How do you make nice pakoray?

Please can some kind person write down a good recipe for me. I made them today (mixed onion and chopped potato.)

1. They were oily soggy inside
  2. Didn’t rise properley, kind of stayed flat. ( even though i used bicarbonate of soda)

i need a recipe for mixed onion and potato pakoras please. I would probably use about 1 and a half cups besan. How would eliminate the above problems which occured.

Re: How do you make nice pakoray?

humm well i use the same thing n they do rise u betta add red chilli flakes ,dried corriander crushed,and green chillies and add every thing according to quantity

Kya Yaad krwa diya hai, I am gonna fry some Eggplant, Potatos for Aftari today and probably make some vegetable pakorey too..... I already have my favorite fruit chat in the fridge ;)

i luv pakorass

^ lol ur still online

hmmmmmmmmm...pakoraa,,,

redroses.....im always online:D

I think the problem is with your ratio of water to basin and then the time you are letting it in the oil. The basin shouldn't have excess water in it. If it does, add more basin to make it a likke think.

Always try one pakoray in the oil before adding more. That way, you know where you stand in term of ingredient. The oil also gets hot and then it is ready to add more.

Another thing my Ami told me. Before you take our the pakoras from the frying pan or whatever, poke a knife in it while it is in the oil. If the knife brings paste with it, it is still uncooked from inside. If the knife is dry and oily, the Pakora is ready to be taken out....

The amount of heat you keep under the pan is another crucial factor. If it is too hight, the pakora can be ready from outside bt uncooked from inside so keep the amount of heat in consideration too......:)

Thanks for those tips. if it is possible please can you type a good recipe for pakoray for me. thanks

My pakoray are always really nice. I just make them without thinking so let me see if I can put a recipe together for you.

Potatoes
Onions
I try to put in all the spices in my cupboard Chilli powder, ground cumin, ground coriander, haldi, tandoori masala (not too much), chicken curry masala, salt. I just chuck it all in.
Palak. (spinach)
Fresh coriander.
Besan( put it through the sieve first)
Some people also add 1 egg but I dont.

Add water slowly as u mix and dont let it get too runny. When you have mixed it hold the spoon up and it shouldnt be dripping more than 1-2 drops. That should be the right consistency.

Heat the oil on medium. Make sure you dont put the pakoray in the oil if its not hot enough. When its hot Put the pakoray in (not too big) and turn over after
1-2 minutes. Keep on medium heat and keep turning occasionally. I think it takes about 6-7 minutes but I've never actually timed it. So you might have to guesss that one. Whengolden brown remove from oil with a holey spoon and drain the oil thoroughly.
Hope that makes sense. :)

thanks! I will definately try this recipe. Thanks a lot:)

yeah my mom puts an egg in her besan mix...they turn out nice and crispy...she says that when she puts in baking soda, the pakoras turn a dark colour, instead of the nice golden colour....

it usually happens too when your oil is Not very hot and you put besan mix in just a warm oil

For puffier pakora, add a good pinch of baking soda for every cup of besan you use. Also, be sure to add warm water and not cold to the batter, and let it sit for a good 30 minutes before using it to leaven.

How old was your baking soda? It only stays good around a year, depending on the humidity and stuff. Put a 1/2 teaspoon or so in a tablespoon of vinegar. If it fizzes and bubbles, it is still good. IF not, throw it out.

If they are oily then it sounds like your oil is not hot enough.

also make sure you dont use too much besan mixture in ratio to the veggies, the besan mixture should not be watery, rather thick and just slightly coating the veggies. THey taste better that way.

Ramzan adho ho giya aur tum logoon nay mairay ghar iftari naheen bheji :crying:

Send some pakoray over, ill be the judge who makes 'em the best :halo:

Says who YOU, obviously they gonna be coz u say so…

they sound NICE

I make very very NICE TANDOORI MASALA for Lamb Roast, Tandoori Chicken, Chicen Tikka and also for Barbecu…

yum, BTW, Tabussum it’s not me or my mum it’s the public.

So when we are going to get your pakoray.

Jaldi karo bhook lagi hai

Yeh 1001 masaly waley pakoray ho gaye, Mera khayal hai koi masala peechay bachta nahiN agar hai to woh bhee daal do, kiya cheeni bhee dalti hao?