Re: How Dubai treats its workers
Where's Nosherwan and all the Gulf Arab lovers to comment on this? They always talk about how Arabs are our brothers yet they see no problem with being seen as menial workers.
Lets not all be so very quick to come down on Dubai and "arab countries" specifically. Make sure things are very right in your own backyard before casting stones!!
Its a sad and sorry situation for sure. Yet, Dubai is not on the top of the list when it comes to human rights violations and treatment of workers and the poor.
I am not a child of some Sheikh or my father ever owned an oil rig. I spent some time of my life also living with labourers.
Here are few examples how it goes and I have seen it "myself". Below are just few facts that are not from 1972 but from 2004 the last updates I saw myself.
Reality(with facts):
Labourers are paid around avg 1200 AED in a GOVT department and in private sector its less (~600AED) or even no payment (They have reason for not paying, long story yet valid)
Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (I met him myself while he was cursing in his Mercedes G-Class) and his CO, use to come there and they set up a private track for horse race.. That is actually a road used to go to different location and was totally stoney.. untill he ordered to make it level for horse practice.
Horses on that track were showered with mineral water, where as labourers living at site location were and are being offered water that is so called refined under earth, and were supplied to them on a rusted water tanker. I have drank that water too. That rusted water is and was used by labourers to drink and for other usage. (These are example nothing big so far I guess)
In an area that is more remote there, a car take them to the city on the twice a month on weekend (Friday) to buy their food stuff.. they buy stuff and food and then store it in deep freeze to be used later on (They have to eat it to survive even if its rotten). They are offered less facilities and wadges than a person living right in the city or near to city are working in the same labour level. Why so because that person is arabic and the other is pakistani/bangladeshi/indian etc.
There are Diesel Generators even though an electric high voltage supply i passing by them further to some shiekh palace but they are not offered it. (Sometimes there isnt Diesel Supply on right time and so a blackout)
Now for a person who earn AED 1200 ( GOVT Depart ) he has to pay yearly health insurance, his feeding, traveling and some other new governmental charges that they has to bear at their own.. also some times paying rent of their room.
There like more than 200 different kind of workers level who CAN NOT apply for any kind of driving license in whole UAE. (They say the reason is to less the traffic in the country) BUT on other side its like closing the opportunity for low paid workers.
You can not work on more than one place at a time. If you got job in another location and you want transfer the other company will offer you low as the other company has to take over some kind of transfer amount which is "I think" more than 3000 AED. I will ask it again to confirm if you want to. So in this case mostly labourers cancel the visa and then the company apply for that person in the visa office (foreign office) and it takes like a month to get that visa validated for the company) and then you have to get out of the country and in back again as to be a fresh arrival on the new visa.
The good thing about UAE:
You have money you can own anything.
If you are working with a multinational company then you MAY have some relaxation.
Summary: Even they are Muslims but there is nothing like Islamic brotherhood and humanity in them except praying on time.. that is vanishing too.
PS: I have talked about Govt department that I have observed myself, although I myself wasnt a labourer but a son of Pakistani Engineer who did a lot for UAE but even bearing the most wanted person in the department, he wasnt granted ANY kind of promotion for 20 years. The reason was he was a Pakistani. (was: my father resigned)
In Private Sector that is owned by a local, its like hell on earth!! If you want me to explain it I still have few facts that I saw while living there. Either its Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah or any other state... all are same.
they know it from long ago but they are just putting it on media as they think that there isnt any juice left in dubai to suck after recent financial news.
Lets not all be so very quick to come down on Dubai and "arab countries" specifically. Make sure things are very right in your own backyard before casting stones!!
Its a sad and sorry situation for sure. Yet, Dubai is not on the top of the list when it comes to human rights violations and treatment of workers and the poor.
Mo3 I hope you said that just to throw in a different perspective, and that you didn't actually mean that. Arabs are the modern day slave owners, if you know how many incidents go unreported, and the kind of media and publicity control they have for the 'protection of national interest', you'd be surprised/shocked.
aaho - excellent analysis mate :k:
Allam Iqbal ne yunhi tu nahi kaha tha,
Ye Muslman hain jinhin daikh ke sharmain Yahud!
Aur Pakistani bhi lag liy os shaikh Chili numa Usama Bin Ladin ke peechy:smack:
I was thinking how come a person hiding himself can get that much clear view of this pitai and chitai than:rotfl: Realized Shaikh sahab hukam de rahy hain saf saf bana khud recording directions de de ker kerwa rahy hain apny karnamey ki
Yar itny by waquf
Arabon ne ty had ker:omg:
The laborers are brought in on visas arranged by contractors/agencies, which, for the most part, are run by Pakistanis/Indians. They are given labor contracts by companies, assigning them certain tasks (build a building, road etc), and then these agencies go on to bring in laborers from Indo-pak subcontinent enmasse, with promises of a better future, whereas all they have in hand is one contract. These agencies are responsible for the housing/food/transport of these laborers.
Primarily, its these agents who wrong these people, not the sheikhs. The agents get X amount of dirhams per worker, and they they keep a big percentage out of that for themselves, and give the remainder to the laborer. Sometimes they keep it all, and run away, and the worker gets nothing. Thats how the blame game starts.
