I was just wondering, how many desis ( Pakistani/Indians) live in your community? By community I mean your city or country..
In Denmark we got app. 25.000 Pakistanis and 8.000 Indians. How about you?
13 crores plus :D
Who says nothing is impossible? I've been doing nothing all my life!
Khan ji :D I meant Desis living abroad. OK?!
well in england i know there are too many to mention
Nothing in this world has put so many men on their feet as the alarm clock
RizwanFareed Yara. this is supposed to be a serious post. In the UK there´s about 1.5 Mio. Indians and around 1 mio. Pakistanis?!?..Correct me if I´m wrong..
In my community new orleans,lousiana.There are like 50 pakistani AND 100 indians.
Ramis to be exact there are 1.2 million Indians in the UK, 0.8 million Pakistani's, 0.3 million Bangldeshi's and 0.2 million Sri Lankan's - thats a total of 2.5 million Desi's/South Asians in the UK.
I think that is probably the largest Desi community (in one country that is) in the world outside South Asia?
Malik you+ve always been my man!, thanks bro :)
Btw. I dont know if the South Asian communities in the Middle East and Africa are larger than the one in the UK, but surely the UK is a major Desiland :)
Time flies you cannot
Ramis I can get figures for Desi's in the Gulf from contact's there but only Saudi has a comaparable figure of Desi's - I 'll find out for you. :)
Malik I Look forward to that!.. :)
Here are some more figures..
Norway Around 25-30.000 Pakistani and a few thousand Indians
France 30.000-50.000 South Asians. A great number of them are illegal immigrants.
Sweden 10-15.000 South Asians.
Maybe Gizzy, Umer, and CM could give us the figures for their respective countries ( Netherlands, Austria, and Switzerland )?
[This message has been edited by Ramis (edited November 18, 2000).]
Interesting Ramis but I think the figures for France maybe more than double the one you quoted, but I;lll dig further and find out.
Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany all have substantial (maily illegal) Desi communities....
Malik At second thought maybe you are right? When I was in France, I was told that in there were around 25.000 Pakistanis in Paris alone. So I just added a few thousand more to that figure :)
In the U.S.A there are approx 1.5 M Pakistanis.
As far as the gulf, 80% of UAEs population is Indian/Pakistani/Bengali.
Na Hota mein, Tu Kya Hota
100 pakistanis altogether during the usual school year.
When univ is out, all the kids go back to their hometowns abroad -- so like, barely 30 Pakistanis left in my community..
oii yara
i was serious
im always serious
Nothing in this world has put so many men on their feet as the alarm clock
Oh man.....I mean itz Desi Central here....seriously..I think there are about over 70 000 (correct me if I'm wrong) in the GTA alone---Greater Toronto Area
Here in Austria we don't have many Desis. My wild guess is:
2000 Pakistanis
5000 Indians
???? Bangladeshi/Sri Lankan/...
Total population of Austria: 7.5 million
Umer, the Pakistani Brain of Austria
The world is full of morons and God decided to send desies...God has a sense of humour for sure...;-)
Interesting stats though, I didn't know we have so many desies here in Toronto.
ciao
BoSS
pakistanis in my are very few mostly families i think around 30
indians i really don't know about them coz have seen a few in the mall
[This message has been edited by nick (edited November 18, 2000).]
Dunno the exact number, but it's a hugeee desi world out here in heart of the South. And #s are increasing with every passing second.