how do i open a torrent

Hi everyone im really bad with computers.. the only thing I can actually work is my ipod. So I just downloaded a movie for the first time on utorrent. how do i get the thing open to view it??? i have VLC, i dnno if thats any help

Your help is much appreciated :slight_smile:

Re: how do i open a torrent

the movie is most likely in the format of a RAR

if so, go here and download winrar WINRAR

This program will let u open up the torrent file, and within it you’ll find the video file (AVI/MPEG, wateva)

then you can double-click and play that in your windows media player

Extension of the file would help.

Right click on the File > Open With... > from list of programs pick VLC player, see if it plays.

do i click open with and then select winrar? how do i open the movie. its calledluckynumberslevin.avi

that didnt work. i tried it while the file was downloading(to preview) but maybe it'll work after its done. vlc opened up but there was no screen or sound just the little bar moving at the bottom

if it's called whatevermoviename.avi then just double click it and it should automatically open in Windows Media Player. (Most AVI/MPEGS) play in the Windows Media Player by default when you double click them.

If it doesn't.....

Or you can manually make it play in windows media player. Right click the .avi file, click play or open

if u click open it will show you two options. click the 2nd option where it says browse for program.

In the list that pulls up, you'll see Windows Media Player, click on that and hit OK
and it'll play in that.

Bay-sabri bari buri bala hai. :D

What is the name of the file? File extension?

Is it a zip file, rar file, avi file, what is it? .torrent files need to be opened with torrent clients, not with winrar/winzip or vlc. Once the .torrent file is loaded into the client, it downloads the file, which would be zip/rar/avi/mpeg file extension then you use winzip or winrar or VLC to view that file.

So, tell us the file extension otherwise we can do through the list of file extension and how to open them.

^ Yaar, s/he already said that the file is an .avi file. Aik tau techies parhtay nahi hein (not applies to teggy, of course). :D

If it does not open with VLC then you are probably missing codecs... becareful which package you download though because majority of them have trojan horses, etc.

Start with divX.

Did someone say 'trojan horses' Yeeeehaaawwwwww!!!

gir jao ghay chanda

Really, you guys. Didn't he/she said its not done downloading. As Faisal said, do some reading first :p

it worked perfectly after the file finished downloading :blush:. well atleast one of the files. the second ones been downloading for four days, i dnt kno wats up with that? i guess the file was just messed up or something. what types of things should i be looking for when choosing which file to download. how can i tell that some files are viruses etc i mean the like size and stuff. o ya last question: how can you determine the number of seeders attatched to a file before downloading

te khap awainee pai si

no one of them still isnt working. but its okay i guess.

With torrents it depends on how popular the file is, the more seeders that are active the faster it will download. Sometimes it may show 0(200) seeders. That would mean that 200 seeds are known to exist but 0 are curently available. Hopefully u know what seeders are.

Be a seeder! Leech less :jhanda:

is there anyway of knowing how many seeders there are before downloading a file?

Usually the site where you download the torrent file has those stats.