I have always received a lot of advice usually well meaning but completely deluded. Since having my daughter this has reached new highs. The problem is this is usually from elders who think they are right and want to enforce it.
My problem is that I can’t deal with this politely even if I mean to. When I try to deal with it , I come across as rude. How can I deal with this issue. Being tactful Is not my strong suit.
Re: How do you deal with unsolicited advice?
Sorry for the badly worded post. Am trying to multitask and obviously not succeeding.
tell people:
"i was raised by my parents as they deemed fit, now it's my turn!" ... give a smile and walk away! :)
Wait for ‘Terrible twos’ and you’ll build patience by default . Till then thank you elders that they at least care enough to tell you whats right and whats wrong , and hope one day your daughter will thank you too for dealing with her tantrums . :k:
tell people:
"i was raised by my parents as they deemed fit, now it's my turn!" ... give a smile and walk away! :)
But they mind this.
You'll get advice from elders as long as you live...your best bet is to simply deal with it.
Smile and respond to it.
When I get advice I have no intention of following or is completely unsolicited...I pretend to listen, say thank you and move on.
Bass...there's nothing to be upset about.
Smile like a lunatic.
Smile and ignore. Trust me it does wonders. :)
Just because someone is advising you on something does not mean that you have to follow the advise or "reply" to him/her
Sorry for the badly worded post. Am trying to multitask and obviously not succeeding.
Multitasking is known to decrease productivity. Doesn't work.
Unsolicited advice from a well meaning poster.
On a serious note though - this world is getting more and more technology focused - smartphone is our medium of communication. No interpersonal interactions. If some elders are taking interest in your life and your well being, be thankful. And appreciative.
It is not about how good the advice is. It is about how much they care. It is about their goodwill. Which is worth far more than practical advice.
So when you smile, and say thank you, mean it. Good karma.
Just listen n take on board, if you don't agree, don't argue or disagree. I think it's nice to get advice from elders.
I have always received a lot of advice usually well meaning but completely deluded. Since having my daughter this has reached new highs. The problem is this is usually from elders who think they are right and want to enforce it. My problem is that I can't deal with this politely even if I mean to. When I try to deal with it , I come across as rude. How can I deal with this issue. Being tactful Is not my strong suit.
I'm sure it can be hard at times but just stay quiet and nod politely, it doesn't matter because in the end you'll simply do what you want, which is how it should be.
You can listen and they will appreciate it that you take the time to actually pay attention to what they are saying.
Whether you act on it or not is solely up to you.
I get that all the time, I usually just smile, nod and let them know I'm listening.
Sometimes I may use it, other times I won't. Just don't take it to heart and get stressed out. :)
Engage them, even entertain them ... you will be surprised that they have some good tricks ... others will be traditions they just want to pass on ... When they talk - to "smile" back means that you disagree with them, and you are not going to speak your mind ... But by giving serious regard to them will earn you brownie points ... say something like "Ge theek hai thori der ke liye ye bhi try karloon gi" It shows that you are open for advice and will try it out ... then you will have real ammunition against them - "Haan flaney flaney ne ya kaha tha, try kiya tha lekin ... flanee flanee wajha se wo cheez kamiyab nahi ho payee" - or something like that ...
At the end of the day you do as you wish ... but try not to rule out unsolicited advice it can come as a form of mercy from God without us realising ...
Preempt (spelling? ). Actively solicit advice to make the unsolicited part null and void.