How could she?

There’s been an uproar in a desi community i used to be part of (since then, had to move away so heard about this from my relatives). A middle-aged Pakistani lady who lost her husband due to a horrific set of tragic circumstances, was offered another rishta and she accepted it and is now re-married (may Allah Bless her for the rest of her life and keep her happy). While her husband was in the hospital, the Aunty nursed him, took care of him, helped him recover physically and mentally; when she was not spending time in the hospital taking care of him, she was at home preparing ghaR ka khaana for him and taking care of their remaining only child. All this happened infront of my eyes. She was not doing it to impress anyone.

A year or so after her husband passed away, she was offered another rishta and accepted it.

This Aunty used to teach me and other kids darss/Islamic studies at her own home every Sunday. There were about 20 or so of us brats, mixed group of females and males, invading her tiny home every Sunday. For that day’s classes, she would photocopy ALL the notes for us 20, ensure the curriculum was uptodate, everyone was doing their homework, she held tests etc etc. All this for free, by the way - our parents didn’t have to pay a cent. Now i don’t know where else in North America someone accepts having 20 brats inside their home for about 6 hours, finish off their food, and be taught Arabic lessons in grammar, pronounciation, Quranic themes, Islamic hadeeths, recitation and memorization of Surahs - for free. For 20 kids. She would even fax anyone the day’s notes if someone had missed that week’s class (this was before e-mail; that makes me sound so ancient).

She had very little financially, but her heart was larger than most people’s. In other words, she was - in my eyes - a very wonderful Muslim Masha’Allah. Everyone, believe me everyone, in the community praised her galore. But of course, humans being humans, we are not content with praising someone; we have to reveal peoples’ faults as though we have been transported directly down from heaven in a pure state. Now everyone is mad at her because she remarried (and she went back to a Muslim country where her husband resides and works)… and the same ppl who were praising her to the high heavens yesterday, are having their gossip fests today like pata nahin unn ki tau Eid ho gai keoun kai kissi ki buraai karnay ka mauqa mil gia.

People don’t want to accept the fact that she remarried after her first husband passed away (may Allah Bless his soul and give him jannat, he was a very very naik man). i don’t understand, i argued about this with my relatives as well. Why shouldn’t she remarry ? If someone was willing to take care of her, financially and mentally, why shouldn’t she accept that? i really don’t want to sound callous here, but according to Islam, we are not supposed to spend the rest of our God-given lives in perpetual mourning for someone. That makes me sound SO dreadfully mean - please understand my perspective, though. According to Islam, one is not supposed to cry and grieve for someone years after they have passed away; of course you should pray for their soul’s peace. But - people want her to remain in mourning for the rest of her life and cry her eyes out every day. Why should she do that and ruin her mental health in the process? Is THAT Islamic? She is in her mid 40s. Someone has seen something special in her and wanted to give her mental and financial support. Is that so wrong ? Where in our society would a single widowed lady find the financial assistance ? She isn’t committing a sin Nauzubillah, she did the right thing by marrying him. Remarriage is not prohibited in Islam.

This is not about her not respecting the memory of her first husband. i know this Aunty so well, she loved him like anything and she took care of him at the hospital when he was so terribly injured that he couldn’t even sit up without help. She did everything that a nurse would do - she bathed him, she fed him, helped him with his physical therapy. Insha’Allah his soul is at peace now.

Is she supposed to lead the rest of her life mourning something that was Allah’s decision ? From Islam’s perspective, i very much doubt that.

I am happy that she has been able to continue living and enjoying the life Allah SWT gave her. I have seen widows who stop communicating with others, and they hurt not only themselves, but also their children (who have become bitter). I'm not saying every widow SHOULD remarry. But if she wants to and is ready to, I don't see why she should spend the rest of her life alone.

The Prophet (SAW) married a widow.

I think she did the right thing. Those who are gossiping will get their hisaab someday.

>>I'm not saying every widow SHOULD remarry. But if she wants to and is ready to, I don't see why she should spend the rest of her life alone.<<
Sahar02,
That's what i mean; i am not advocating everyone who loses a spouse should remarry. That would never work and if i believed that, it'd be a pretty stupid generalized comment of mine. Not everyone is 'made' the same way: what works for this Aunty, will obviously not apply to everyone else.

Islamically she did nothing wrong. So why ppl are so upset about this, i have yet to fathom.

FG, True we all will get our hisaab one day.

i'll die without ever understanding this issue.

People don't like change, and they don't like it when others feel liberated from society's codes of conduct and taboos. And they definitely don't like it when you distinguish between culture and tradition, or worse yet, when a female acts in an independent manner.

hmmm

nadz its very common to remarry...u know our desi ppl tho, any chance they get to talk they will coz they aint got anythin better to do...

if she didn't remarry ppl'd be talking abt how sorry they feel for her coz she has to raise her kid alone...and so on....

a reason they r gossipping COULD be from the pov that she remarried n now her son is gona have to face a step father...and how will the step father treat the son etc...

a lot of women dont remarry for that reason coz they dont want their children to suffer due to step parents...

but thats a choice the parents have to make and either way is islamically acceptable...

she definitely cannot be blamed for remarrying...and in no way does her remarriage say that she didnt love her husband...coz she was completely faithful to him when he was alive...

one of my own cousins, when she was sick, was actually looking for a wife for her husband when the doctors had told her she might not survive, coz she didnt want her husband to live a life of loneliness after her..

one of my cousins, her husband was shot to death. they were living in pakistan at the time. she was still young, but she already had two children. To my knowledge, her in-laws discarded her (of course). Then she married someone else and had two children by him. So far I havent' heard abut any uproar that she's a horrible woman or other crap for remarrying and being happy. But ur story just reminded me of her, taht's al.

