ok so im the elder child in the family. Usually we get married in our extended family but theres no proposal match for me . While living abroad without a wide social circle its hard for my parents as how to start this process. We dont really do the match making process either. So how did your Rishta process started? through match makers? or meeting ppl in your social circle? Please provide some suggestions
Re: How did your Rishta process started?
Try GS. They are a lovely bunch.
i wonder when my rishta process will begin!...still waiting. zaalim girls don't look at me i suppose! :( :p :(
ok so im the elder child in the family. Usually we get married in our extended family but theres no proposal match for me . While living abroad without a wide social circle its hard for my parents as how to start this process. We dont really do the match making process either. So how did your Rishta process started? through match makers? or meeting ppl in your social circle? Please provide some suggestions
This is so relatable. I have the same situation. My parents also had trouble procuring a rishta from the extended family. Well, I have this grand uncle and he talked to this family. They are some far-off cousins. Everything happened through Skype. I think after Eid, I'll be going to Pakistan to see what will happen next.
Do you have a mosque where you guys live ? Your parents can go to the mosque and meet people, ask around there.
You say without a wide social circle, is it non existing or just a small circle. They can ask around in the small social circle that you guys have.
There is a thread here in the wedding forum as well but not sure if internet is the way you guys want to go forward.
This is so relatable. I have the same situation. My parents also had trouble procuring a rishta from the extended family. Well, I have this grand uncle and he talked to this family. They are some far-off cousins. Everything happened through Skype. I think after Eid, I'll be going to Pakistan to see what will happen next.
wow! thats great!! we r going to pakistan too for Eid but nothing on my side :(
btw Good luck :)
Do you have a mosque where you guys live ? Your parents can go to the mosque and meet people, ask around there. You say without a wide social circle, is it non existing or just a small circle. They can ask around in the small social circle that you guys have.
There is a thread here in the wedding forum as well but not sure if internet is the way you guys want to go forward.
yeah Mosque is good idea in my opinion too but thing is we have moved recently to middle east for an year or so ...dont know many pakistani communities or mosque that would show us any paki proposals...plus my dad is reluctant/scared to trust ppl outside their family esp if we were to see famililes in pakistan. Till now a few proposals that i got from pakistan, ppl seemed greedy as if they wanted to marry me coz of my nationality...
same situation here. i live in a city where the majority of muslims are non pakistani, and there are only a handful of pakistani guys- most of them whom i grew up with/same class/younger than me. so well.. we are gonna look out of country for me. i think.
if they are NOT Pakistani Muslims, how does that matter? as long as they are Muslim and from the sub-continent, it should be alright, i suppose!
Where in middle east are you at?
Qatar :)
Oh okay never mind. I live in Dubai and kinda know someone here who could have helped you if you were here.
All the best though :)
if they are NOT Pakistani Muslims, how does that matter? as long as they are Muslim and from the sub-continent, it should be alright, i suppose!
K..unforunately the reality is different. I am not speaking about other Pakistani families..but my family is against of doing rishta with Indians. Ya sound petty..eh!. They want Pakistani bahu..not Indian.
Same here, I can relate too.
I am eldest and no potential match in the family but parents still want it in the family. We live in the UK with majority of Indian Muslims who I have to say are a lot better muslims that us (our family) Pakistani's are any day but parents are too culturally focused. Anyway so no family here and Indian Muslims surrounding us , wonder what will happen to me ! :P
On other hand..i confess that..i wouldn't want to marry Indian girl. Just my preference...
OP, do you have siblings, cousins etc with Pakistani friends?
You could try the mosque but I'd assume most guys and girls going down that route would be more conservative.. nothing wrong with that tho if you're practising, cover etc.
Coffeegirl, do you live in a major city?
Yup it is in fact alright, as my dad's family is basically from UP India. but Indian muslims are very few too :) personally i prefer a Pakistani as i feel i connect better with them and have been raised amongst them, as compared to Indians. but jo Allah ko manzoor. :)
There are some desi and Muslim match making groups and companies in the US who hold annual or semiannual, some quarterly, get togethers to introduce young people. Try APPNA's website, there is an Aunty who takes profiles and shows them to guys and their families and will let you know directly if a guy is interested. ISNA has some events, many people have hooked up from there. And then Shaadi dot com although you will go through 800 disasters before you find a good guy, but the good thing is you can quickly scan through crappy profiles and just delete them.
Also try meetup dot con - google things like Muslim, Islam, Pakistani, Indian, desi and you'll find social meet up groups with people who are equally single.
OP, do you have siblings, cousins etc with Pakistani friends?
You could try the mosque but I'd assume most guys and girls going down that route would be more conservative.. nothing wrong with that tho if you're practising, cover etc.
Coffeegirl, do you live in a major city?
I actually dont mind guys who r conservative so yeah im thinking of trying mosques..