If something is wrong with one or more of the food items without embarrassing them. I swear at a dawat I smelled that the biryani had gone bad. I did not take a bite off of it but did not notify the hosts.
Re: How do you tell the host ?
Its not bad to be whistleblower if you know that a lot of other people might be consuming the same food . Just go like
"Bahbi I might be wrong , but this biryani doesn't seem right . Zara check keejiya ga"
Something like that :)
Just be polite and say "excooose meh ... i think ur tryina kill me"
^ :D
Hmm.. I cook a lot not just for me but for my friends and family as well.. biryani to go bad means it's been out for hrs and it's not freshly made.. how else Biryani can go bad that fast?
Or you meant it didn't smell good because the spices weren't right, perhaps?
have u ever smelled rice that was soaking for 3 days. ![]()
You dont say anything...you avoid the dish and take something else...
OR if you HAVE to...then what Nomi said.
They are rice not rocks.. you don’t soak them that long..
*press the ignore button
Yeah i wont say anything either.. I just wont eat that and look for another dish that catches my fancy
It depends who is the host and how bad really is the food item.
Making false accusation may cause bad feelings.
please refer to my "getting food poisoning at a dawaat" thread in the "Household & Cuisine" forum. LoL
if i dont like the look of it or if it smells bad. i dont eat it. but i never ever will tell the host. its against my etiquettes.
a bigger problem than that is how to convey it to other family members (wife, kids) that DONT EAT THAT DISH … maring your feet to your wife’s feet but then she might just ask “kia hai pair keyun maar rahey hain?”
and you could go sharam sai pani pani
You skip dinner and head straight for the dessert table..
Tough call! I would skip that one dish and try something else...and avoid the awkwardness altogether!
You skip dinner and head straight for the dessert table..
But there are other things on the table which are find , delicious , tempting and well presented.
Only this one dish seems to have gone south.
Tough call! I would skip that one dish and try something else...and avoid the awkwardness altogether!
But I want save the hostess/host from embarrassment I know for sure that this dish has gone bad.
Well then it depends on how well you know the host, if your a good friend then be like "I wouldn't serve that if I were you…unless you want to food poison everyone"
And if its an aunty ji that you don't know too well ... then what you do is offer to help set the table, and on your way "accidently" drop the dish gone wrong! You have saved aunty ji from embarrassment and the guests from upset stomachs in the morning...your a hero!!!
LOL , you are such a genius .
But If they do not know me so well , it will leave a bad impression that I am so clumsy, they will not invite me ever to their parties. No ?
Do you really want to be invited again... if the food isn't even edible ;) lol
Yes , as I said everything else is perfect except this one dish.