In Personal Life vs Professional Life.
Re: -How do you handle a Racist's remarks?
In personal life you're allowed to return the favor and put the person in his/her place. In professional life, it's best to ignore and get on with your work and maintain a professional stance.
This is not the most perfect approach, ofcourse. But it's the easiest.
Personal life:::: A mukka on their jabra (jaw, right?)
Professional life:::: Get all your evidence together, go to HR and get them fired! People like that only limit our growth and shouldnt be in the work force to begin with!
bhai muka mar kay kio daant torrnay hain kia
Re: -How do you handle a Racist’s remarks?
Ye kis cheez ka asar hai GS per
kisi baat ka koi sahi jawab nahi de raha ![]()
come back with a counter racist remark in both professional and personal life. 9 outta 10 times it just becomes a laugh-it-off situation.
oonchi say kahoo "kia kahaaaaaaaa"
I had this weird situation. We were to interview a big company's Manager for an International Marketing class. This guy starts off guessing each of the group members' ethnicities...and then on one he started copying and stereotyping saying you have an Indian Accent and bobbed his head.The guy is not Indian but Pakistani. Nobody laughed...except for him. I was so shocked!
And to top it off...he later was saying as an answer to a question asked how the Management style of lets say in China is different then in USA...he said oh the way I made fun of your accent is not good here in USA but its fine in China.
What would you do then...and Now if you didn't react at that time??
Im still so angry...first time I ever saw such an educated guy act this way.Oh and he himself was of a different ethnicity.
I have learned that human resources/boss can handle such a situation better only if there are other witnesses who heard the racist remark.....or if other people come forward with the same complaint. If you were the ONLY person to hear the remark, then it becomes harder to prove your case. Having a witness allows your boss/human resources to take action. Either way, you need to document the time, date, and description of the incident. Documentation becomes even more helpful especially if abuse is taking place on a consistent basis. That way the documentation indicates a pattern.
If it is on a personal level, I suggest putting the person in their place in a civilized manner as that is more classy. Take them to account for what they've said. If they say something like "All desis are...." Then say,
"I'm desi and I'm rather shocked at your audacity to unjustly stereotype me in my presence. I'm shocked by how despicable your manners are. I could just as easily make a sterotypical remark about how EVERYONE of your race must have the same despicable manners. BUT i'm an open-minded person and like to believe that there are good and bad people of all races. Such a positive attitude allows me to get to know other people as INDIVIDUALS rather than make blind assumptions. I don't think you'd like to be judged without one getting to know you first. But unfortunately you've already made an unfavorable impression on me. People like you are the reason why there is such chaos in today's world. I pity you. Have a nice life"
^ Anyone can respond to a racist comment by screaming, yelling, cussing at the person or even punching them in the stomach. But it takes real CLASS and INTELLIGENCE to give a smart response cuz it makes the offender feel a lot more stupid....compared to if you were just to say "Piss off!"
thanks for posting Redvelvet. I think this is the best approach. I do want the guy who apparently had about 4 degrees...but so less manners, to know his remarks weren't appreciated. Im thinking of writing him an email...a short precise one so that he knows that he isnt as " funny" as he considers himself.Such a pity that he kept on justifying his jokes. He kept on saying too that whatever that is discused here is the property of his company...so is he saying hie hotshot company id promoting his "remarks and jokes" too
Ask99,
Since this problem is taking place at work, there are a few things I wanted to point out:
1. ** Some people at work are comfortable with email communication and others prefer not to use email in sticky situations because the email can be printed as evidence against a coworker. If you are going to email this person, make sure that you word in a professional way. Your email can reflect your disgust for his tactless behavior, but do it without name-calling. Because he might take your email to the boss/human resources FIRST and accuse you of name-calling and try to convince them of his "innoncence." So, be careful how you word the email. Secondly.......please PRINT out a copy of the email you send him**. That way he can't invent false stories about you.
If he likes to make fun of people's accents then you can send a response like this:
**I've noticed that you have on several occasions mimicked the accents of various ethnic groups in a stereotypical manner. Not every person that belongs to a particular race sounds the same. You will find Asians with a thick Asian accent and you will find Asians with an American accent. Not ever person that belongs to a particular race or culture is the same, believes the same, talks the same, or acts the same. Stereotyping prevents us from getting to know people as INDIVIDUALS. As in all areas of life......including the workplace....diversity is a strength that can help move us forward. It's hardly professional to potentially hinder the progress and constructive communication between colleagues with tactless remarks. I'm open to any clarification that you have in this matter.
2) **If this guy has beenbehaving like this for quite some time.....then you need to start documenting the incident. In the event that this guy doesn't shape up, you will have consistent and frequent documentation to support your case. And it's always good to get witnesses.
Redvelvet...I just love how you use the word "despicable"...:)
When I used to work on the store, once I chased a guy to all the way across the street.
Moron ran fast and did not stop. hmmmm yeah he said some thing racist to me.
Re: -How do you handle a Racist’s remarks?
I only experienced a slight off comment once, whilst in the RAF.
My ethnicity has always been ambiguous to others, as you can’t really (based on my appearance) tell that i am desi.
This one guy, who was one level above me, found out i was of pakistani origin, and made a lewd comment about the English occupation of India… and my ‘gora’ appearance… i think you know what i mean…
Well we deal with that kind of stuff in the RAF in one way… he got a good beating from me…others took note. ![]()
And i took his job. It’s dog eat dog. ![]()