Re: How long after marriage did you have your 1st child?
^lolz i feel so embarrassed to tell my friends n relatives about my due date....
i didnt get periods after marriage so the first day of my last period was before marriage...
^lolz i feel so embarrassed to tell my friends n relatives about my due date....
i didnt get periods after marriage so the first day of my last period was before marriage...
i am due next month iA so thats total of 3 years and during those two years i was asked in every single gathering (shadi, eids etc.) when will i become a mother.
Quite a variance here
Those who took 5-7 years, was there any particular reason that lead to it? I am sure its personal but maybe something useful for those who may want to conceive earlier.
I had my first son after 10 months of marriage .. we had no plans to have it early or late ..
Paheli i got pregnant at 6 month after the wedding...didn't have my kid til 13 months after the wedding.
its wasn't bad at all. His family (in pakistan) was super excited and had been pushing for us to get pregnant anyways. My family here in Houston, was a little shocked. I have three brothers and no sister...and all three of them were making fun of me for getting pregnant so quickly. My little one is the first baby of the family (both side,) so its a learning experience for us kids.
Wow....7 years to 6 months....quite a range! I was very curious about this since this has been on my mind a lot lately.
Rabia: lol...wow! Out of sheer curiosity since this is not something I personally hear about often.....did you have to deal with any "drama" due to the timing? Or was everyone happy and too caught up with the baby?
after 20days of marriage i found out that i'm 1month pregnant.... it was a surprise as we wanted to conceive after 2yrz of marriage lol it'll be 8 or 8.5months of our marriage when our baby will arrive inshaAllah
Really?
Paheli i got pregnant at 6 month after the wedding...didn't have my kid til 13 months after the wedding. its wasn't bad at all. His family (in pakistan) was super excited and had been pushing for us to get pregnant anyways. My family here in Houston, was a little shocked. I have three brothers and no sister...and all three of them were making fun of me for getting pregnant so quickly. My little one is the first baby of the family (both side,) so its a learning experience for us kids.
I think you've confused everyone here with your first reply saying "6 months" .. because everyone else answered according to when the child was born and not conceived .. hence I think Paheli asked the question about family as we thought your child was born 6 months after the wedding either pre-mature or you were pregnant before ..
Edit: I see you corrected it .. nevermind :)
^lolz i feel so embarrassed to tell my friends n relatives about my due date.... i didnt get periods after marriage so the first day of my last period was before marriage...
There is nothing to be ashamed of. I just think it comes off a bit wrong when you say you were 1 month pregnant at 20 days, because most desi people dont remember that the pregnancy is counted from your last period and not the conceiving day. More appropriate way would be to say you got pregnant the first day :)
Ps. Most probably your child will be born after the due date anyway. I know someone who was married at the 9th july and had her baby on 9th april .. Talk about punctuality ;)
Quite a variance here
Those who took 5-7 years, was there any particular reason that lead to it? I am sure its personal but maybe something useful for those who may want to conceive earlier.
I had many problems/fertility issues conceiving. I've detailed our long journey to parenthood in the fertility issues sticky in this forum ;). We always knew we would wait till our 2nd anniversary before we would start a family, however, never anticipated that it would take us 3 years of "trying"....and now, Mashallah, we have 3 beautiful, healthy boys!
We had planned to delay having children for a while and I had my little one after 3 years of marriage.
found out we were pregnant on our 2nd anniversary....baby came 2 years 8 months into the marriage
I want to wait but SO doesn’t.. He will prob get his way :hinna:
Did anyone change their mind from before the marriage to after? For example: Let's say you always thought you'd have kids 3-4 years after marriage....but once married....you wanted children immediately (or within a few months).
Well we kind of wanted kids right away, this was before we started living together.
However after we got married and she moved in with me, we both realized that we just wanted some time to be a couple and to go on vacations and stuff, relax etc..she wanted to focus on finishing her studies etc..
To be honest I don't want kids for a few more years, it's she who seems to bring it up sometimes. I'm just so comfortable with our life, plus having a kid is a lot of work and I'm lazy.
I want to get a nice cat though, but she's kind of allergic to them :/
Thanks everyone....keep the responses coming! :)
Rabia: Thanks for answering my q! :) And yes...as explained by sweetmoi, due to the initial wording....I thought the baby was born 6 months after the marriage! My apologies... :)
Deeba: Why do you say that? Since you'll be the one getting pregnant, giving birth...and afterward doing majority of the childcare for the newborn (I imagine)....shouldn't you get to have a greater say? :) I kinda wish I had your "problem"....mine's the opposite.
To those of you who waited 3 years or more to have children....would you mind sharing how old you were when you got married? (If you're not comfy stating the exact age...a range (early, mid, or late 20's etc) will work too.
I was 23 when I got married...had my first son at 28, had the twins about 6 months before I turned 30...
^lolz i feel so embarrassed to tell my friends n relatives about my due date.... i didnt get periods after marriage so the first day of my last period was before marriage...
lol! sorry thats kind of funny. i can imagine the looks on peoples faces as they do the math. d'oh!
i agree with sweetmoi, just tell people you conceived the first night and avoid the weirdness.
i was 28 when i got married, 31 when i conceived, 32 when he was born.
9 years
Just had my 2nd anniversary and people are already driving me crazy with questions (more of suggestions) like “abb khush khabri suna do”, “why are you guys not trying for a baby” urghhhhhhhh…abb kia btaon inko main ![]()
you owe them nothing more then a mysterious smile! ![]()
or how about you turn the question around and ask when their next one is coming?? and if not why not? ![]()