Re: How do desi girls feel about desi guys marrying others?
hummm pata nahi kabhi socha nahi
Hmm... thanks for all the replies. I am a muslim, btw. I converted a few years before I met my dh and while I was studying Islam in college, and I am a hijabi, and I would have no problems taking care of my in-laws, but would prefer that they lived next door until they were elderly and actually needed physical care, as they are really verbally abusive at times. They live in Pak now, which works even better :)
I hate the double standard. Dh's cousin wanted to marry a very pious Malay brother, and the family went crazy and threatened to cut her off forever.
just as i feel desi girls marrying others.
what's the great deal?
Don't care.
My female cousin married a gora. He is not a practicing Christian nor did he ever convert. Her immediate family is right behind her but the distant family members verbally abuse every now and then. Ironically, it’s the same relatives who broke up a 10 year engagement because she didn’t grow up to be ‘fair complexion’ as they had hoped for. ![]()
BTW, the gora hubby is the NICEST person I have ever met in my life. He would beat the nicest Paki by miles. He is so sweet that even I would have married him (if I was a girl)
^ i read your comments in image in sami.. something's thread. i started to have my doubts. you confirm it now.
u sound like a very sweet girl..if my bro/son/cousins wanted marry some gori with good values, i would love it actually n support it all the way!!! but hmmmm i dont know how the lang issue would work..
Pakistani in-laws will verbally abuse any new member to their family. You're not alone in your plight. Many brown girls can sympathize.
^ i think my relatives were actually kinda nice to my momani when my uncle got married ( or i never heard about the bad crap).. but she was pakistani, and they picked her out, lol.. but if she wasn't pakistani or converted or not from a "right" family they would have been evil bitches towards her..
-i wanna marry some white guy so than i could piss my relatives off, but thatd suck for him.
Basically I wouldnt even think of getting married to a guy who thinks its ok to marry a gori or any non Muslim for that matter.
so yeah, Id be ok about it. since I have no respect for guys like that anyway. they usually tend to be the jokers anyway…who end up doing this. so yeah, rather they marry goris than ruin a pakis life.
sorry if I was being harsh. the same applies to girls.
the only ones I respect are those girls who revert to Islam…and then meet a decent Muslim guy through friends etc. thats a different issue. but if she accepts Islam just to marry him, then it doesnt last for very long. have seen this personally in many situations.
ps. no offence again but majority of goras find it hard to spend their life with just 1 person. they tend to get bored easily ![]()
I think the whole problem of religion becomes a main issue. Usually a guy wants to make his children follow his religion. Unless the other person convert to islam, there is always that issue to what religion their children will follow. I have also noticed that marriages dont last too long between goras (no offence). personally i think your relatives are just over reacting to this marriage. Give them sometime and they will settle.
well my friend's cousins married an italian guy, and other girl a white guy, one of them converted before or after the wedding and i dont think the other converted. her parents were weird about it at 1st but they even flew to jersey to go to the wedding..
personally i would rather marry a non paki if i found one i loved, and he respected my paki culture ( and me dissing it) and islam, even tho i might not be the most religious person ( im not that bad either) itd be hard to live with someone who tried to convert me. and why ruin some paki guys life if i dont wanna marry him, let him marry some gorri.
how often do u see a paki girl w/ a non paki guy. someone said it wasnt allowed or something like that.
if someone wants to marry a non- paki person go ahead, and please dont let someone stop you, dont ruin another paki person's life.
i guess if most guys do that, and than all the paki girls who wanna marry a paki guy will have crappy choices. life sucks.
what
Sara there is no such rule that says it’s not allowed.. paki girls can marry whomever, just as long as the guy is muslim..it’s just our culture that says we have to ![]()
should it matter to me?.................. I thought not!
My cuz married a very religious Moroccon guy and they are very happy. The family had no problem with such a union as they too are deeply religious. The more religious you become, the more open minded you realise Islam is.
All this 'marry only pakistani' crap comes from the backward recessive families. Paindus:D
ummm.... i wont mind at all... as one of my close cousin met someone online... chatted with her for couple of months as a friend and had no intention to get marry to that girl as she was christian... but since he practice islam quite alot and was more into Tablig(one who preached the religion) so they started to have discussions about the religion, he made her read Quran so that she will have some knowledge of other religions as well. Then he helped her understand while she was readin... But later she started to like the religion and got converted to Islam 5 months ago... When my cousin heard that news.. he was schoked and happy as well.....He was also told that her family isnt treating her well ever since she converted. Then he proposed her and they are now happily married. You wont believe it.. my cousin is only 20, and the girl is i think an year or two older than him.
my aunty... she is very well educated so it didnt bother her much... But she still feels at times because he was the only son of her parents, and she wanted for him to marry with one of my cousin ever since she was born. You know how moms are... But because her son is happy so she is happy as well.... Her daughter in law is also very good... She takes care of the family even more than a Pakistani girl would do it these days... My aunt is ill these days, she even takes care of her everything... She really wins the heart of the entire family.... as far as the extended family is concerned, then no body said anything to her or even their family... BUt i did hear pplz talkin about how he got married to gori.... they simply forget that fact that she was muslim.... but i am glad they didnt say anyhting bad or against them anyway, its just that she is the first girl in the family who is not from our pakistan... and this is what made them surprised. so i think it has alot to do with how you brought up... and how well are you educated....
that is the most dumbest thing I have ever read. you are saying the good ones go with the goris leaving the crappy ones. that is the OPPOSITE of the reality. the decent ones usually dont marry nonmuslims/goris…from wot ive noticed anyway
in the same way I would never marry a gora/nonmuslim.
Impulse I don't agree with your assessment at all, and I find it deeply offensive. My parents have been married for almost 45 years, and there has never been a divorce in my family. Most "goras" that I know are just as religious and have the same moral values a Pakistani family has, and maybe better, because they would never abuse anyone, physically or verbally. Too bad you are so stuck in your little predjudiced world to learn about anyone else other then what you see on TV. Can I safely assume that all Pakistanis are the same neurotic nutcases I see in Pakistani dramas - I think not.
Just wanted to point out that at least here in the midwest states most of the desi guys you see married to goris are like my husband - professional men from upper and upper middle class families who are well-educated and moderately religious. Most have been here since their college days. They are from well-connected military and government families, for the most part. But I am just thinking of the 15 other couples that I know nearby - in UK the story was a bit different - taxi drivers and restaurant owners marrying girls they met in bars.
Man that word "gora" is sooo damnn wierd. Amana I'm a Arab and I've seen many many Arab guys marrying non Arab girls and it does not bother me at all. Actually my father are very close to this one couple whose husband is Arab and the wife is white. She is not muslim, and they have been married for over 18yrs. She doesnt no any Arabic but man does she know all the bad words and she uses them on her sons lol. Just thought I'd let you know :)
I know this one Paki girl who married a Arab guy and have been married for over 7yrs now. They have a little girl and everything and her father still does not talk to her or has ever seen her. Some people are just sad like that.