Housekeeping

Share that one or two or even more tip(s) that has worked for you to keep your house clean and organized!!

For some odd reasons, our dinning table is ALWAYS cluttered such as cereal boxes, ketchup bottle, napkins n some extra napkins, keys, etc etc!! As much as I try to keep it clean, within an hour its back to being storage area!

The junk mail..I shred it on weekly basis but throughout the week, it hangs around in the living room even though we have a designated spot for it..it just never makes it to that basket :frowning:

Share what works and what doesn’t work for you?

Re: Housekeeping

When ever you check junk mail just throw them Right away .

I wish it was that easy...we do throw most of it right away but those credit card offers etc..I shred them n since its usually my husband who checks the mail..he keeps everything around to show me.. We are just like that. :(

Buy a plastic container, the bigger ones where u can keep cereal box,I keep them in those plastic box because of ants :bummer:
And then it’s easy to move that box around if guests are coming.

we throw the junk mail right away, credit card offers go in the trash can. Ketchup is always in the fridge, napkin needs fix ups at least once a day. Other things somehow end up on the table and I have no clue why :S

Get rid of the dining table…!
If I can,I will throw away mine.It has always been the destination for all things unnecessary,especially paper…!!..Grrr.Now toys also end up there…:hinna:

To answer your question,I keep the cereal boxes on the top of the fridge,ketchup etc in the fridge,keys on the TV rack (out of reach from the kid).There is a letter holder in the kitchen,all mail goes there.If it is junk it gets thrown away or shredded in a few days.

Do you not use your dining table for eating meals from then? My best motto when it comes to housekeeping is : a place for everything and everything in its place.

I find if you put things away as you go along then it doesn't get to the stage where you're overwhelmed by clutter. I always tidy up the living room before going to bed. Kitchen surfaces are always wiped down and clear of clutter after mealtimes and I put on a load of laundry to either wash or dry before I go to bed too.

Learn to multitask. I would never phone a friend for a chat if I didn't have a pile of ironing to do at the same time. When I'm waiting for my groceries to be delivered (detest going to supermarket so order it all online) I clean the empty shelves in the fridge or freezer in preparation. I have my oven cleaned professionally twice a year and it's worth every single penny.

Junk mail never even makes it past the front door most of the time in my house as I throw it away immediately. All bills get paid online anyway and anything important gets delivered to my parents address so I work on the assumption that any mail delivered to me is going to be junk mail.

Hope that helps.

I cant control our kapre situation, it is a mess sometimes, what do you guys do, where do you guys hang the clothes that are recycled for 2-3 wears...please and thank you

ohh clutter.. thats when my siso’s OCD seems like a blessing :bummer:

I put away or iron laundry as soon as it's done. If you do it one machine load at a time then it doesn't pile up and only takes 10 mins max. Granted, there are only two of us and my work clothes are dry cleaned but I still feel we have more than the average couples laundry as we get through 2 or 3 changes a day and I wash all bedding and towels once a week too. I think people with young children can start delegating the responsibility of putting away their own clothes from an early age. i remember my mum used to put our clean laundry on each persons bed for them to fold and put away themselves.

i keep everything in cupboards ketchup, cereals, milk packets , everything have their place, we take it from there eat n put it back as soon as we are done.
for bills and credit cards, the first thing i do when i come home is checking wht is to keep n wht to throw , important recipts n bills have seaprted box in cupboards n i place in them n rest are thrown immediately.

yes the only annoying thing is toys scattered everywhere in living room, phr bhi atleast 3 times i arrange them but as soon baby is up , they are gain scattered, the only thing i do is minimum toys at display

good ideas everyone!

Britchick.. when we moved in, it was a place for everything and then we ended up with too many things and not enough space!

I was just hoping to get some ideas in how to keep the place clutter free for when we move into our new house inshaAllah.. I plan to donate everything that hasnt been used for a while but I know we will end up with more stuff soon!!!

I am actually going to try some methods that I have found online such as using storage furniture (ottomans, boxes etc) lets see how everything goes and I will keep you guys posted :D

Decorating the home includes many things and the furniture adds more beauty to the home. Arranging the every thing at the right places implies the good house keeping and gives the pretty good look to the home. Furniture should not be messy, it should be maintained simple and clean.

Ok, so I used to be super organised when I was at home and then somehow after got married and moved into our own home what with working full time seemed to get a bit disorganised.......then I decided to tackle it head on and alhamdulillah our house is (almost) clutter free nowadays....so some tips I picked up/made up:

*Junk Mail *- when we get the mail I separate junk from real mail and it goes on two different steps on the stairs (our entrance hall is tiny!) hubby is in charge of mail, so at the end of the day he will look through both piles and bin as required/file anything else.

Clothes - Thsi was my downfall - like Brit Chick mentioned above, for two people me and hubby seem to go through the same volume of kapre as a family of 6!! What I used to do was when the clothes were dried took them upstairs to one of the spare rooms and emptied on the bed with the INTENTION of folding later/at weekend.....sometimes that didn't happen as somethig always came up.....so you get the picture the pile gets bigger and bigger..... Now though, once laundry done, sit watching tv folding/ironing and take folded clothes upstairs...in weekdays they stilll get put on speare room bed but it's tidier looking at it, and takes less time and seems less daunting to put away!

Dishes/Kitchen - Now always gets cleaned after meals I make myself do it saying to myself hazamiyat keh liyeh acha hai! I always get it done that way!!

*Summer/Winter/Holiday wardrobe *- So seasonal clothes/special occasion clothes/holiday clothes used to clutter our wardrobes and spare rooms. I then decided to make use of the empty suitcases under the spare room beds and also bought 'saree cases' on a visit to india! So now seasonal and holiday clothes get put away in separate suitcases (helps at holiday time as well as everything in one place). My special occasion wear is in those saree cases which are stacked at top of wardrobe and hubby's special occasion wear is in spare wardrobe

Shoes - Same as seasonal clothes, shoes get put in boxes for when not required.

Jewellery - Big fan of costume jewellery, so decided to get these mini plastic see through storage drawers that also stack if you buy more than once - got diff sizes, sorted earrings/rings/necklaces etc into own drawers. So much easier now that I don't have to detangle etc!

So my house is in order............BUT we use our garage as a dumping ground.I can't let go of some things...I have all my school books, Uni files and work training files etc........
The cars have never been in the garage - they are parked on the driveway even when we go on holiday!

So next steop have to declutter garage - any tips welcome on how to really let go and dispose of things!!

Some of my other declutter tips I got from Anthea Turner's "Perfect Housewife" programme!!!