Hosting Iftari- Menu

salaams and ramadan mubarak to all :slight_smile:

i am hosting an iftar this friday for a few families (10 adults, few small kids) and wanted to see if you have any ideas on helping me with my menu. i work full time and would like to prepare as much as i can ahead of time.

iftar is after 8pm…and taraweeh are at 9:45pm…so i want to keep it simple as well.

here is my menu so far:

iftar:

dates
rooh afza dood and rooh afza with lemon
chicken mince patties
aloo samosas
debating fruit chat or cut watermelon/canteloupe

dinner:

chicken haleem
roast chicken
channa/veggie chawal
raita
pita bread
chutneys

dessert:

ras malai
cake/cheesecake
chai

is this good enough? should i add other items to iftar/dinner/desert?

:slight_smile:

Re: Hosting Iftari- Menu

I would go with fruits and ice cream for dessert.

Watermelon/melon/ honeydew sounds good.
Maybe instead of chicken Hakeem just make a chicken Salan like korma.

You might get some ideas from here
How about adding a pasta dish to your menu and cutting
the roast out as kids are coming?

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-and-cuisine-corner/615138-iftari-menus-2013-a.html

i figured haleem because it can be eaten by itself and it has a lot of essential protein and carbs that help when fasting.

i can add ice cream and fruit to dessert. i’ve already bought the ras malai…so no prep needed :slight_smile:

there is only 2 toddlers and roast will not be spicy, so kids and adults can eat it. i don’t think pasta goes well for ramadan for the adults, as its so heavy with cheese and carbs. i have individual mac and cheese for the kids if needed.

No need to add ice cream and fruit then . I think your menu looks good

for dinner if u dont mind add one salan type dish

I think you should add a different kind of meat, unless your guests have just chicken. :slight_smile:

Add pakoray instead of samosay.

Pakoray is too much work…

^ not sure if all the guests will eat red meat…so sticking with chicken seems like the safe bet.

i ended up catching a cold today :(. did not have the energy while fasting to do any prep work.

any other simple ideas for dinner menu? should i still do haleem and rice ? i’m going to get the rotisserie chickens for sure, so please share ideas of what will go best with them and is not labor intensive or time consuming.

I’d just have a nice three course meal and thats it. Focus on quality instead of quantity and that means if your food taste good and is well presented, less is definitely more.

Cut plenty of different summer fruits for extra freshness and colour on the table and just have one winner dessert.

Take care of yourself and focus on having a relaxed and a blessed iftaar get together.

If your haleem recipe is time consuming, make a chicken Salan with rice instead.

You coule make nihari… it is the easiest to makr imo

jazakallah khair for your input :). one of the families we invited is having a nihari iftar tonight…so thats out of the question..unless i ask them to bring their leftovers :P.

i will see what they serve tonight inshallah and adjust my menu accordingly because its going to be the same families invited.

most likely i will stick to above menu…and may cut out cake and just do both fruit chat and cut up melons.

should i still do rice?

How about you either do biryani or do haleem naan?

iftar:
My suggestions are in bold :slight_smile:

dates
rooh afza dood and rooh afza with lemon (Just pick one… but it is pretty easy to make so it doesn’t really matter)
chicken mince patties (Did you make these already? If not, then remove this or the samosas to simplify tour menu)
aloo samosas
debating fruit chat or cut watermelon/canteloupe (I would pick watermelon as it will be easier to cut than fruit chat)

dinner:

chicken haleem
roast chicken
channa/veggie chawal (Remove this and only keep haleem)
raita
pita bread
chutneys

dessert:

ras malai
cake/cheesecake (Remove this also.. rasmalai is good enough. If you want, add ice-cream but you really do not need it)
chai

thanks to all for the tips! alhamdulillah iftari was a success mashallah. everything turned out great. guests brought food too…so menu was extensive!

iftari:

lemon rooh afza with mint (so refreshing!)
3 diff kinds of dates
chicken mince patties (they were such a hit!)
aloo samosas
club sandwiches
fruit chat
mixed melon salad
chana chaat
chutneys

dinner:

chicken haleem (loooved by everyone)
mattar chawal
rotisserie chicken
cheese pizza for kids
raita
pita bread
chutneys
chicken mince patties (repeated from iftar because they were such a hit!)

dessert:

ras malai
strawberry cheesecake
ice cream
cut fruit from iftar
chai

will try to post pics soon iA

That’s great! I love the dinner menu, simple and easy to put together.