Our Urdudaan brethren are as Pakistani as anyone else.
They should be reffered to by their language, Urdu-speaking/Urdudaan rather than Muhajir (immigrant).
We were all Muhajirs (migrants) at one point.. My paternal family traces it’s lineage to Kabul centuries ago and my maternal lineage goes to Jalandhar.
Since you have clarified that your question is the result of naiveté and is not an attempt to flare up any kind of emotions therefore I would put the bori/back :D.
Just kidding by saying the bori thing it is not my attempt to flare up any emotions either.
I have not opened that census envelope yet. Once I open it read it and understand it with the help of my ABCD kids then I will answer the question, your and census form both , till then intezarr farma-e-a.
Aur iss kay sath aaj ka khabarnam khatam ho-a. Allah Hafiz and shab-ba-khair. :halo:
This has been the only option for Pakistanis for the race question on school forms and other official docs. But the 2010 US census form is different. It provides a new option called 'other Asian' where one can write in one's race. The examples provided explicitly include 'Pakistani' .
I think this new option merits a little debate.
Why are you hesitating in declaring yourself Pakistani then?
Both of my grandparents came from what is India now. So did ancestors of most of my friends. We never ever think twice if given a choice declaring ourselves as Pakistanis. If no other option is provided, as a race, we are South Asians or Indian Asians.
Another thing which irritates me is when Pakistani cuisine (dishes that are particular to the Indus Valley) or Bangladeshi cuisine are marketed as Indian cuisine in the UK........
This is a fallacy based on the lie that "it was all once India".............Pakistanis mainly mislead into believing we are the same because of Hindi movies and dramas but we understand these better than Indians, a lot of Indians (such as my Keralite friends) can't even understand Urdu-Hindi.
Itti tension kion laitey hain? When we can describe Korean/Taiwanees/Japanese/Chinese/Philipino cuisine and people as Asian, we shouldn't be too much troubled with being called Indians as a race.
Your south Indian friends describe themselves as Indians even though they are very much different from UP people, for example.
Why are you hesitating in declaring yourself Pakistani then?
Both of my grandparents came from what is India now. So did ancestors of most of my friends. We never ever think twice if given a choice declaring ourselves as Pakistanis. If no other option is provided, as a race, we are South Asians or Indian Asians.
Yaar, I have never thought of myself as anything other than a Pakistani. But, this question is about my race and not my national identity.
How are mohajirs (i.e. Pakistanis whose parents/grandparents came from India) answering the race question on the US Census form?
Asian Indian or Other Asian(write-in Pakistani)?
Remember, the question is about race and not national origin.
Many well known geneticists have reached the conclusion, that biologically speaking, there is only one race among humanbeings- the human race. What we thought were subspecies (races) are just ethnicities and not races at all. I dont think it will be too long in the future before surverys will ask us of our ethnicity rather than race. Notice how the survey is already suggesting it is okay to write our ethnicity (Pakistani) rather than race (which would have been caucasian) under the old system.
Itti tension kion laitey hain? When we can describe Korean/Taiwanees/Japanese/Chinese/Philipino cuisine and people as Asian, we shouldn't be too much troubled with being called Indians as a race.
Your south Indian friends describe themselves as Indians even though they are very much different from UP people, for example.
I don't have anything against India or Indians.
What I dislike is our identity being dwarfed by the Indian identity.
Yes we have similarities with India in terms of culture (cuisine, dress, architecture, language) but those things belong to us as equally as they belong to them, they are common to all of South-Asia so they are South-Asian not exclusively Pakistani or Indian.
Yes we share parts of our history with India but that is as much our heritage as it is theirs...
I don't see 1947 as breaking from India, I see it as independence from the British.
For a lot of history Pakistan has been seen as seperate from India, as the Indus-Valley and Sindh (not just the presentday province Sindh but the land on either side of the River Indus/Sindh in general.
I don't like people to see Pakistan as something which "belongs" to India, or as India's lil brother, or a part of India which broke away... Aakhir hamari bhi koi pehchan hai.