talking about my excessivly long post, then I'm sorry. I try to study or do something else, lekin GS is so addictive.

If you're talking about time invested in watching films, actually, I think too much of anything is bad. (I should apply that to my recent sleeping habbits). Including watching films. I was merely talking about if a real boycott was to be staged, one obstacle would be detoxifying the population. You see, indian movies for many people are like opium. You just can't get off it once you're on it. And it is mind-altering. Prolonged exposure can lead to brain damage.

So, like with a drug, you'd have to detoxify people. That means give them an alternative that seemingly gives them the same high. A mature Pakistani film industry with the maturity level of the Iranian film industry would be perfect.

Lekin, we don't have that. Thus, I strongly believe our wonderful Pakistani brethren would choose to stay on the opium even if an outright ban was called upon it and if all the opium fields in Pakistan were destroyed. They'd somehow smuggle it from Thailand, instead.

And I know this is a terrible analogy, for where the hell can you get a mature alternative to opium?

Here Here! :)

I know what you mean about the addiction! sigh

*Originally posted by xcape: *
Hey Pagal De-Wendy,

First of all let me apologize for a long winded post in advance. As for being concise I must retract. You seem to be divuling into projected details addressed in my previous post.

I am sure all the people who gave their lives for their country, be it Pakistan or any other country feel the same about dying for their country. :D You are the first person who denotes 'Shahadaat' as a sign of cowardness! Touche!

The following is recycled my last post.

"4) that we need to look at our own faults before pointing at others"

This is also redundant and is a projection.

"2) we should practice what we preach by not reciprocating hatered for those undeserving ones"

Also addressed in my last post.

"Not watching an Indian movie is by no means a service to my country - its a 'choice' to reserve my self respect."

Oll Korrect. So you watch Indian movies selectively i.e. the ones you know wouldn't be propagating against Islam or Pakistan? Yet you want me to stop watching English movies because I am being 'selective' by watching them and not Indian movies? :)

I really did not take anything personally but I felt as if everyone including you were attacking the person who started this post for having an opinion! I share the thought (maybe not in this distinct manner or exact words) and felt that someone needs to show the other side of the coin for our so-called liberal friends who are hyper sensitive about protecting individualistic values considering a very general feeling.

No hard feelings though. One shouldn't loose sight of fact by calling it emotionalism for being emotional validates having a soul! :p

I wasn't attacking anyone beside she u/s me;), I was just giving my opinion about the subject being discuss here. Thats all! I am not telling you to stop watching movies and neither I will stop watching the indian movies.

:o an Indian sci fi movie?

** “I am a space disco dancer Johnny but I still love you too too much”**. :hehe:

I only watch the really famous ones, or which have been recommended by my friends and even those turn out to be the same garbage.