How do you do Dua?

This is going to sound like a really dumb question, but how do you do dua?

Are the duas you say after you read namaz the only duas that are heard?

What about the thoughts and feelings that go on in your heart and mind throughout the day? I speak to God directly and do dua in my mind on a regular basis throughout the day and am wondering if these thoughts are even heard …

Re: How do you do Dua?

Peace Mehnaz,

Almighty Allah Said in Holy Qur’an Chapter 2 Verse 186: “And when My servants ask you, [O Muhammad], concerning Me - indeed I am near. I respond to the invocation of the supplicant when he calls upon Me. So let them respond to Me [by obedience] and believe in Me that they may be [rightly] guided.”

and narrated in Hadith Book ‘ONENESS, UNIQUENESS OF ALLAH (TAWHEED)’ of Sahih Bukhari Hadith No. 627 & 502.
Narrated Anas: The Prophet :saw2: said, "My Lord says, ‘If My slave comes nearer to me for a span, I go nearer to him for a cubit; and if he comes nearer to Me for a cubit, I go nearer to him for the span of outstretched arms; and if he comes to Me walking, I go to him running.’ "

Narrated Abu Huraira: The Prophet :saw2: said, "Allah says: 'I am just as My slave thinks I am, (i.e. I am able to do for him what he thinks I can do for him) and I am with him if He remembers Me. If he remembers Me in himself, I too, remember him in Myself; and if he remembers Me in a group of people, I remember him in a group that is better than they; and if he comes one span nearer to Me, I go one cubit nearer to him; and if he comes one cubit nearer to Me, I go a distance of two outstretched arms nearer to him; and if he comes to Me walking, I go to him running.’

Purpose of sharing verse and hadith is that Almighty Allah is all knowing. He knows whats in our heart and mind and nothing is hidden from Him. Regarding the dua’s there are many ways to ask dua i.e. while praying, going to bed, going/entering the house/office, before/after namaaz, at day/night time, in presence/absent of everyone, while in position of sajdha/raku etc., etc., So some dua’s are fulfilled by the Grace of Almighty Allah and some others were kept for later on.

‘The Book Pertaining to the Remembrance of Allah, Supplication, Repentance and Seeking Forgiveness (Kitab Al-Dhikr)’ of Sahih Muslim. Hadith No. 6478, 6516 and 6593.

Abu Huraira reported Allah’s Messenger :saw2: as saying: When one of you makes a supplication (to his Lord) one should not say: O Allah, grant me pardon, if Thou so likest, but one should beg one’s (Lord) with a will and full devotion, for there is nothing so great in the eye of Allah which He cannot grant.

Abu Malik reported on the authority Of his father that he heard Allah’s Messenger :saw2: as saying to the person who come to him and asked him as to how he should beg his Lord, that he should utter these words:" O Allah, grant me pardon, have mercy upon me, protect me, provide me sustenance," and he collected his fingers together except his thumb and said: It is in these words (that there is supplication) which sums up for you (the good) of this world and that of the Hereafter.

Abu Huraira reported that Allah’s Messenger :saw: said: The supplication of every one of you is granted if he does not grow impatient and says: I supplicated but it was not granted.

When ever I want to make Dua I close my eyes and imagine khana-e-kaba recite darood Pak then I make Dua and then in the end I recite darood Pak.

How we talk to Allah SWT or how we remember HIM, I think it's everyone's own personal choice.I have seen so many people who Remain in wudu all the time and do dhiki like Subhan Allah, Allhumdulilah,
And there are people who remember Allah SWT in their heart everytime,no matter what they are doing and where they are.

Peace Kinzz,

I tried to imagine khana-e-kaba but I was unable to imagine :(

I make duwa after fard salah, as many scholar suggest that it is mandatory to ask from Allah after fardh salah. I read durood, and then duwa and then drood.

If you read durood before and after your duwa, it will directly hit arsh and Allah (swt) will listen to it.

Many scholars suggest that if you do few words of dhikar before duws, it could also increase the chances of qaboliat.

in the end, it is our believe that Allah(swt) listens to every duwa, and if it is not showing any visibility then it is possible that Allah has given you something better or removed hardship in your life etc etc.

**a basic guidline is:

...always **start with "aa'uuzobillahi min-ash shaitaan ir rajeem; bismillah ar raHmaan ir RaHeem" then read soora e faatiHa, then darood...then say du'aa in praise of Allah SWT and then say what you would like to say about your needs...then say this "o'Allah, You are all Knowing and all Wise, grant me what i need ONLY if it's Halaal and if it's good for me in this world and in the hereafter". after that say same more masnoon du'aayeN and then say darood again and finally say this to conclude your du'aa:

"Rabbanaa aatinaa fid-dunyaa HasanatauN wa fil aaKhirate HasanatauN, waqe'naa 'azaab-an-naar"! :)

:jazak:

Payvasta reh shajar se umeed-e-bahar rakh :slight_smile:

paivasta rahaa to Epiphyte kahlaauuNgaa! :cb: chalo, koi gal naii! “Epiphytes are better than Parasites!” :smiley:

Epiphyte???

vegetation that grows on other plants.

:hmmm:

In short, all above is dua. When you formally do dua after salah or when with wudu and raising hands, one recommendation given by scholars is to read some durood before and after your duas. Since durood is always accepted, anything that is wrapped around durood will have greater chances of getting accepted.

Allah ta'Allah is always listening. There is no right or wrong time to remember Him.

Aside from when I pray or when I'm in need, I thank Allah (swt) when ever I can and ask Him to keep shining his light on my family and me.

Awww why?

Mai ankhen band kar ke khana-e- kaba ko imagine kar ke isliye Dua karti hoo coz its like thori dair ke liye hi sahi Mai as pas Ki cheezo se apna concentrate hata ke puri tarah se sirf Dua Mai dheyan dena chahti hoo..
Try karte rahe ho jaye ga aur phir is se mind idhar udhar bhi nahi jata.

Peace kinzz,

I think ke mere mind mein buhat sari thoughts aik waqt mein hain :rotato:

I always first read astaghfirullah and then Durood sharif.. Then i go in to sujood and cry a lot and first i ask Allah(SWT) to forgive me and then i ask Allah(SWT) to help me.. and tell Allah(SWT) all of my needs... then i make dua for everyone else.. After the dua i SubhanAllah feel Allah(SWT)'s mercy around me and feel soooo peaceful.. That feeling is unexplainable

Mashallah. ^

How do you do Dua?

After durood and astaghfar, start with the thanking and praise of Allah., Being grateful by remembering everything you have been blessed with is by Allah.

Then pray for other people first, be it muslim, momin or not, anyone in difficulty, family friends neighbours people who have passed away, this is sunnat of bibi fatima zahra as.

Praying with a sincere and humble heart, keeping the focus on the power of God, qiyama, grave etc. better with tears of fear, pleading, and regret.

Give your personal duas and end with wasila of the ahlulbayt and anbiya, awliya and Shuhada. End with durood.

Peace All,

Lets not forget to answer the OP about her last para. :)

Thank you everybody for your input ....

but yes, what about my last paragraph? Any insight would be appreciated.