how many of you dont ....

cover your head throughout the year, but do it in ramadan?

I dont cover my head but I was just wondering about women who
just do it in ramadan, and not after or before.

I dont do it cos I dont really see any point in it. Ive always thought that when I do it, it will be forever and not just for ramadan. So when I feel ready for it I will do it, but I’ve seen people do it only in ramadan and I just feel like its a bit silly. Can someone please explain?:konfused:

Im sorry if i sound like an idiot. I just want other peoples opinions on it and if it makes sense I might even change my mind about.

Also is it ok to wear make up cos people do?

It seems silly to me too, fi you do it, do it right, or else leave it.
I had a Turqish friend once, who did the same, when I asked her about it, she tehn expalined that if you fast, you have to do it the right way, like you ahve people who fast, but do no salaat, then it's strange to fast, if you do take part in ramadan, and you want a better chance for the blessings of it, then you should do it right, that means praying on time as much as you can and not swearing and gossiping, and of course covering your head and wearing proper clothes. And that's why she woudl do that in the month of Ramadan, to make sure her fasting would be accepted. It still does seem strange to leave it after the ramadan, one would think, if you've been like that in the ramadan, why not continue afterwards? But I guess we all have our own different ways of dealing with it. Anyway, that's an explanation I got.

i've never heard of that. Interesting that it happens. That's a very nice reply, Sadya... agree with your thoughts.

I cover my head during prayers, in masjid, and if something from the Holy Koran is being recited, irrespective of Ramzan.

Sorry for being slightly off-topic…

The mention of turkey. It came to my mind, something i heard few years ago, dont know it is true or not.

Someone told me that in Turkey if you go to mosque, you will find artificial beard to wear it during the prayers. :hehe: It sound quite amusing. I know some mosques have prayer caps for people to wear duing prayer. But artificial beard is quite novel. :smiley:

:hehe: :maulvidis :hehe:

It’s MASJID, not mosque. Please use the correct term and not the one given by Western scholars demeaning masjids from the Dark Ages. Thank you.

*Originally posted by sweetpie: *

It's MASJID, not mosque. Please use the correct term and not the one given by Western scholars demeaning masjids from the Dark Ages. Thank you.

oh sweetie, both terms are fine Mosque or Masjid, please do some history reading. The first Mosque built in Europe was named Mosque by our Muslim ruler, this term was not coined by crusaders as it has been lately rumored.

^ show me proof. give me a link. let's take a look. i don't think your information is correct.

u know what they say "The God during the month of Ramadan is also God during the other months"....

they have a point..

Acha ji :slight_smile: I will call masjid instead of mosque from now on, regardless of my own Perception. Because it does not matter what you call it, it will remain house of allah.

We muslim need harmony on these non-issues, instead of starting a debate on it. :flower2:

well ppl who dont pray normally start prayin in ramadan dont they? does tht look silly? not really..

Soo What? if a girl starts wearin a hijab in ramadan or only wears it during ramadan, personally i think theres nothing wrong with it, she is only tryin to show some respect and hopefully she will get sawab for it unlike the girls who are "waiting" for the right time to come..

as far as i am concerned i dont cover my head whether its ramadan or no ramadan..

but guess what :-D my resolution for this ramadan is to start wearin hijab and inshAllah i'll continue wearin it.

salam

First of all id like to congratulate sharara on her resolution, may allah give you taufeek to continue with hijaab for the rest of your life. :mash:

Nandulala.
I think that if youre going to do hijab it should be for ever. Hijab is all about protecting your aura from others and whats the point of doing that for a few weeks only. I does seem a bit pointless, but thats up to them who do it.

:wave:

Link 1

Link 2

Link 3

Link 4

Link 5

Need more?