how do you stay awake?

:salam:

i’ve always been used to like 8 hrs of sleep but these days i stay up every single night after night…some nights i dont sleep at all and other nights i get like no more than 5 hrs of sleep…

its called being a computer science senior working on senior project…this madness will end in about two weeks…but till then got to keep going…got to got to keep going…inshallah…

coming to my question though…

i was wondering…

how much caffeine [as in coke] can a body take? does there come a time when coke doesn’t help in staying awake anymore?

what do u do then?

i used to drink strong doodh patti first to keep myself awake…then recently i’ve started drinking coke as doodh patti didn’t help anymore…plus it takes time to make it and u cant make it in the computer lab…

recently i’ve noticed that the time range of effect of coke is also going down…

like before if one bottle of coke kept me going for like 6 hours now its only like 3 hrs…

so…

what else is out there?

sitting on an uncomfortable chair doesn’t help to drive away the sleep…

washing ur face with cold water all the time helps somewhat…i remember as a kids v used to struggle to keep awake for like shab e mairaaj, qadar, barat…but v used to keep putting water on our faces to keep us going till fajar time…

but these days that isnt even helping…

wearing wet clothes helps…we do that sometimes in the lab…just go and pour water on our shirts n drench ourselves…but that only helps till the water is cold then the effect wears off…

eating lots of chocolate works as u get an energy boost but i cant eat more than one bar of chocolate in a couple of hours makes me feel sick in the stomach…

what do u guys do to force urself to stay awake?

thanks for ur ideas :flower1:

u drink a lot of coke??? r ur teeth still in place? better check that first :D

well, as for staing awake long.....i'm not a person who can stay awake a lot of nights consecutively. however, if u ask me to stay awake one night, that easily done. but many nights consecutively....don't have experience with that though....

ness bhai :salam: kya haal hae?

lol haanji just checked teeth still in place… :stuck_out_tongue: unless i’m not hallucinating abt their presence :biggrin:

i never used to drink so much coke till like now since i am taking senior project…in fact i dint drink coke at al pretty much thru college..

pulling all nighters tho is my speciality but i used to get my sleep before always [in my first yr tho i was in this sleep deprived situation n told myself i’d never take heavy courseloads again so i dint till now] but now i’m back to the same situation…

but thankfully this is the last time i’ll have to do it inshallah :slight_smile:

tho i’ma miss it…i’m kinda getting a demented sadistic pleasure out of all this :biggrin: and when the work is done u get a real nice rewarding feeling.. :slight_smile: trying to kill urself working and working hard n pushing urself…is cheez ka bhee apna hi maza hae :slight_smile: mehnat mein azmat hae na… i feel its kind of a jahad…

:salam:W

me fine shine thank u
apna sunao? preparation going accoring to schedule?

well, i gotta hand it over to ya…all nighters are not something for me…i try to have my work done around 11 PM at the max!!! after that, nothing seem to enter my brain, so no use keeping on studying…

jee alhamdulillah everything is fine :slight_smile: nope i’m hecka behind in everything coz of my procrastination…i go thru cycles of extreme laziness and then hard core work…wish i was more organised n spread my work out more uniformly..

both my best friends back home r like u they cant stay up at night..they make fun of me for doing it lol…but my roomate 3arabeeya is also a crazy nigght owl like me na is lyay i got a crazy companion so its fun :hehe:

ness bhai me gona go back to my work now…it was nice chatting to u :slight_smile: even if it was abt this dumb topic :hehe: take care :wave: kh

AH n tc n goodluck :wave:

first of all, yeh be-qarari project kee waja sey hee hai yaa koi aur baat hai...

anyways, i dont think that caffine or anything will help...its just ur own will power....try to get urself relaxed so that u can get nice sleep....

btw, someone told me that De-caf coffee helps u a lot.....

the best way of keeping oneself awake is taking a general purpose knife and applying salt, garam masala, lemon juice and vinegar and making a cut close to the belly button. The pain will keep u up all night... :)

gluck on the project

^^ you’re too much gamma..:rotfl: :rotfl:

Stay away from coffee unless in a moderate dose.

The night before one of my MAJOR exams, i had two of those latt jidday cups of coffee. I felt sick and couldn't study much the whole night, just wanted to lay down and cry or fall asleep. Khair don't overdose like i did and i think you should be okay.

In the worst case you can use pills to wake up, available on any gas station ! it works :k:

:salam: Irem!

<<how much caffeine [as in coke] can a body take? does there come a time when coke doesn’t help in staying awake anymore?>>

I don’t know about caffeine but I know that there has to balance between calcium and phosphorus(sugars) in the body, means you can’t just drink coke all night, you need to keep that balance and also take something that has same amount of calcium…Do you know how much sugar a can of coke contains? read the ingredients on your can or bottle of coke, it says: 40g something = 6-8 ts ! And on top of that you’re eating chocolates…:smash:…Irem, you know when the amount of phosphorus in the human body exceeds calcium, it can cause damage to bones…So becareful yaar…Don’t drink too much coke!

Eat an apple, it works more than coffee.. to keep u awake..
i heard it somwher,, i forgot where..

^ some one in ur ward?

mountain dew and snickers....

*Originally posted by Gamma Dilation: *
^ some one in ur ward?

oh, you were there, i forgot..
hope ur feelin betta..

^hmmm .. get it checked .. no seriously

^ so it worked on you,,..

irem, btw i was serious about the apple.

I find a few posts on GS make me feel a whole lot better ;)

my teacher says that 24 hours are enough for completing our daily tasks, all we need is proper time management :p

seriously, never stay awake for more then 2 consecutive nights..thats so not good for ur health...whatever u do, just take out some time to relax and sleep. and if nothing else works, try rock music and an apple it helps sometimes…