Mourning period in islam is three days only... and we have to get on with life..
death is a part of a life, those who mourn n mourn are spiritually ill.

That woman did the right thing.. nothing wrong in it..
what our culture teaches us is part of jahiliah and most of these aunties i suppose dont know the difference..

MM agreed to ur post, but pakistani culture does not discourage remarriage...

its hindu culture which does, those ideas of sati (widow burning herself etc)...its not paki culture

HIndu religion discourages/d widows remarrying whereas Islam doesn't but culturewise Pakistani and Indians r probably the same.

I think gossiping is a favourite pasttime of desi's. They just need a chance to find some fault and then the gossips and rumors start and spread like wild fire.

Masha'Allah she sounds like a really nice woman and may Allah give her peace and her husband Jannat.

Ameen.

i don’t know how the son (who is now a young adult) is being treated by the step-father. i do know that his mother, the Aunty, would never have agreed to the rishta if she hadn’t ensured that her son would be treated fairly by her second husband. She would give her life for her son, he’s the only one left out of her immediate family members now (except for her parents); she must have discussed the issue with her second husband before agreeing to the rishta.

Yeah, Irem, that’s the thing - i visited Uncle and Aunty in hospital; she took care of him like a nurse man. She did everything and anything within her capabilities to take care of him and make sure he was comfortable, at ease. She would cry only when she left his room so he wouldn’t see her crying and he wouldn’t get pain because of that. i mean, she took care of him so much and she was a wonderful wife to him.

Remarriage isn’t for everyone.. but in this particular case, i think it worked out for everyone…except for the gossip-mongers who should learn to stop wagging their tongues.

MM, You hit the nail on the head. :k: :k: :k: When i was arguing this with others, it was as though they WANTED her to keep mourning and wailing and crying, literally. :confused: i’m like dude, you can’t expect someone to keep mourning for the rest of their lives. Kia tumharay entertainment kai liyay mourning karay ? Who is to say that she doesn’t pray for her deceased husband’s maghfirat every day and night? Who is to say that she doesn’t carry love and respect for him, still, in her heart until the day she dies. She must still love him. But why demand someone to cry and mourn when, Islamically, we are not supposed to do that beyond a specified period of time. Would Allah be Pleased with that?

By mourning and mourning, she would have only taken away happiness from her son’s life as well. How would the son feel to see his mother crying and wailing every day ? He’s lost his father, now he should lose his mother as well ?

**i repeat, remarriage isn’t for everyone. **In this case, having PERSONALLY known what type of a person the Aunty is, and the son as well, i am glad she remarried b/c she now she should spend the rest of her life emotionally and financially stable Insha’Allah and filled with peace and happiness. It’s more Islamic to do that rather than to sit at home and cry your eyes out years after someone’s passing away, just so the community can be satisfied. i bet ppl would then complain that she’s not got enough imaan b/c she’s not accepting her husband’s passing away.

*Originally posted by Maniac: *
I think gossiping is a favourite pasttime of desi's. They just need a chance to find some fault and then the gossips and rumors start and spread like wild fire.

Masha'Allah she sounds like a really nice woman and may Allah give her peace and her husband Jannat.

Ameen.

:) Thank you, Maniac. That means a great deal to me.

Yes, she is a really nice lady. Ameen to your wonderful dua.

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *

:) Thank you, Maniac. That means a great deal to me.

Yes, she is a really nice lady. Ameen to your wonderful dua.

Not a problem. Sarah always used to tell me about a certain lady in Calgary who used to teach kids Quran and islam, i wonder if this is the same person.

And had it been the husband getting married again it would have been somehting like "ohh he needs a mother for his children..."

Shame isn't it..we've all been taught to be kind and helpful to orphans and widows... yet when it's someone we know our kindness becomes subjective.

I'm glad that the lady found someone... God always blesses.

Maybe people gossipped out of some fear of their own? Like fearing that they would be "replaced" if they died and their spouses remarried. It's a real fear and maybe they were just displacing it on her?

Abdullah it's not the same aunty, her husband is alive and well alhumdolillah.

This is all cultural rubbish.

Alot of the companions died and their wives used to remarry. Infact this was quite common so that the widows would be looked after.

After the mourning period, (which for widows is 4 months and 10 days), she can do whatever she likes.

Anyway good for her :k:

Peopel thrive o backbiting and gossiping. if she hadnt married they would be in her face with rishtas and i she would say no they would be liek pata nahi apne app ko kia samjti hai. People will always talk n its soo sickening that they cant imagine that one day people will find an excuse to gossip about them just as well. Its a vicious cycle.

If she was able to undertsand that its okay to move on and let someone take care of her physically, emotionally and mentally, all props to her. Its wise that she moved away because these people would eat her up alive.

What she did was in no way against Islam but rather recommended in Islam. Indeed what she did was courageous. Absolutely nothing wrong with here remarrying for Islam. She does not need to justify the marriage by citing financial, mental reasons, guardian for her son or for that matter any reason. She was entitled to remarry for any of the benefits from a marriage.

As for the people talking and the negative aspect attached to remarrying is just a cultural thing and nothing to do with Islam. It is against Islam to make haram for you something that is made halal for you.

Interesting how all the ladies are using the word “people” and not women in their post as we all know who does the back biting and the gossip. :smiley: Double standards :disgust: