How do you feel when......?

How do you feel when you visit Pakistan and then when you leave and come back to your host country or country where you were born and hold a nationality in?

It would be interesting to know especially from Foreign born Pakistanis who visit? Would you rather live there than say the USA, UK…?

Re: How do you feel when......?

I just got back from a trip to Pakistan last week and after the stress of arriving at the airport and checking in etc, when sitting in the plane, as it takes off I always feel sad and as though i'm leaving something dear to me behind. However, cos most of my time is spent living in a village there, i always look forward to coming home too. Though this feeling subsides a little when its time to leave but still, home is the UK for me, i cant imagine living in Pakistan unless my in laws shifted to the city, village life is just too stifling and prison like.

I also belong to a village and i find it boring to stay there too long. The problem with villages is that life can be a little too slow there. I do like my village and like the fact that the pace of life is slow but Iwould hate to live there permanently without a job. I like Pakistan a lotand I tend to travel around a lot.

Ohh I thought you were asking this question to Non Pakis.

Anyway may be off-topic but my entire imagination ,understanding got changed after my first ever visit to Lahore in 2004.Thanks to Samsung Team. Only then I understood the laymen's versions were utterly wrong.

Sorry please elaborate!

holiday blues are inevitable ..always get them, as sad to leave my mum n family in england and miss my in laws who are in pakistan..

at the end of the day you miss your OWN home the most,bed,bath kitchen etc......

**i'm kinda SAD before i even leave for India thinking about the fact that i'll have to RETURN! :( i'm as desi and as mod as two-in-one can be so it gives me a unique perspective. i enjoy every bit of my stay in India, i'm terribly sad to leave [the departure fever starts a week b4 my actual departure]. i go and meet ALL my elderly relatives and give them a big hug...NOT knowing if i'll ever see them again :( [life is so uncertain even for younger ones!]

i make sure that i spent at least a few days in my village and try to get in touch with the life i had 17 years ago. it hasn't changed much...my village still doesn't have electricity or running water or other basics of life that we take it for granted anywhere else.

koii lauTaa de mire beete huye din :(

haN, dikhaa de, ai tasavvur! phir vo subH o shaam tu!
dauR peechhe kii taraf, ai gardish-e-aiyaam tu! :(**

Yes,though I have got my roots in Sindh and have got my people over there,the picture about the rest of Pakistan was quite different as the school level spoon feeding' was in a different way.I always believed Punjab and the rest of Pakistan except Sindh held a kind of hostility towardsred chord sporting' people like me.I had the first chance to be in Pakistan (I always thought I would land up in Karachi and even always thought that would be the only place for me to go in whole of Pakistan!!) in 2004 during the India-Pak match and I was selected to be a member of the Samsung squad (Telecom)to visit Lahore .Though our trip lasted just a day(indeed less than a day) it gave some amazing experiences which I would always cherish .

Later I landed in Karachi and my last visit was in 2007.I would go back again and again if the sitaution improves. :)

when i was coming back to UK from PAK i just wanted to cry like totally. i just kept praying "allah mere jahaz ko kuch ho jaye....kuch aisa ho jaye ke main kabhi wapis hi na jaaon....ya allah mere maa baap mujhe rok lain aur kahain bas ab yahin ruk jao mat wapis jaao....dil bohat kharaab ho raha tha aisa lag raha tha ke kisi ne murda ker diya hai dil ko".

This is because i was born and brought up in pakistan thats why i always feel this way.

Re: How do you feel when…?

^ Aaaw Blessed2006 that was so depressing… :bummer:

I feel like I have left part of me in Pakistan, sure I can go back now and then every couple of years or so but I cant really stay for long. Pakistan is not the place I used to know anymore and at least here in the UK we have some semblance of stability, back home I have unfinished business and Pakistan is no place for someone with my thinking right now… One day I will return.

But in my heart I fell like I walked away from half a job… I must redeem my shattered soul by returning and finishing my duty. :jhanda:

Like others I was born, brought up, made and broken in Pakistan… it’s in the blood now even if you run to the ends of the Earth your still part of Pakistan… like it or not.

While I am sad that I am not at the place I would like to be… part of me is tense and excited, I just cant wait for the day I return… Insha Allah there will be a return! :salute:

— Ditto ----

You might get more hostility in Sindh be cause there are Hindus there and some are considered low castes. I have met Sindhi Hindus in Quetta and they seemed to be ok back then. They had no problems livign there thankfully!

Have you been to Hingol?

I do not like to go to Pakistan because I know I will be happy there and settling back can be hard for me. It can be hard sometimes!

u mean "you wont be happy there"????

It means I will be happy there aned settling back in the UK is hard and depressing. I always enjoy my visits to Pakistan a lot. I enjoy them too much in fact and leaving is hard. I came back 8 weeks ago and only until this week I had got Pakistan out of my system. Still I am planning my next trip.

oh acha acha. i though something else.

indeed i agree its totally hard to come back. and yes settling back to uk is hard and depressing.

wah ji wah maujain hain tumhari. ek aur plan trip ho raha hai. zabardast

When I go back to Pakistan, I’m the happiest soul alive. When I come back, I’m the most depressed soul alive. I feel home-sick. :naak:

I had no problem in Karachi as my maternal relations live there .I have seen even `Bindi sporting ladies' (Hindus)in Karachi and never felt insecurity over there.

No,I have not been to Hingol.Inedeed Hingol Ma is one of our family deities.I was planning for 2009 but postponed the idea.I hope I can do it in 2012. :)