Re: How many kids?
My mom had two kids, and I don't know how she was able to take care of us. I don't think i'll ever be half as good a woman as she is
mujhe tau bas 2 chahiye bai... I mean adopted or of my own.
^ Ohhh yeah , i'd love to adopt, wehther I have my own kids or not, I thnk adoption is a wonderful thing. i said this to my cousin in Pakistan and she said "Allah raham karay!!"
"Allah raham karay"?? LOL
Someone told me that I would have 4 kids and I'd shouted, "FOUR?!?!?!?!???" Then he said, "You would be attached to four kids. They could be your own or someone else's." I think two would be my sister's :D
as for today's girls being weak n all ....yeah i agree .....i am still amazed how my mother could handle all of us .....while i can't even think of it
Why is today's woman weak?
YEAH “Allah raham karay” coz adoption , im guessing, is used only as a last resort if u can’t have kids of your own. Ive heard of a stigma being attached to it, “ghar kay bacchay” or some BS like that ![]()
Oh I dont care about what people think of what I wanna do. Really, I go ahead and do something which I want to. Not bothered by people's opinion.
PCG - Maybe cz of double pressure of being a career woman and the "natural" woman, they lose health. Maybe, that's why. Just my opinion.
Mostly coz of our lifestyle …
most of the girls deprive themselves of good food only to look skinny …
i know n i’m aware of health risks in case a person is obese …but staying fit shouldn’t mean eating less …it should be eating healthy
i’m horribly skinny …n am always misjudged as if i’m on a diet or so …n keep getting lectures
but i’m happy coz i eat healthy n to be honest i eat a lot …otherwise i won’t be able to run after 3 kids all day long
my hubby is a bit overweight …n i never allow him top go on diet etc,…don’;t deprive yourself by eating less …just do exercise to burn the calories
most of the girls i notice …will eat a chocolate …n deprive themself of all the healthy proper food for whole day …coz apparently chocolate had so n so many calories
besides, in my opinion …everything is at its best without any chemical processing …we r eating a lot of these things n don’t find ourselves healthy
^ Afia, in this day and age 3 by your mid-20s is a lot.
It is quite sad. I think back in the day extended families allowed pregnant women to be well looked after and desi remedies like ghee for pregnant women would be unheard of today.
Larki that's an interesting article, thanks, makes sense that stress causes infertility.
A banned guppy sent me his 2 cents as well, interesting way to reply to a thread without access :D I should post his comments here.
chocolate? I know ![]()
Tacos too.
If your grandparents are alive, ask them when they had their first child.
In the olden days, people started conjugal lives early, much much earlier than today. My maternal grandmother had her first child when she was 15! She had a total of 10 kids! She is still alive and in her late 80s (I think). .
The olden days were tough for pregnant women and infants. In the absense of stats you and I can’t be certain how many survived and how many died. You think pre/post natal care was better in those days? I doubt it! You think infant mortality rates were better than what they are today? I don’t think so! It was not their diet, or the medical science of the era that resulted in healthier children or easy pregnancies but it had a lot to do with people staring making babies in their teenage years.
As regards yearning for the days of yore, we only hear the good things and happy memories from our elders. We hear about natural and unadultrated foods and food stuff, what we don’t hear about are the sanitation problems of those days, we don’t hear about medical malpractise that had had killed many people including infants.
I agree that joint family systems did provided a cushion to young people starting families. But I also know of examples, from family elders, where young couple ventured by themselves without any support. Modern soceity unnecessarily prolongs the adolescence of the youth.
^ wah kya post hai! I give you 10/10 for effort and 8 for content. ;)
Quite valid your argument, but our parents came out quite healthy didn't they. My nani also got married at 15. MashAllah yours is still living, you must have good genes in the family!
bachay chaar hi achaay... :D 2 kuriaan .. tay 2 munday... doesn't matter if i have to give up my career and work in a dead end job.. inshaAllah it will be great..
Those who made it yes (you’d have to be “healthy” considering the sanitation and medicines of the time). Like I wrote, medicial science wasn’t very advanced and many infants and children died. My grand mother lost two.
Life expectancy rates in the West are rising. I wonder if life expectancy rates have always been high in the East or Asia (or were they high in the early 20th. century but started to decline in the later years – things that make you go hmmm). I know Japanese, traditionally, have enjoyed a very high life expectancy. Is that true of the sub-continet? From my family, I know it’s pretty high – we had a centenarian or two in the family.
catto.....desi ghee etc. is not unheard of even now .....i still eat it ....n eat all the other stuff too .....but my kids manage to burn not only the desi ghee i eat ....but everything else too!!
have some kids like mine n u will never go past 48 kg...!!
LI has some valid points ....yes we have improved a lot in terms of care ....sanitation ....n basic health
but at the same time ....we have managed to take a lethargic lifestyle as compared to our elders .....
comeon ....they had all that heavy stuff like ghee etc. n we r kicking the oil out ....???
coz they used to mop their floors ....grind in hand mills ....n many more tasks involving the physical activity
we take a snickers ...... r glued in front of computr ...n keep making resolutions about going to gym :D
Lack of ‘Sil-Batta’ and too much reliance on ‘Kenwood’ ![]()
LI, life expectancy may be on the rise in the west and east, but people are having fewer children, even in countries like Japan. Women are not keen to marry young and are less-inclined to have children. I think this indicates how the modern woman is more about herself, and is more selfish.
However, as Afia has pointed out even though she’s not working 3 kids are a handful. Afia 48kg?
I weight like 12 kg more than you ![]()
unemployed youth of the future
I know of several couples who decided not to have children.
They are cute for five or so years, and then they are a liability.
The last thing the planet needs is more consumers.
We, animal-poaching, river-polluting, gun-carrying, machine-dependant, killing for religion, war mongering humans are the scum of the earth.
^ and noone would know it better than you World Citizen. :)
No doubt many people have children for selfish purposes, but I have a great amount of respect for parents. They give up their lives for their children, and its the offspring that turn out to be selfish ingrates until they become parents themselves.
Are you a signatory of 'no kidding'?