I mean the one with pakoras.
or without pakoras...
I have been looking for a curry recipe for ages...besin, yogurt, mirchi etc.. BUT no one can give me measurements ..it is all andaza and for curry I end up putting too much besin...ugh..
well my cousin gave me this recipe a few days ago, but I havent tried it yet.
Mix up one pot of yogurt with 3 pots of water(same pot yogurt came out of)
mix well
put one teaspoon of besin in the yogurt and mix well
Make the masala as ususal (onions etc) (spices)
put in the yogurt mixture and keep stirring at all times put in a spoonful of rice as well. keep stirring until it comes to the boil then leave to simmer. and thats it i think.
masala as in brown onions add garlic/ginger and spices...cook that AND then add the besin/yogurt mix? ooooh i'm going to try this..!
Thanks Nandula!
yar fanta barri recipes ki thread chal rehi hein kya bat hai!!! is everything alright? ;--)
sorry dunno anything about the topic..i am anarri in these things :-/
*Originally posted by amelie: *
masala as in brown onions add garlic/ginger and spices...cook that AND then add the besin/yogurt mix? ooooh i'm going to try this..!
Thanks Nandula!
lemme know how it turned out.
ok an aunty friend of mine showed me how to make curry her way.
take 1/2 cup of besin
1 large container of yogurt (it's 2 lb/907 ml)
mix the besin and yogurt to get rid of any lumps....
to this add
red chili
haldi
zeera posder
corriander/duniya posder
salt
also add in an onion cut lengthwise (optional)
ginger and garlic
green chili
crry leaves
fresh corriander
then to this add 1 and 1/2 container (yogurt container) of water
mix this and cook on high till starts to boil..lower the heat and boil until it starts to thicken...it will thicken more once it's cooled so no need to boil it all off...
that's it. I'd be intersted in seeing some more recipes too.
Kadhi Kadhi http://www.wam.umd.edu/~ninad/recipes/kadhi.html
A recipe for kadhi, a Western Indian spicy soup made of yogurt and lentil flour.
September 4, 2000
Copyright (c) Ninad Jog, 2000
Kadhi, a spicy North and Western Indian soup made of yougurt/buttermilk and yellow lentil flour, serves as an accompaniment to a meal (lunch or dinner). It can be savored as a soup or mixed with rice or eaten with naan and an entree. Here I describe the recipe that I currently use for making Kadhi.
Ingredients
Essential Ingredients: The following ingredients are absolutely essential.
Gram Flour (Besan)
Yougurt
Other Ingredients: The following ingredients are necessary, but the kadhi still tastes good if one or more are missing.
Curry Leaves (Kadhi Patta), Dried Red Chillies, Ground Cinnamon, Whole Cloves, Fresh grated ginger, Methi seeds, Asafoetida (hing), mustard seeds, Cumin seeds (jeera), salt.
Procedure (Serves 6)
Step 1: Mixing and diluting
- Add 1/2 cup of besan to 1.5 lb (or 3/4 of a large can) of yogurt.
- Mix the two thoroughly to form a near-homogenous paste.
- Keep adding water while mixing to dilute the paste until it becomes slightly thicker than milk.
Step 2: Boiling and Raw Spicing
- Transfer the contents to a large vessel and heat it on a low to medium flame, stirring it every few minutes.
- Add 1/3 teaspoon of asafoetida (hing).
- Add a couple of whole cloves and a hint of cinnamon powder.
- Add about 10 methi seeds.
- Add a teaspoon of salt.
Step 3: Adding Fried Spices
- Grate some fresh ginger - about 1 tablespoon of it.
- Pluck 6-8 kadhi patta (curry) leaves.
- Use a tiny deep curved pan for heating the oil and frying the spices.
- Heat 2 tablespoons or less of oil (I use olive or canola oil) and put a teaspoon of mustard seeds in it.
- When the mustard seeds start popping, add a few cumin seeds.
- Add the grated ginger, 4 red chilli peppers and the curry leaves.
- Mix them thoroughly in the oil so they all get fried.
- Transfer the oil and the fried spices to the simmering liquid.
- Heat the kadhi for a total of 30 minutes to allow the gram flour to get cooked.
Tips
I typically use the the following tips. Following them is not essential, that’s why I am listing them separately from the main procedure.
Do not add too much cinnamon powder as it should not be allowed to dominate the taste. The lesser the better.
Asafoetida (hing) can be added raw (as described above) - the Gujarati approach - or it can be added to the fried spice mixture (the Marathi approach). The two approaches result in distinct tastes.
The Marathi and Gujarati styles do not use turmeric (haldi), but the North Indian one does. You could add some turmeric to the fried spice mixture, to impart a slightly altered taste and a bright yellow color.
Stir frequently to keep the besan and the yogurt from forming globules and separating from the water.
Do not use a high flame as it can cause the kadhi to boil without giving a chance for the besan to get cooked.
Cover the vessel with a lid while heating to reduce water loss and to hasten cooking.
After the kadhi is cooked and the flame is switched off, you may garnish it with finely chopped cilantro leaves.
North Indian kadhi does not use curry leaves. You could skip them if you prefer.
You could use more than two tablespoons of oil. More oil usually enhances the taste. Using less oil is healthier though.
I use non-fat yogurt, but you could use yogurt with a differing fat content.
I just switch "C" with a "K".
Instead of yogurt, try using Buttermilk. It's much better and easier.
Curry
A good handful of garlic
One small onion
Some ginger
2-3 Green chillies
1 tomato
Fresh coriander (optional)
Grind these to paste like consistency
Fry it over medium heat (Garlic will smell a lot at this stage)
Add red chilli powder according to taste (a little more that usual curry), salt (more than normal), coriander power 1 tsp, zeera 1 tsp. Laung, those other masalas can also be added, I always do that. Fry this mixture over medium heat for 15-20 min.
Mix yoghurt and water in 1-1 quantity, in one litter of this ‘lassie’ I add 2 heaped tablespoons of baisan. Add this mixture to your fried masala while stirring. Bring to boil and reduce the heat to minimum. Let it simmer for as long as possible or at least for a couple of hours.
Add you plain pakoras a couple of min before you remove it from heat. Soak them in water for a min, press them gently and then add them.
Thanks sabah...
will try your way in a few weeks...:)
DON'T FORGET TO GO FOR A HOT CURRY Jan 20 2004
(It helps fight Alzheimer's)
By Mark Mcgivern
EATING curries could help people fend off Alzheimer's disease, according to research out yesterday.
Scientists have hailed curcumin an extract of turmeric which is a key ingredient in the spicy dishes as a ''natural antibiotic''.
A team from the University of California in Los Angeles believe curries such as kormasandvindaloos reduce the amount of amyloid plaques, which build up around brain cells and cause Alzheimer's.
They claim that in some cases, turmeric reduces thenumber of these plaques by a half.
The findings may explain why rates of Alzheimer's are much lower among the elderly in India than in the West.
Other studies have found Alzheimer's affects only one per cent of over-65s in some Indian villages.
An Alzheimer's Society, spokesman said: ''Cur cumin has anti-oxidant and antiinflammatory properties.
''Drugs with similar properties could potentially be used as preventative treatments for Alzheimer's disease.
''Turmeric is found in everything from mild kormas to the hottest vindaloos.
''Cur cumin is an excellent natural antibiotic but it could be many years before such drugs are made available.''
Turmeric has other medical advantages, say experts.
It makes ligaments more flexible and also helps to lower cholesterol levels and cuts down on fatty deposits in the arteries which can lead to heart attacks.
It can also soothe asthma and coughs