As children, I think its a lot easier to memorize an ayah , compared to when we get older.Now…it takes me forever to memorize a tiny surah.Do you guys have any tips or tricks? Some way that can help me improve my memorizing skills?
I found it really easy as a child , then found it very difficult and struggled.
Bizzarrely, there were 3 ayahs that I found rediculously easy to learn. Surah 59, 22-24.
Those three ayahs I managed to learn completely in about 2 hours simply because they entranced me and I thought they were beautiful - I actually learnt them in the middle of a school trip when I was 17 or thereabouts. I had a pamphlet where they were written and just read them again and again and they were just commited to memory (though I needed refreshers during that evening).
But aside from that, I've seemed unable to learn more :(
Aww maddy.My little cousins are learning the main surahs, and they make fun of me because its so much harder for me.I try, but it takes forever to memorize anything.And then its out of my head the next day once I do manage a few lines.Its quite frustrating, and I really want to learn more Surahs.![]()
I am a big procrastinator, but i try…
Here is how I try doing it,…
I listen again and again to a surah for around a week, when I wake up, before I sleep…
First of all search for a qari whose voice appeals you. www.islamway.com (the best site in the world)
You can download the surahs from there.
Later, look at the Quran and listen to the surah you like. After listening, and getting used to it, understand its meanings. Once the meanings are understood, it will become even easier to memorize- inshaAllah
for this thread.
try going to http://www.reciter.org
you can have the software repeat the ayat as many times as you want. Its really a good tool to help one memorize ayaats.
Allah O alam
WaSalaam
i think you should try to do it after fajar i've heard mind is at its best and fresh so you can concentrate better. There is a dua for it as well i will post it soon.
join some classes and have a teacher listen to u....
its far easier that way than doing it by urself....
AoA,
Memorizing of ayaat or any other text is very easy, once you get the hang of it. The trick is to construct and use hints/tips. This is also known as mnemonics.
I have found that the meaning of the ayah is the best mnemonic there is. So, what I do is to look at the part of ayah and then look at its meaning. I do it in Urdu as it is easier to relate Urdu words to Arabic ones. Thus, the translation, which I can understand, acts as tips/hints for the Arabic words that are to come.
Try it! It should work.
Regards,
worried.
listen to audio of qiraat from qari syed sadakat ali {a true legend} or any other good qari with eloquent qiraat, read surah's from quran over and over again, give it time and slowly the words register in your mind and off you go! it is indeed true that kids find it much easier to memorise quran or quranic ayaats then grown ups
Hmm very helpful suggestions, thanks guys.I dont think its possible for me to have a teacher, because of my upcoming study/work schedule.However I will try to get something with which I can read along, or repeat after.
"The best amongst you is the one who learns the Qur'aan and teaches it." [Reported by Bukhaaree]
Ikhlaas - (Sincerity) - there is no reward for the one who recited the Quran and memorised it to show off and to be heard of. There is also no doubt that the one who recited the Quran desiring by it the world and seeking some sort of worldy reward for it is sinful.
Correction of ones pronunciation and recitation - listening to a good reciter or a precise memoriser of the Quran. Correcting ones recitation firstly and not depending on oneself in its recitation even if one is knowledgeable of the Arabic language and of its principles, is also obligatory
Specifying a daily limit for memorisation
Not surpassing one's daily limit until you have perfected its memorisation.
Memorise using the same Mushaf (copy) of the Quran
Understanding is the way to memorising
Do not move on from a complete surah until you have connected the first part of it to the last
Reciting to others
Constantly returning to what one has memorised
Being aware of the resembling parts of the quran - there are approximately a thousand verses in which there is a resemblance of some sort. The excellence of ones memorisation will be according to the extent that one has concern for these resembling parts.
(books which deal with this topic of resembling verses in the Quran. Among the most famous of them are:
1. Durratul-Tanzeel wa Ghurratut-Ta'weel fee Bayaan il Aayaat al-Mutashaabihaat fee Kitaab il-Laahi il-Azeez by al-Khateeb al-Iskaafee
2. Asraar ut-Tukraar fil-Quran by Mahmood bin Hamzah ibn Nasr al-Kirmaanee.)
- Taking advantage of the golden years of memorising - from the age of five to twenty-three.
Ma'salaama
Ok I felt like updating this posts, hope mods dont mind.Its true -yes it is- memorizing Quran in Ramadan is easier than any other time.It actually worked for me, the whole blessed month and all.I was able to memorize a few short surahs.And Im still working at it.
Signed --- a very happy MQ.
MashaAllah^
recently, we were visited at out home by some old aquaintances....
with them came this young son of theirs, 6-7- years, who i just started talking and asked him if he had learnt Quran....
he started reciting fatiha, ayat-ul-kursi etc etc....
and then he recited one surah that i had not memorized....
i felt embarassed, and the same night i memorized it....
all we need is motivation i guess....
mashallah MQ :k:
In my experience, reciting the verses again and again, and also understanding the meaning helps a lot.
At one time, I used to recite Surah Yaseen daily. After a few months, I found out that I had begun to remember it by heart.
Something relavent to this topic
Golden Rules for Memorizing the Qur’an
For details, please see:
http://www.islamonline.net/english/Quran/2004/07/article14.shtml
-
Be Sincere
-
Correct Pronunciation and Recitation
-
Apportion the Daily Number of Verses to Memorize
-
Do Not Move to the Next Portion Till You Master the Present One
-
Stick to One Specific Copy of the Glorious Qur’an
-
Understand What You Are Memorizing
-
Do Not Move from One Surah to Another Till You Connect Its Beginning to Its End
-
Recite Frequently before Others
-
Follow Up Frequently
-
Pay Attention to Similarities
-
Seize the Opportunity of the Golden Years to Memorize
armughal-- I know exactly what you mean.I feel motivated when something like that happens to me too.
Irem--- I finally got it!
ramsy----Thats very true.I started with a few words, I would read them again and again with the Quran infront of me, then I would close it and keep reading.I then got my bro to listen to me ,and thats how I finally managed to learn some stuff.
Btw those are very helpful suggestions.Although Im afraid I missed my golden years.
Although Im afraid I missed my golden years.
I actually use to think and say that until I started listening to quranic recitations in me car, pc etc.
You'd be suprised how much of an impact that can have.