Codie payi, you are right, I am thankful to Allah for that.
However, I am not exaggerating. I knew they are trying to scare me and make money off of me becuase when the searched me, I had pennies, dimes, and quarters in my pocket. Obviously I wasn’t wearing “american clothes” and carrying Pakistani Sikkey. They knew that because they also saw the suitcases in the trunk. They asked me where I was coming from and I said from another city. Technically I didn’t lie, but I did. That’s why they tried to scare me because the way I was dressed, they knew I am a foreigner, even though I was speaking punjabi to them (or it could’ve been urdu, don’t remember).
Why did I give them a red bill? I didn’t have a choice. It’s not like I chose to do it so I could get out of it. They asked for it. Otherwise, “Janab aapko hamarey saath thaaney jaana parey gaa”. I was dead tired after flying for almost 24 hours, going to the police station was the last thing I wanted to do. I said the hell with it, lets just do what they are asking us to do and get going.
Again, you are right. It could’ve been the robbers but it hurts more when the protectors loot you. If robbers robbed me, I would’ve understood because that’s what they do. It would’ve been no surprise, but cops doing this? Kher, you are right, you and I enjoyed the chicken tikka pizza in the pizza hut and I made it back to US safe and sound :k:
I cannot understand why anyone in their right frame of mind would want to come back to pakistan. My parents made that mistake 3 years ago and dragged me along with them. I was born and raised in saudi arabia and now Im stuck in paki. This place is messed up beyond belief, sure I can accept the fact that we are a poor backward country but its the society and people that really untolerable. My advice to anyone is not to judge life in pak by your vacations trust me, when you start living here its a whole different story. Unless you're filthy rich in pak and have heavy contacts then theres nothing like it.
I dunno whats funny about "cher"ing larkiyan..
Pretty dresses that ill never get
my mom will not leave lahore, farthest she went was Kasur, so no travelling for us
shopping ka bhi itna maza nahi rahgaya..
neva spent ramadan there.. bari eid was pretty fun
As an issue of principle I would not give them anything even if the took me to the thaney. If everyone had the same attitude then there would not be any corruption, because they would be wasting their own time.
I think a lot of times people are not so worried about their own safety or prosperity but that of others. I know people who have been kidnapped and their lives threatened. But they broke when the jerks threatened their families, wives, children, parents, siblings, etc. What do you do then?
dhuh sarah how many warnings do you need and from how many ppl...yaar trust your daddy he is older n wiser n im 110% sure he knows what he is talking about.
By the way even if someone pays me a million bucks i wouldnt venture out to pakistan to live...to visit yes but to live never ever ever never. id be nuts, why would i leave behind a peaceful world for a place like karachi or lahore...thx but no thx i shall die here peacefully.
heart is where the home is.
in ur case, just like in many Pakistani youth's case - we are divided - we have what my Turkish Professor calls in his identity research in Muslim youth, "hyphenated" selves and we lead our lives as such.
i say, good and bad is every where.
u have to study, and earn a decent living every where.
if u were not born in America or whereever u are, and u were born in Pakistan,
only Pakistan is ur country - really.
u are in the adopted country, to make good impression, genuine friends, learn good things, leave good vibes behind u and then move back.
Or u can live half year back home, half yr here.
be creative and know that u should have a core set of parameters regarding why and where ur affinity lies (is laid).
i have heard in canada amreeka they gave khalii body like taking out heart ,lungs blah blah and evry body get post matamered{ufff to spellings}even if the cause of death is natural:hmmm:
Someone should make a reality show of overseas pakistanis returning to pakistan and the crap they have to go through. Only one problem though, wherever the cameras go, the whole neighbourhood would swarm around like zombies hehehe
The level of innocence expressed here is amazing ...
ok seriously ..
sara_87 can you tell us what do you know about pakistan ?
There is no excuse to remain ignorant of one's country of origin. Even if you do not live there. There are loads of young Pakistani expatiates on this website, but they know a hell lot more about pakistan than avg Pakistani. :) Mad_Scientist is one prime example, he may never have lived in pakistan, but he knows manyfolds more than an avg Pakistani living in Pakistan
heart is where the home is.
in ur case, just like in many Pakistani youth's case - we are divided - we have what my Turkish Professor calls in his identity research in Muslim youth, "hyphenated" selves and we lead our lives as such.
i say, good and bad is every where.
u have to study, and earn a decent living every where.
if u were not born in America or whereever u are, and u were born in Pakistan,
only Pakistan is ur country - really.
u are in the adopted country, to make good impression, genuine friends, learn good things, leave good vibes behind u and then move back.
Or u can live half year back home, half yr here.
be creative and know that u should have a core set of parameters regarding why and where ur affinity lies (is laid).
best,
^ good advice
It is not a good practice to bad mouth one's country of origin, who know what happens tomorow ...