During last year, I’ve purchased more than 100 books, but completed 10 books hardly.
Every time, I bring books home, my sister say ‘pehle wali paRh li jo ye aa gai hain’ :sid:
Considering this, I decided last month that I’ll stop buying books and try to complete books already purchased. So, made a plan, will sum up the amount of books I previously bought and ended during a particular month and will use such amount in buying new books.
last month, I completed 5 books and their price was around Rs 1000 So, yesterday, i decided to buy books using Rs 1000
Today, I went to buy books. Had some 5 books in my mind which were under the budget of Rs 1000. I could find 3 out of 5 and while searching for those I came to see 4-5 books that attracted me. So end up with a bill of Rs 2,000. Idea failed
maiN kitaabeN paRhtaa hii nahiiN jo mere liye uThaane dharne kii mushkilaat darpesh aayeN...lol
maiN to bas HaseenaaoN ke chehre hii paRhtaa huN vo bhii bheeR bhaaR aur garmiyoN ke mahiinoN meN garmii se parishaan ho ho kar jab vo ajeeb o Ghareeb aur taraH taraH ke chahre banaatii haiN...
Muqaw, I think I relate to you and dont see any thing wrong in piling up books. I buy my English books as ebooks, but if ever enter a Urdu bookshop in a major city of USA, I feel like a kid in the candy store.
Ps: Altaf bhai is coming back to Karachi, so fikar naat. Betwenn the juloos, jalsay, hartaal, dharnaa, lock downs and shut downs of the city, you will get plenty of time to catchup on your reading.
I am so surprised that every other price is sky rocketing, but you still can buy five books in Karachi within 1000 rupees. Don’t know if I should be happy or sad lol
Muqaw, I think I relate to you and dont see any thing wrong in piling up books. I buy my English books as ebooks, but if ever enter a Urdu bookshop in a major city of USA, I feel like a kid in the candy store.
Ps: Altaf bhai is coming back to Karachi, so fikar naat. Betwenn the juloos, jalsay, hartaal, dharnaa, lock downs and shut downs of the city, you will get plenty of time to catchup on your reading.
lols. aisi fursat nahin chahiye
I am so surprised that every other price is sky rocketing, but you still can buy five books in Karachi within 1000 rupees. Don't know if I should be happy or sad lol
Thanks to PPP (they deserve this credit) that they made Sindh Cultural Department quite active who published 100s of classic Sindhi books (including research on archeology of Sindh, Shah Latif, Shaikh Ayaz's compilation of prose and poetry) in their tenure. These books are available at cheap rates. A novel of 300 pages is available for Rs 250. In case of Urdu, Mustansar Hussain TaraR's latest novel 'Ae Ghizal Shab' having around 400 pages is priced at Rs 750.
Donate the books you have already read to the local library or gift to your friends. I know it’s easier said than done. I have the hardest time parting with a book even if I haven’t read it in forever.
And don’t buy more until you have read a few from your collection.
Read n recycle so it doesn’t pile up.
Donate the books you have already read to the local library or gift to your friends. I know it's easier said than done. I have the hardest time parting with a book even if I haven't read it in forever.
And don't buy more until you have read a few from your collection.
Read n recycle so it doesn't pile up.
ye lo. I was talking about unread books. The one I've read, I want to save in my library. kabh kabhi dobara padhne ka bhi mood hota hai kuch books
You know.. when you look at the book at book store, read title and few pages.
Then you anticipate they joy its going to bring you.. or the information its going to bring you ??
Now you have arrange your own books in your house in a book shelf. And then sit next to them look at them.. and have the same feeling. Like this book I bought last year .. never read it... but it has so much I am going to love...
Usually end up reading two or three at the same time: one on the train, one at desk, etc. It is not always ideal, hurts my poor wee brain, but there is just so many to get through :\