Like Wgah border etc?
Re: How many of you have been to any of the Ino-Pak border areas?
Last time I was at the Wagah border crossing was in 1979. There was no tamasha, no hoo-hah. It was one of the strangest border crossings I have ever experienced. I remember walking alone from the Indian side to the Pakistani side in tense silence, only the sound of my own footsteps crunching across the no-man's-land, a seemingly long walk. I think the ritual ceremony which happens now is much better - it lightens the mood. It reinforces the shared culture and history of the two sides of the border. They are but reflections of each other.
As a woman alone, I was a bit of an oddity, but I have always been treated with more respect in Pakistan than in India, though one is freer in India to go places.
We visited Wgah border way back hmmmmmmmm in early 90s (or it was may be late 80s) If I remember correctly. We (whole family - parents/siblings) were on all Pakistan tour - Good old days.
been to Wagah border and another smaller one..forgot the name...just watched the ceremony
i love to visit border areas again and again !!
During the good old Mushy days, I secured a visa to watch the India - Pak cricket match in Lahore. It was the first time I traveled to a foreign country by rickshaw; Amritsar airport to Wagah, a short walk across the border, and then another rickshaw ride onwards to my hotel in Lahore. I still consider myself fortunate to have watched the insane flag lowering ceremony from both sides of the border.
^\MANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN ..... I was also there for that match .It was in 2004 .My former company had taken our group to Lahore for that match and we were there for a day. :)
Yes, that was a swell match, I remember Mushy referring to Dhoni as a handsome bloke or something to that effect, or was it a comment on his long hair....?
I spent 3 days in Lahore then....I remember going to Gowalmandi for dinner everyday...
jinnay lor ni takeya o jameya he nai! ![]()
Yes, that was a swell match, I remember Mushy referring to Dhoni as a handsome bloke or something to that effect, or was it a comment on his long hair....? I spent 3 days in Lahore then....I remember going to Gowalmandi for dinner everyday...
No, that was not the match.I mentioned about the year 2004 Lahore match.There was no Dhoni in the Indian squad then.
I think you are talking about the Year 2006 Lahore match... Dhoni had smashed 72 off 46 delivaries in that match to help India won the match. :)
2006, it was...It just seemed so long ago..
in '03 ...As we were approaching the sitting area, the army officers were using sticks in an effort to control the crowd. In the process, they ended up hitting a lot of women and some guys and whole controversy erupted. No I didn't hit! lol we were still at a distance.
Just been there two weeks ago.
I spent my Childhood dreaming of the place and even after being stationed all over Gilgit and in particular the area south of Minimarg and around Dansam as well.
Awesome places to spend your time in... but winters are severe and i believe both sides lost more troops to the elements than to firefights.
Right up to the present day though both sides fiercely patrol the border and Paksitan's troops are among the worlds best at cross border insertion and stay behind tactics.
Indian troops are also among the most diciplined in Asia particularly the Mahratha 8th regiment who are superb not only at countering insurgency but are also among the more wiser Indian units and were good opponents.
Kargill still runs deep i guess but i was remarkably suprised by the down to earth ways of both sides front line troops were moral is very low and most guys just want to be away from the biting cold and the constant patrols and fruitless missions.
In fact if what my friends in the signals say is true peace is not as elusive as the leaders would have you beleive... particularly in older soldiers who have seen it all.
But both sides are feeding fresh meat into the grinder and these new guys just want to be let loose with guns.... what with all the emotionally charged atmosphere never mind the weather, it looks like the most beautifull hills and mountians on earth are still going to be a battleground for a while yet.
Tis a real shame.... for both sides.
When I went to Pakistan this time around for two months, I visited both the Kasur and the Wagah border. It was so much fun. Took a message from my uncle who is Air Force Commander and was VIP, sitting right at the front near the border gate. My whole khandan went with me to Wagah border. Kasur I went alone with my driver and two cousins.
Wagah has become very colourfull these days and all the hooh haah is a great tourist attraction.
But let us not forget the reasons we have that border...
Let us not also forget the rouges who rely on that border reamaining a border so that they thrive.
One day i hope to live and see that border thrown open again.... it's happened before it can happen again.
It's always lovely to see the peace at that place in Wagah and one can easily forget that less than 50 miles north theres a heavily defended line between nuclear states... tisk tisk.
"Dek terey sansaar kee halaat kya hogay bagwaan!"
It's become more of a tourist attraction these days.
If a kid strikes a ball with his bat and that ball lands on the other side,what will happen? :D
Will the ball be thrown back?Or will they retain the ball as a `foreign intruder'?
Arleitter bhai Salaamz it's good to be back.
At Wagah border i guess it's not going to be a problem i think but it depends wether humanity overcomes barbarity.
It would be a harsh thing and indeed an end to mankinds efforts of peace were a mere ball to become an issue between nations.
I went to Wagah Border about 2 years ago. Fun stuff! The best part was the little kid trying to sell us a bottle of water which he filled up at home.
I have not been there :(
but have heard stories from my mum :)