How driven are you in your career?

How driven are you in your life career wise? What are your career related goals in life, if you have any solid ones that is?

What are the reasons behind your motivation? How much of your motivation is the result of others’ expectations and how much is your own personal drive?

Do you view complacency as an obstacle to advancement and an excuse for laziness?

Guys and girls equally welcome to reply, but hope some girls will share their views too :slight_smile:

I just graduated. in feb. I,ve always been told,,, and i kinda know it myself too... that i,m very very talented. But i,m very lazy. and not hardworking at all :(
My field is IT. But i totally hate it. And i have no freaking idea how and what am i going to do. I know for sure that whatever i wanna do, if i want to do it, I can easily be above average without even putting any effort, but i,m so lazy. I graduated six months ago. and i have not applied for one single job. The reason, too lazy,, and i,m always thinking,, hay i dont even know much about this IT anyway, whos gonna hire me? so i dont even try. and i get these weird ideas coming to me all of a sudden.
I know u all would probably laugh at me, but I,m actually thinking of giving everything up and do what i always wanted to do. ok... hold ur laughter......
I,m thinking of becoming a professional golfer. I,m not joking. Thats what i,m thinking about 24/7 these days... cos i,ve always felt... interest in ur career is a must to succeed. I wanna do somethinbg that interests me. and mind u,, i do think i,ve got what it takes,,,, i,m just worried that if i tell this to my parents, they,ll probably put me in a mental institute :(

oh well,,, i know i,m still a kid.

awwww :frowning:

its ok kaka ji :flower1:

i’m a lot like u…seriously…a lot of stuff u wrote there is like the story of my life :-/

i used to be very hard working til my O levels, not because i wanted to excel career wise but because i used to love my studies, especialy biology was my life, and i loved the feeling of getting good grades, i got 9 A’s in my O levels…and everyone thought from then on that i was gonna conquer the world or somfin…but i never thought i was doing it to build up a career, i just liked doing well in school but i always thought i was gona be a house wife lol…

i was gona be a doctor but then i got a full scholarship to the top school in america for my undergrad so i came here and did computer science…

and since childhood i used to hate engineering and never thought i would become one myself…and look at me now…an engineer!!!

so i majored in computer science too but i hate it too handshake :smiley: don’t worry there r tons of ppl like us trust me :smiley:

i’m the queen of laziness as well…but i am seriously trying to improve my worth ethic…u should too…slowly…its possibe :slight_smile: just cuz in islam it is haram to waste time…

You know what, you should just apply for jobs, dont think you don’t know anything, I think that too, but don’t think that…coz u have your degree…and believe me you’ll be able to do it if you have to…just start working somewhere otherwise laziness is going to set in further and you will rust away…don’t let it happen…u’ve still got the reigns of life in ur hands n nothing is lost at all yet… :slight_smile: maybe u need someone to motivate u…its tough just motivating urself, living away from ur family…

the golf idea is totally fine…just do it in the evenings innit…and on the weekends…and if u become good enough then drop everything…u know Tiger Woods actually went to my school in the us, he;s an alumnus of Stanford…and its a tough school…but look at him now, he;s a golf player, so its possible…if u believe in it urself…

is it gona be a prob in pak? or r u going to settle abroad? do we have professional golf in pak?

i felt a total slide in my motivation plus i was tired of amreeka so i am now moving to pakistan this month, wil aply to masters from there inshallah…

so khayr, apply for jobs and dont worry, u’re just fine…congrats on ur degree :flower2: that in itself is a big achievement mashallah :k:

i am the laziest of u all i havent done anythign for 3 months not even go out with friends … so trust me i am the king :blush:

one thing i have to say is that in a way i have always had an idea o wat i wanted to do because for me it would be strange infact i woudl be lost if i didnt have any goals and i thin ksince grade 8 i wanted to be an accountant or at least have somethign to do with it so here i am going to start accounting in oct :stuck_out_tongue:

wat drives me is that i just want to be successful and for that to be proven it means to earn loads . but slowley i am starting to realise eanring lods doesnt mean i am successful or makes me a better person … but thats how the society measures one or else they forget u and u r a failure . the other thinkg that drives me is the want to please others (family) and to not let my family feel the need for anything at all i want to be so successful that if my bros want a sports car i can give it to them with out even thinking :stuck_out_tongue: . (yes yes money isnt everything). we can all dream u know :stuck_out_tongue:

