Hmmm best way to express anger is to walk away and leave without a word. Or to simply smile mockingly and say nothing.
If you really have to fight and find yourself cornnered then dont look for help and forget trying to talk your way out of things… some people just dont understand so let them have it. :faris:
I rarely curse and I dont think I have ever said bad words or used “gali” it just makes things worse.
When i’m with fammily members ussually I just go away quitely and take my anger out on something else.
how do family members/friends who are educated and civil people...express their anger or displeasure with each other?
First and foremost proper educated and civilized ladies and gentlemen must always keep their gloves on (you know them white ones) during an altercation. One may, at any point in time, discreetly fill their gloves with small but powerful acme weights. Care should be taken that such interactions be devoid of threats and vulgar speech, even while administering blows to the beloved opponent. It is acceptable to say "Take this and this...and that and that!"
I get worked up really quickly (not a good trait, I know), but I try to remove my self from the situation, so that I don't say anything I'll regret/ make a fool of myself!
Its best to think out your argument/POV rationally and then put it across to the other person calmly, while at the same time, not disregarding their views?
this is how we fight.If ones hyper, the other stays calm. everyone can take turns.Swearing cursing is not part of it,thats just plain rude.The day everyones furious is a bad day.
normal people shudnt fight, infact there shud be a way around the anger.
So I get that people who curse...are obnoxious and obscene and obtuse....and those who merely say vicious things in anger are no better than animals...
So how do otherwise normal people fight and express their anger?
how do family members/friends who are educated and civil people...express their anger or displeasure with each other?
Being educated does not mean you will disagree politely. Educated/cvil people will fist fight if they can!
I find that getting out of that situation and letting ego and pride go is key. People who are always fighting to prove how tough and respectable they are tend to make the biggest fools of themselves. So get out of the situation, no cursing or swearing and go and talk it out once both people have cooled off. You know how Jane Fonda's husband says in the 1965 classic Barefoot in the Park: *"Be careful when you're tired and angry; you may say something you'll regret. I am now tired and angry", *I think that was uber-smart.
"So I get that people who curse...are obnoxious and obscene and obtuse....and those who merely say vicious things in anger are no better than animals"
IMO, this is not necessarily true. Some people can be conniving, super savvy politicians. What they agree to and what they do have absolutely no corrleation with each other. With such people, getting angry at times and letting go of a gali or two is not equivalent to being an animal. At the very least, it is better than a fist fight - which IMO is clser to animal behavior.
I don’t think I always joke around in your thread…maybe sometimes Sowie. Okay, let’s see now…
I don’t think education guarantees control of negative emotions. It is human nature to become impatient, to let the day’s frustrations affect your interactions with others, to snap when someone has finally pushed you to the limit, etc. I think one trait that reflects “abnormal/dysfunctional” is the frequency with which a really hurtful/negative behavior takes place. Like if it’s just an extreme reaction all the time and there are people like that. What is considered “normal” is going to vary, Sara. With close/tight relationships…the bond is such that there’s greater flexibility and tolerance even during conflicts.
I also believe that in a healthy relationship…individuals make more of a conscious effort in expressing concerns more tactfully. This is not to say they don’t ever “lose it”…but it should not be a frequent thing. Also, in a healthy relationship…individuals apologize for their hurtful actions and make a sincere effort not to repeat them and there’s no justification for physical abuse.
So I get that people who curse...are obnoxious and obscene and obtuse....and those who merely say vicious things in anger are no better than animals...
So how do otherwise normal people fight and express their anger?
This reminds me about a fight which a "burger-family" kid had with KFC manager. I was visiting pak and there were some bunch of burger kids at KFC. They got into some arguement and thats what the guy (burger kid, age 23, 24) said to the KFC manager who was behind the counter.
(in pure urdu - the way burger kids speak)
Kid: Aap apnay aap ko samjhtay kya hain. Aap nay larna hai .. acha mai bahir jata hou, aap counter say nikal kr bahir aaye phir mai aap ko btaa houn
Me and my brother was like ROFL. If there would have been some other guy he would have punched the manager right away or would have jumped across teh counter but this kid was like .. Aap bahir aaye phir mai aap ko btata hon