How did you learn to be a good loser?

i would like you to share some examples about how you were taught to be a good loser. or are you a sore loser?at some point in our childhood, we all become very competitive, and the only thing that matters is winning.

our parents/teachers then influence us on how to take a loss and not be a crybaby about it. so, can you guys recall some stuff that helped shape your perspective on winning and losing?

one of my very early memories: one day, a bunch of parents took their kids to the park for an evening of fun games and prizes. i was like 5 or 6, and they were having a race across the grass, so i joined in the group to run. i was positive i would win because i thought i was the best and the fastest and no one could beat me. but of course, i finished among the last kids :cb: and i went straight to my ammi and started crying like a baby, because i didn’t win a cool prize. i thought she’d pat my head and console me, instead she was stern and told me to stop crying right away or we’d go home. and then she walked me over to another group where they were having a ball tossing game, and she told me to play, and not come back crying or we really would go home right away.

i think the whole incident not only embarrassed me, but it also taught me that moping is a no-no, and you have to move on or try again.

now, how about you?

Re: How did you learn to be a good loser?

I think I just kinda learned with
time as I grew older and mature.

Good Loser? Quite an Oxymoron:D

Back in the days of Karachi, I was the captain of my mohalla cricket team ... A teenage time is very emotional in nature - not that I am not less emotional now but I have devised many ways to control those emotions - so there were hardly any control features that I have implemented in my self....

There used to be many tournaments with the different teams of other Mohallas... a kind of a champions trophy tournament on the level of district Welfare Society....

We used to be a very good and solid team in terms of variety of players we had - from fast bowlers to googly specialist to medium pacers... and then, we had big big hitters of the ball down the line until the last player.

In one of the matches, although our team won the game, I noticed I failed to deliver as a batsman which was quite surprising given the fact that my position was normally one-down...

After the game, we sat together and pondered upon what had happened with some of the failed performances.... One of our adviser asked me if I was bothered by the tantrums thrown and hooting done from the supporters of the opposite sides... and sure enough I was... We realized that I could not deliver the performance because they wanted to prove that I was not fit for the job and I was a failure and that I will do exactly what they were trying me to do, in anger.... and I lost my wicket the earliest...

Co-incidently, we made to the final and the very same team came as our opponent :)

Guess what? They did the same... BUT I had to do a job... Who cared about them? :) They kept barking and I kept ignoring.... After hitting the winning shot, I looked at them smilingly -

There was a silence- Silence of the sheep... I was the good winner after becoming a bad loser.

how about Never. =)

…kabhi ghroor nahi kia :fraudia:

errr..practice? :(

I hate losing ......

ask Khan sahab that question..lol he's ordering pizza atm

Crickey … is duniaa mein jaab taak baywaqoof zinda hain .. Aqalmand khabii bhooka nahii martah hai :cb:

aq - good loser isn't an oxymoron :p it's just a rare occurence... so thank you for sharing your story. i think i've read it before in some other thread also..maybe. not sure. anyways, it's nice that you had such a strong resolve to block out the taunting and play a good game :)

everyone else - we're looking for examples here..so post some!

Depends who you lose to.
In life you lose to a moron, make sure to keep quite show no emotion what so ever.
Like never happened. AND most important learn from it.
When things are not making sense alway good to hold back. Till every thing become clear.
Life is a complicated thing.:( Faith goes a long way.

Losing to an athlete , alway admire his skills. Be prepared to kick butt next time.

Never lost.

^Well than you haven't started living!!

I think that I learn't that its does not matter if you win or lose. So long as you have given it your 100% nobody can ask any more of you. If you do lose what matters is your ability to be resilient and to bounce back from the defeat even more motivated to win and stronger than before.