:slight_smile: cutoo :kiss:

hey go easy and u o me a pm :mad:

:hehe: now that’s even cuter :kiss:

waleedo kakay sorry been too lazy to write PM’s :frowning: will reply soon :stuck_out_tongue:

:salam: ,
I am kinda new here, dont post a whole lot. And just saw this post today after being gone for a few days.
Well, good topic irem, I used to be very hard working until FSc (from Muscat, Oman) and then went to UET for a year. For Comp Sc. New place, new environment, etc. Didnt do very good but had a good time. Then moved to US. Currrently I have a full time job with the Us Govt., and I am going to school full time at SD School of Mines and Tech., ALhamdulillah. Applied Mathematics is my major and I like the field a lot but I am scared that I wont be good at it. Sometimes I jsut dont see the obvious. Its especially hard working full time and studying at the same time(I am sure i m not the only one to do so though). This semester I am taking all Math courses and also have to do undergraduate research. But I am scared to death that I wont do as good as everyone else. I know I have a big self-esteem problem. So if anyone has any suggestions and encouragements, I would really appreciate that. Irem, your posts along with others are really encouraging and JazakaAllahu khairan for the posts you post here :biggthumb

:wsalam:

kaka plz man try golfing..these guys here play a weekend of golf and even if someone finishes 20th..they collect a $20 k check..i mean there is tons of money..u dont have to be a tiger woods...just try it..if u succeed ur parents will be happy for u..let me know how it goes

irem, i am extremely goal-oriented and i have solid goals in my professional and personal life as well. professionally, i want to at least ‘attempt’ to build a hotel empire (insh’allah) after i get my mba which i will have next may. i am jump-starting my reseach on how to go about it now and let me tell you, if one is dedicated to a particular goal then no matter what or how many hurdles that come about, that person will accomplish those goals. these goals will be seen as challenges and opportunities for advancement in one’s professional life. also, what motivates me?..me, myself, and i…my inner being, and God. what physical object am i motivated by? you got it!..the good old green $. bottom line: i want to be #1 in whatever i do in life.

:flower2:

Re: How driven are you in your career?

i have always been very driven and competitive...always wanting to be "the best" in everything i do and always wanting to do what others say is difficult to accomplish.
however, lately my priorities have changed and i'm seriously considering just joining non-profit organizations and volunteering my time and knowledge to actually make a difference in people's lives.
i know i already do that on an everyday basis, but it doesn't seem to be enough...i need more!
not sure what i'm gonna end up doing, but lately this competitiveness and holding out for "the best program" is just annoying me.

awww i love this thread.... i finally found people who are like me..

i used to be a real smart cookie.. then i think expectations from parents just got to me.. ended up in IT.. a career i never understood or liked.. until my 3rd year.. i had no idea what i was doing, i still didnt understand RAM... all i was good at was listening to people and solving their problems... i REALLY REALLY wanted to become a social worker.. still do.. sad haina?

i dont really like what i do, but i think im good at this.. as in bluffing my way thru stuff i dont understand... the only motivation i have is that i wanna make my parents proud.. regardless of doing something i got no heart in.. being able to show them that i can be like the rest of the family and be all career driven and stuff.... serious when i get married... im planning on quitting.. or doing something i love... which is help people..

p.s everyone... do what u want... doing something for someone else will never satisfy you.. and u'll always be hungry for something else..
.. kaka be a golfer.. be watever u want... if i have kids.. i'll let them be nething... just not strippers

Originally posted by sadzzz: *
.. kaka be a golfer.. be watever u want... if i have kids.. i'll let them be nething...
just not strippers *

no? i hear strippers make A LOT of MONEY!
i personally wanna quit everything and go b a waitress or a secretary somewhere....not bcuz its something i love, but cuz i really can use a break after just going and going for so many years...lost my youth in getting to where i am today.