We have seen a few videos of arabs beating people, and while they can be true, there is no proof as such, and they could just as easily have been faked.
UAE has a lot of nuisances, true....however, most of the visa restrictions(bans etc) are designed to protect both employer and employee. A lot of the laborers get hurt because of getting cheated by their own kind, not arabs or sheikhs.
They conveniently forget whatever biggest, tallest, largest, grandest, fattest kachra they're building is with the khoon paseena of these Bangladeshi, Pakistani, Indian labourers.
Kin
The laborers are brought in on visas arranged by contractors/agencies, which, for the most part, are run by Pakistanis/Indians. They are given labor contracts by companies, assigning them certain tasks (build a building, road etc), and then these agencies go on to bring in laborers from Indo-pak subcontinent enmasse, with promises of a better future, whereas all they have in hand is one contract. These agencies are responsible for the housing/food/transport of these laborers. Primarily, its these agents who wrong these people, not the sheikhs. The agents get X amount of dirhams per worker, and they they keep a big percentage out of that for themselves, and give the remainder to the laborer. Sometimes they keep it all, and run away, and the worker gets nothing. Thats how the blame game starts.
We have seen a few videos of arabs beating people, and while they can be true, there is no proof as such, and they could just as easily have been faked.
UAE has a lot of nuisances, true....however, most of the visa restrictions(bans etc) are designed to protect both employer and employee. A lot of the laborers get hurt because of getting cheated by their own kind, not arabs or sheikhs.
Dont make me start again!! Kindly Read what I wrote in my a summarized info about the situation on my previous Reply. I just talked about governmental department that I know myself. If you want to know the internal reality of private sector do let me know I will get you half of UAE on your door step who are seeking their right and are not offered by a LOCAL person and not a desi. Oh and remember by writing beautiful words for UAE doesnt make you eligible for immigration as they never allow any foreigner to be labeled as "Mawatin" under the thinking that they have to share their properties, finances and have to value you as same as they are, which they never want to.
They conveniently forget whatever biggest, tallest, largest, grandest, fattest kachra they're building is with the khoon paseena of these Bangladeshi, Pakistani, Indian labourers.
And after that, they arent even paid, sometimes not even for a whole YEAR.
I agree they pay very very low to these workers... i feel sad for them. But then again these guys cannot even earn this much back in their homes.. such a tragedy :(
People go to middle east with their own free will. Nobody forced them to go and work there. If you stop flocking there in herds, free markets would ensure better conditions for those already working in middle east.
^^ nobody even force you to write here but u did because you like to write (Dont take it wrong buddy just an example)
Same is with them who went there... They wanted or want to earn more so they went there and later on the desi family keeping them away in a sense " bachey kuch nahi hota pardes to pardes hai, yahan (Pakistan) main kuch nahi rakha" so that poor guy keep on working and working even though he isnt paid.
^ So the folks in Pakistan are stupid. You father is an educated person and stayed there for 20 years. It is a long enough time to realize what is going on but still he stayed on. When you make a CHOICE of living there in those conditions, why crib about it?
We are a nation of ever-complaining grumbles. We complain about the country that educates us and about the country that feeds us and DO NOTHING about improving the situation in either.
wow - Dubai sounds like a great place to send your mother in law on a Job visa ![]()
But hey, life there is so much better as a Muslim than in Amreeka or the UK. ![]()
It’s amusing how people on here are willing to complain about the life in the West yet they turn a blind eye to the life as a menial worker in the Persian Gulf. I guess the Gulf Arab worship among Pakistanis is widespread these days.
sad
Kin
Dont make me start again!! Kindly Read what I wrote in my a summarized info about the situation on my previous Reply. I just talked about governmental department that I know myself. If you want to know the internal reality of private sector do let me know I will get you half of UAE on your door step who are seeking their right and are not offered by a LOCAL person and not a desi. Oh and remember by writing beautiful words for UAE doesnt make you eligible for immigration as they never allow any foreigner to be labeled as "Mawatin" under the thinking that they have to share their properties, finances and have to value you as same as they are, which they never want to.
There is hardly any private sector company that is 100% owned by a local. Most such companies are partnerships between locals and foreigners, where the local gets a predefined share, and the foreigner operates the company.
The issue being discussed here is of laborers. No Emirati local goes into Pakistan/India and advertises in their papers for their need for a workforce. They hire desi employment agencies to bring in eg 500 laborers for them, and they agree to pay the agency 2500 or 3000 pm per laborer. The agency, which in almost all cases is desi owned, eats up 1500-2000 out of that, and gives the remainder to the laborer.
PS. Neither am I looking for, nor do I want UAE citizenship. Im very happy with a 3 year visa. Instead of simply badmouthing arabs or emiratis, it would be good to go to Pakistan and look at the advertisements carried out in papers for jobs in the UAE. See what those agents promise, and see what they deliver. Agents kay qaul-o-fa'el mein tazaad ho to iss mein sheikhon ka kya qasoor.