How long does it take an average FOB/Freshie to...

become normal?? Like say…become an un-fob or unfreshe??

Re: How long does it take an average FOB/Freshie to...

come again?

aik hazaar 1000 saal. long time nomika

this reminds me.. i was eating a samosa sitting at the desi store, when this middle-aged desi couple had got their white friends along to eat too. and the woman was explaining to them how some indians are dark, especially south indians, but others like her look "spanish". and how a lot of indians have "exxents", but they are british college educated so they don't have one. i was so itching to tell them something... sigh sigh sigh.. :\

I meant......how long does it take them to lose the typical freshie/fob traits and habits...

Re: How long does it take an average FOB/Freshie to…

dont know ..it’s been 5 months and I think I would still qualify as a FOB/freshie ! not sure though :hmmm:

At a dinner last week at least two people commented on how easily have I fit in amongst them..and it doesn’t look that I have just came from Pakistan :hehe: When I asked how come they said ‘but you know English..and you are kind of fluent too which Pakistanis usually aren’t!’

I said I don’t know the ‘taat school’ I came from only taught in Punjabi and Pashto. I think am too cool :stuck_out_tongue: Unko joke nai samajh aya :frowning:

I think I got a little offended :stuck_out_tongue: lol kidding

Differs from person to person. Like some are born geniuses , some are fast learners and some have learning disabilities. Some are born with it (unfobiness) for example someone coming from a burger family but some never lose that fobiness and some get normalized in few months , years.

It depends on their age. The older they are at the time of migration, the harder it is for them to change their ways/accents etc.,

About the same time it takes for FOB/FOP to hit local bar/pub.

Usually, they stay FOBS or Freshies...its a lifelong thing.

But then again...I am not sure if FOB or Freshie is something you'd want to get rid of.

Can you be any more desi :omg:

Depends on how much they mingle with un-fobby people.
(I know my post says nothing important, I just really want to see what my new sig looks like :D )

It looks awesome.

^^ ji ji - Bohat changee Chaval Maar Lende ho tusi :)

But does a FOB or a freshie need to change?

You know this reminds me of someone I met this week. It was a dinner party at one of our rishtaydaar. The wife, smart, educated (average looking though), she was trying so hard to be an American. She lives in a nice house in a pure gora town and wanted nothing to do with desis. Said she absolutely hated going to desi places to eat and when living in NY she only loved Manhattan. I was like Okaaaaaaaaaaaaay! She's been here in the US for just few years. So really, is this cool or someone who would carry themselves with grace and enjoy being from where they are. I think you earn more respect if you don't try hard to be an American when you are not. I know Pakistanis who are born raised here and umm and have all the fob qualities. I don't think there is a need to change. Yes you can also adopt their culture when you are with them, but don't forget where you are from! This aunty ji kept dissing desi places, oh they are so dirty. I wanted to tell her.. Pakistan bohat saaf hai jo yahan aa ke aap ne nakhray shuru kar dieay...

5 years

With adults, its almost impossible. They in fact become wannabe, trying too hard, show off types. They think they're being cool but you can easily tell they're still the same old fobs who are even more confused now.

No.. gawping at every girl who walks past is perfectly reasonable..