Sadzzz, i really think u should take part time classes and pursue social work....sounds to me like its something you REALLY REALLY want to do.
let me tell u....its hard work and not always rewarding, but if u r up to it, then dont wait till u r married....DO IT NOW! if u dont wanna quit your day job, then just do it as part time for now!

*Originally posted by zidee: *

no? i hear strippers make A LOT of MONEY!
i personally wanna quit everything and go b a waitress or a secretary somewhere....not bcuz its something i love, but cuz i really can use a break after just going and going for so many years...lost my youth in getting to where i am today.

Sadzzz, i really think u should take part time classes and pursue social work....sounds to me like its something you REALLY REALLY want to do.
let me tell u....its hard work and not always rewarding, but if u r up to it, then dont wait till u r married....DO IT NOW! if u dont wanna quit your day job, then just do it as part time for now!

hehe arrite... i might have to reconsider... i could use the extra money from my future kids.... how will i ever pay the loans off!!

yeah i have been thinking about it zidee.. im gonna go to paki.. then come back fresh and Inshallah do something i want... and plus my masters is just hanging there.. so i need to think whether i wanna continue that as well....

u know what... i wanna go back into retail as well... i just wanna get out of this monotous cycle im in...

yeah and iam very goal oriented...whenever i think of something new, related to it....iam like, gotta do it no matter what...at least thats how it is for the first 2 weeks......baad mein pata nahin kiya ho jaata....where does all the passion and jazba go????

Sharaabi - :hehe: that sounds like me :smiley: mera bhee yahi sawal hae…where does all the passion and jazba go? :smiley:

sadzzz - :hug: yaarrr that sounds like me kinda!!! lekin i’ve decided now theres NO WAY ON EARTHHHHHHH i’m gona keep studyin CS…
i’ll apply for CS related jobs in pak and also do part time social work…or might even do full time, depens…
i have heard CS in pak is much more laid back…if its anything like the usa i’m not gona do it, but if its laid back in pak then i’ll do that…
pata naheen abhee kuch sahi se…
u shud do social work if u wana…give it a try..
khayr, what u r doing, i’'e trying to make ur parents proud is a very noble thing :flower1: that in itself is cool
my parents saw how much i hate programming… so they r not asking me to do CS anymore :smiley: coz as soon as my mom mentions it its like meri shakal roni ban jaati hae :smiley:

ziddee - aww :hug: nah girl dont become a waitress yaar :smack: zindagi mein itni mehnat is lyay to naheen kee na!! but be sure take a break if u wanna.. :slight_smile: and i’m sure u havent lost ur youth!!! youthness [is that a word lol :D] lies in the attitude not in the age :smiley:

sweetpie - wow mashallah thats great…as long as u r happy in what u do :slight_smile: best of luck n hope ur dream comes true :k:

Sheraz CT - kahan :eek: kidhar :eek: i think i’ll switch to golf too :smiley:

salams Ira and welcome to GS :hug: :flower1:

WOW :mash: you are amazing yaar :k: why do u feel like u wont do good? look at u, working full time and studying!! thats amazing mashallah!!! u should be proud of urself!!!

hmm…make some friends at school if possible with whom u can study, that will surely encourage u…r there muslims/desis in ur school?? and take things easy, u’ll slowly become more confident…i have that problem too, i always put myself down, but i think part of the reason is also coz i hated my field so much…but u seem to like math?? if not, switch to something u like..

just try ur best and dont take very difficult courses…maybe take some easy courses that u will get good grades in for sure? that will make u feel better n make u more confident…baad mein bhalay u can take more tough courses if u want…

u dont have to aim tooooo high yaar…sab kuch chalta rehta hae…just be realistic and be laid back n take it easy..and u will see things will go better…best of luck.. :hug:

and again i think u should be so proud of urself coz what u r doing is amazing mashallah… :slight_smile:

oh i also PM’ed u..

khayr, best of luck to u, wish u all the best :k: :slight_smile: